We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 85 hotels in Macau
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated in a dark-colours and luxurious style. We ordered room service which was delivered promptly and the food was good. The bathrooms are nice and luxurious but I think there may be some teething problems with the plumbing - the toilet didn't flush too well (!) and someone had done some work under the bath and only partly repaired the panels.

After staying at some hotels in Asia with hard beds, it was great to sleep in a nice soft bed.

The location is particularly good - just a quick wall to the plaza and you can avoid the casino strip if that's not your thing. The view up to the Grand Lisboa is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Bonjour!

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (aka Fred_Nerkos)

Thank you very much for your positive review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with an excellent experience.

As Sofitel hotel our aim is to have the most luxurious accommodations keeping a special link with the city we are located in. We are happy to know that our design and facilities were up to your expectations.

We apologize for the plumbing inconvenience in your bathroom. This is certainly an area of opportunity for us and we would be very grateful if you could let us know which room you stayed in. Our engineer department will immediately take action on this. Our email is h6480-hr6@sofitel.com.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

Wishing you a ‘magnifique’ 2013!

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    960
    614
    113
    36
    23
See reviews for
394
719
110
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked 2 nights & were upgraded to a sea-view room. The view is fantastic.
The location of this hotel is at the old town of Macau. Within walking distance to some
traditional restaurant or sight tour to some mouraments. The room has free wi-fi.
Overall the hotel is OK but too expensive
& the breakfast is not included in the room rate. Hope they will decrease their room
Rate in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (aka Mak V)

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time in Macau. We were honored to be your host during this visit.

As you mentioned Sofitel Macau is located in Macau Island which is famous for its cultural heritage. You can enjoy a wonderful afternoon walking through Senado Square and The St. Paul Ruins with a big variety of shopping options.

Have you heard about our Advantage Plus Card? If you are an ACCOR hotel frequent guest we believe this can be a perfect choice for you. When you are an Advantage Plus member you have access to unique promotions in more than 450 hotels in Asia that include: discounts on accommodation and dining, enrollment as silver level in our Le Club Accor Hotels giving you the benefit of earning 50% more points in each and every stay in all participants hotels around the world and more benefits.

If you want to know more about our program, we invite you to have a look at the Advantage Plus Asia website.

You can apply for a card or make enquiries directly there. It is easy to use and with fantastic customer service!

We hope to welcome you back at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16!

Have a wonderful day!

Yours Sincerely,

J.P Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had an exceptional experience! One of the best hotels I've stayed in. Room was immaculate and was cleaned 2-3 times per day. Amenities in the hotel were great. Hotel is somewhat far away from 'the strip' over in Cotai, however the shuttle busses will get you there without too much issue.
Regardless, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDIRKS, Director of Quality at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Bonjour!

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (aka 11doug91)

Thank you for your high recommendations. We hope your feedback will motivate fellow travelers to visit us when traveling in Macau.

We are excited to know that your overall experience was brilliant! Our team aims tor provide the best service in town and we are happy this time we did everything perfect in order to reach your expectations.

We look forward to have you back at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16!

Best Regards,

M. Dirks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Celebrating a birthday with a treat for my friend of a night in the Sofitel Macau, already I was hitting the AU$300 mark ( and that was with my alleged Accor Advantage Discount Card )
Upon check in the smiling staff member suggested an upsell of 'our best room' for another $300 bucks.. I like my friend, but six hundred bucks? As it turned out the original room was absolute luxury in itself.. The decor, the view, the awesome bathroom, the l'occitane accessories, the Egyptian cotton linen...So the birthday was had with my wallet intact....and I've saved to travel another day. Don't fall for the upgrade offer. You don't need the extra fat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDIRKS, Director of Quality at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Bonjour!

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (aka davidaspley)

Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

It is gratifying to know that you chose our property and service to celebrate your friend’s birthday. We aim to provide the best service in town and we are happy to know that this time our efforts paid off.

We look forward to welcoming you back for the next birthday. Perhaps, we suggest offering a luxurious treatment in our brand new ‘So Spa with L’Occitane’ as a present.

Happy New Year 2013!

Best Regards,

M. Dirks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Macau
#8 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#9 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#12 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Splendia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Jetsetter, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.