We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 to your Saves list
Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 1,977 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Although located in the older part of Macau the location turned out to be a blessing as it was away from the crowds and smoky casinos. Only a short and pleasant walk to the ruins of St Pauls passing quaint little shops selling loads of cookies and barbeque pork. The room was immaculate and the bed had a super comfy mattress. The bathroom boasts a full lenghth glass panel so it feels bright and spacious.We had breakfast in the more intimate upgraded section on the 6th floor ( I think) and service was more attentive and personal and the selection good enough. All in all a great experience and we were well taken care of!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    676
    126
    40
    25
See reviews for
444
822
121
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is the fourst time to visit Macau. I really fall in love at the first sign with this hotel . When I serch via the internet. After I talked to all my Friend who were menber of Accor advantage Plus. Thay said I must go to this hotel. So I booked my free room from Accor. I arrived so early in the morning and my room not finish yet. Because I'm a A-club Platinym member the hotel give me a welcome drink, a box of Chocolate, a bottle of red wine and upgrade from Superior room to Luxury river view room. The room was very nice and very beautiful. I get sweet dream from beding. Last thing that my 8 years old daugther said was she forget the Venetian after stayed in Sofitel Ponte 16 Macau.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I went for a business trip in Macau recently for 7 nights. As the trip coincided over the weekend, my hubby and baby decided to come along and stayed with me for the weekend. It's a beautiful hotel, service is immaculate and the room is just superb with a great view. I would love to stay here again.

The only flaw is the website where i booked the hotel through sofitel official website. It happened to my colleague first who also went to sofitel for the same trip. He wrongly booked the dates and under the terms and conditions, he's slapped with 15% of the total hotel price penalty even though he noticed his mistake immediately and wanted to change it on the same day. We thought he was just careless when punching in the dates.

So, when it's my turn to book my room, I was very cautious and made sure i keyed in the right dates...u know what, when it is confirmed, the same thing happened to me! I was also slapped with a 15% penalty! There wasn't any use complaining to the hotel itself as1. it's difficult to understand their english when talking over the phone and 2. the booking is made through internet and there's nothing the hotel could do about it...

My colleague and I thought there could be something wrong with the website, we couldn't be sure...so, just be careful when you book through the website...

All in all, we truly enjoyed our experience with sofitel, if it weren't for that glitch, I would have given it a perfect 5!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDIRKS, Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear FadzlynFarid,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on tripadvisor.com regarding your recent visit and booking experience for Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We would sincerely appreciate it if you would be so kind as to contact the hotel directly to discuss the shortcomings your highlighted in our booking system so that we may make suitable adjusments and avoid disappointment in the future. I will forward you a personal message to that effect.

In addition, we are very grateful for the warm and friendly comments you have shared about your actual stay with us. Our team prides itself in delivering Magnifique service and we are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your visit to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

M. Dirks
Sofitel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Clean & comfort . The only recommend is missing some playground for kids like other Macau hotels. Since there are other attractions on th othrr side of Macau that More shuttle destinations will be great. Pool is nice with great shower and sauna. Electronic curtain is nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

- Good service at front desk, customer service and room service.
- Many thanks to send the lovely chocolate to us. We love it.
- The breakfast buffet is delicious.

However, I dont understand why the review has to complete in 200 words.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is my 6th time staying in the hotel & always happy & satisfied with my stay.
Nice room & good location..the room now comes with free wifi, as well as the lobby, it's always convenient to stay connected with your family & friends be it in FB or whatsapp. I think all hotels should have such practice as nowadays most people are using smart hp, it's so convenient if could access to internet easily.
I would definitely stay in this hotel again & would recommend my friends too. Well done Sofitel Macau!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#7 Family Hotel in Macau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#9 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.