We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast buffet and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 to your Saves list
Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Macau
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast buffet and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great hotel with nice rooms and pretty pools right on the river and in walking distance to st Paul's cathedral . We got a nice deal so we enjoyed an amazing breakfast buffet! They had two chocolate fountains for breakfast and two chefs who prepared eggs, bacon etc on the spot! One side of the hotel has river views the other side is city view which was fine for me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka acdenmark)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your most recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We are really happy to know that you enjoy every single aspect of your stay, from your arrival until your departure.

We have recently made several modifications to our breakfast offer and we are really pleased to know that all the efforts paid off.

If you enjoy fine gastronomy as much as we do; we are pleased to invite you to our recently opened fine dining restaurant Privé. During this week, 16th to 21st April, two Michelin Star chef Jean-Pierre Jacob will be teaming with our own Master Chef Yannick Ehrsam presenting a series of dinners bringing their own styles and flair to you!

We hope you will be visiting us soon!

We are looking forward to having you back at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

Life is ‘magnifique’

J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    675
    126
    40
    25
See reviews for
443
821
121
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel room was comfortable and the view of the old city area of Macau peninsula was great. The Loccitane toiletries just added extra marks to our stay there ;p

The selections of complimentary drinks I received from the bar there was wide. Would definitely go there for beer again for my next stay there :P

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka Feichit)

It is very exciting for us to know that you had a wonderful experience when staying at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We hope you start planning frequent trips to Macau in order to keep enjoying the many services we have in our property. By the way, if you enjoyed our L’occitane amenities we highly suggest for your next visit to try our Club Sofitel Rooms; besides incredible benefits you will enjoy HERMES toiletries!

Any plans of coming back soon?

We are looking forward to having you back and to continue enjoying a ‘magnifique’ experience.

Your Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Macau recently and thought the room, breakfast, decor, view, location and service were all excellent. It is a good place to explore the old part of town without being in casino city. We had a beautiful river view room and a very comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast had to be one of the best we have ever experienced. There is a free bus to take you from the ferry terminal to the hotel and a pleasant walk from the hotel to Senado Square and most of the other attractions in the old part of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka Max422)

Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. It is very gratifying for us to know that everything from your arrival until your departure was well taken care of.

Did you had enough time to enjoy any treatment in our So Spa or a nice dinner in our French dining restaurant Privé?

We are not sure if you will be around the area during next week, but if you are we recommend you to visit us as we will have two star Michelin Chef Jean Pierre Jacob as a guest Chef from the 16th to the 21st of april. We hope you can join us!

We are looking forward to having you back again!

Life is ‘magnifique’

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It's an excellent hotel with reasonable price. Everything was clean and beautiful. The staffs were welcoming too. The location is SO convenient that we didn't need to take taxi at all. Where we wanted to go were all in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka becky h)

We are really happy to know that you had a very good time while staying at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

As you mentioned all the historical and cultural sites are within 10 to 15 minutes walking distance including: St. Paul Ruins, Macau Museum and Senado Square. The location of the hotel is really nice as we have beautiful views to the city and the harbor where you can see Zhuhai, China on the other side!

Are you back in Chicago? We wish you had a safe flight back home!

We hope to remain as your first choice when visiting Macau city during your next trip!

Life is ‘magnifique’

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Beautiful views and just a few minutes walk from all the must-see sights of Macau, the location was all you could ask for. Staff were very friendly (especially the Filipino staff) except the check-in was a bit slow because about 12 people came in on the shuttle together and we all had to queue in one line. Concierge also recommended an excellent Portugese restaurant nearby named Fat Siu Lau that had wonderful pigeon and african chicken. Overall, we were very happy and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler.

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

It is exciting for us to know that you had a memorable experience as this is what we strive to achieve with all our guests.

We are happy to know that the suggestions made by our Concierge were up to your expectations. Indeed, this particular Portuguese restaurant is very traditional and if you are interested in Macau History and culture it is high recommendable to visit in order to have a complete Portuguese/Macaunese experience.

Any plans to come back again to visit us? Next time we suggest you to try one of our Signature Treatments in our So Spa!

We are looking forward to having you back again.

Best Regards,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel to stay if one needs to break the taboo of Macau being the gambling city , away from the artificial glitz and bling . With all rooms facing the historical city , what more does a traveller want with such a mesmerizing artwork of old architecture . We had the blessing of 2 wonderful facades of Macau - one of the heritage city and the other of the harbor all in 1 room .
We are not enthusiasts of casinos but we took a chance when we decided on Sofitel Macau and we won big time on the heritage trail hunt.
Great service and excellent standard of rooms.

Room Tip: Live large , go for the executive club
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka JuneMalmer)

Thank you for sharing with us and fellow travelers your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

It is with great honor that we receive your wonderful feedback. We agree with you a 100%. Sofitel Macau enjoys a privilege location that indeed no other hotel in Macau offers. Can you imagine the Harbor View in summer? It is just breathtaking!

Any plans of coming back and visit our property? Did you experience our new So Spa or French dinner restaurant Privé? If not, we suggest to add it to your bucket list for your upcoming trip.

Thank you for putting your trust in us. We hope to remain your number one choice when visiting Macau city again.

‘Life is Magnifique’

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

On Service level, it's good. Very pleasant feel when we first stepped into the hotel. It was thoughtful of the hotel to arrange for a room with handrails when we had indicated in our request for a shower and a wheelchair for use during our stay for my Dad who is in his 80s. We were given a plastic chair instead of a proper shower chair. We were expecting to see standing shower but had a bathtub. Since it was just for a night, we accepted things as it was. Had Dad was advised to wait till we check into our next hotel for his shower. Unfortunately, his hearing was not good and he didn't hear my advice. He took the shower using the plastic chair outside the bathtub as bathtub was too high for him to climb into. Great fun came as the drainage was near the sink rather than the bathtub. This had resulted in a mini flood in the toilet. We are grateful for the efficiency of the Housekeeping staff who was prompt in helping us clear the water.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka NTeo)

We appreciate your kind review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.
We are sorry to hear about the problems experienced with the shower equipment and facilities.

Your comments have been shared with our Management Team and we would like to inform you that we are now in the process of purchasing special shower chairs for the elderly in order to be able to provide a better experience. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention!

Any plans of visiting Macau again? Please contact me directly at h6480-qc@sofitel.com in order to ensure that your booking as well as the room allocation will match exactly your requests.

I will be honored to help you planning your next trip to Macau!

We are looking forward to having you back soon again.

‘Life is Magnifique’

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#7 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#7 Family Hotel in Macau
#9 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.