We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altira Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Altira Hotel to your Saves list
Altira Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Kwong Tung, Taipa, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Believe the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at - it's not even a contest, and that's saying something. I always wondered what "world-class service" means, and now I know. On arrival, we were upgraded from a corner suite to a villa. Yes, a villa. The staff was amazing: from the porters to the management, the service was consistently great without being overbearing, even for us average Joe's. The spa was superb - the private room is well worth the extra 500 MOP. Breakfast at the Aurora is wonderful. Housekeping is pristine. The concierge staff could not do enough for us. They even found the eyeglasses that we left behind. No hidden charges or discrepancies on the bill. A PERFECT hotel experience.

A few tips - wait until Macau to change money if you can. I found I got a better deal changing from Yen to MOP, though some casino games only use HKD. House of Dancing Water is nothing short of spectacular. It is by the Hard Rock and Venetian, which are a 5 minute taxi ride from Altira. Taxis are very cheap - 50 MOP was the most we ever paid (about 600 Yen), and that was between Altira and the ferry terminal on the main peninsula.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
57
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

I will give this hotel a six stars. First class service from the moment we were met at the ferry terminal. Hot towels and drinks were served during our limousine transfer to the hotel. Speedy check-in and hot tea were served by our personal porter once we were in the room. Spacious room with beautiful habour view that overlooking Macau main island. Complementary fruits and mini bar with choices of beers and soft drinks. Huge bathroom where the boys enjoyed soaking themselvesin the huge Japanese bath tub every night. Excellent spa services and massages that make me want to come back to Macau just for that. Stayed for two nights and will be back soon!!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

we have travelled extensively however this hotel has set a whole new standard for us. This (waterview) room has a stunning view and the service is impeccable. Walk in robe, large bathtub, living room area, flat screen TV - we had to force ourselves to venture outside from relaxing in our room. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I booked this hotel on recommendation from a friend and was blown away. From the moment you take the elevator up to the top floor lobby, you know you’re somewhere special. The view is fantastic panorama of Macau harbor and night lights and the hotel is designed so that every room has the view. The décor in the lobby and restaurants is artistic and engaging, but also makes you feel relaxed and welcome. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. The room layout makes the most of the spectacular view with bed and sofas all optimally located to soak it in. The bathroom is opulent and romantic. The gym and indoor pool are also very impressive – it feels great to float on infinity pool high above the Macau skyline. The bar on top floor also has good atmosphere for a chill drink and night view. The only downside of this place is the adjacent Altira casino is rather drab and lacking atmosphere – better to head to Wynn or Sands for your gambling. I’ll be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I am the tourist from Hong Kong and my boyfriend chose Altira as for our accommodation in Macau~

Altira's staff has a high quality of service, they are really helpful and thoughtful, sometimes even humorous. ^^ They know how to impress their customers~

From the very first step to your hotel to the end we left Macau, we can feel the warm hospitality of Altira. Also, all other facilities in the hotel are well-equipped, we spent a nice evening in the lounge and a delicious breakfast in the Aurora. (the restaurant^^)

After the trip, I wrote the first appreciation letter of my life to Altira (No kidding!)

I hope you guys can experience the same wonderful stay as mine in Altira!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

The Altira is one of the best hotels I ever stayed in. It was luxurious, spacious and very comfortable. I was always happy to return to the hotel after a long day outside. The spa is actually the best in Asia. The restaurants are very good. The rooms are very spacious and finally, the service is top notch.

After arriving at the Macau Ferry Terminal, we were greeted by the bell hop who was very kind. He allowed us to buy ferry tickets and waited patiently for us. The car was pretty roomy too. When we got to the hotel, everybody greeted us by our last names. Check in was fast and done in an interesting manner. The lobby was on the 38th floor facing the Macau peninsula. Since the lobby was on the 38th floor, there was an express elevator to the lobby, but no express to the rooms. Whenever we returned, we always had to take the elevator to the lobby and change elevators to the rooms. However, the walk really only about 2 minutes.

The rooms were amazing. There were two queen size beds which were extremely comfortable and the pillows were not too soft or too hard. There were fresh fruits which they delivered more than once a day. The bathroom was very large and had a rain shower plus a circular tub. There was also a walk in closet and two sinks. The TV was pretty big and they provided us free drinks from the minibar. The internet was not the greatest, as surfing with two people at a time was unpleasant. The view from our room was breathtaking. We also had the view of the Macau peninsula which pretty much applies to every room in the hotel. The view at night was spectacular.

The service at the Altira was the best. Everybody was friendly and spoke to us in a very nice and soft tone. However, asking for things delivered to our room took longer than I would have liked. When we asked for band-aids, they immediately came down to our room asking if we needed any assistance which we did not need. It was nice that they showed much care and did more than we asked them to do.

The Altira Spa was the best I ever been to. It was rated as a Five Star Spa, the only one in Asia, and the best in all of Asia. The pool also had a view of the peninsula. The hot tub in the changing rooms were large and soothing. The wet and dry sauna was also very large too. I loved the showers, as they had body jets, rain shower, cool mist and the standard handheld shower. It is definitely worth going there even if you're not a guest.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Altira. It was one of the finest I ever stayed in. I also went to the restaurants there too. The Kira was spectacular. It was a pretty good value too. The Aurora was fantastic during lunch, but disappointing during breakfast. I would go back to Macau just to stay at the hotel. It's that good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

My boyfriend had booked this hotel to celebrate my birthday. He originally booked the Corner Suite but since it was my birthday we got upgraded to the Villa which was amazing! It must be around 2000 sq ft with full sea view, overlooking at the Macau main island. There was a full size kitchen, a bar, a very big living, dinning room with a L-shape sofa, must be like 6-8 LCD TV in the Villa and a round shape jacuzzi in an open bathroom as well as a steam-shower room. All staff were very helpful and always had a nice big smile on their face. The swimming pool is a infinity style pool and there was another huge jacuzzi and shower room where you can choose different modes from (tropical rains, body jet etc), and of course steam and normal sauna are available too.
But breakfast was disappointing! There were so little to choose from (and other than the eggs where you can order from the kitchen), rest of the food were cold dishes. Lucky that our room included breakfast, otherwise it is really not worth of HKD150/head for the breakfast. Overall a really really nice hotel and we would recommend this to our friends for sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altira Hotel

Address: Avenida de Kwong Tung, Taipa, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Macau
#1 Spa Hotel in Macau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#5 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#8 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#8 Business Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altira Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Altira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altira Hotel Macau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.