We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still in love with Altira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altira Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Altira Hotel to your Saves list
Altira Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Kwong Tung, Taipa, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
no where
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“still in love with Altira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

2nd time back to this hotel and it seems better. Hotel is in taipa not Macau so you are away from all the craziness but only a 10mins drive from Macau.

Limo pick up service & drop off was efficient & on time & luggage was dealt with as soon as we were picked up. We were greeted by name from pick up to front door to reception which is a nice touch, but bit weird.

The room has everything incl a lovely view of Macau- all amenities you need are here- products used are Aigner in Leather, slippers are velvety & dressing gowns are silky!
In the evening, they do turndown service & hey leave Aigner foot gel on your bed, super cute.

Room service is pretty good- they even give you an etd for the room service and are on time!
Breakfast in bed is the best thing especially with the view of Macau, we had the Macau & Chinese breakfast and it was so good & everything was done so discreetly (I was still sleeping)

Spa is a must, sauna, swimming pool, steam room & actual treatments are great and really good value, the ginger tea from the spa is the most amazing tea! I had 3 facials & 150mins treatment in 2 days... its that good! Spa is on floor 15- you need to go to floor 16 and take some stairs...this place is like a maze!
This has got to be my favourite hotel in Macau!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    23
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
61
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at this place 2 times after a number or visits and stays at about 10 other Macao hotels. It is incredibly good value. It is not very downtown, but everything is close in Macao and btw, Macao´s downtown is not really where you want to be in in the evening. You visit the places, casinos etc. And get back to your room, where you get absolutely the best view over Macao. The room are huge and very fancy, as well as the service. The roof bar garden is the best roof bar in Macao. The breakfast is served in your room and is amazing. Don't miss the swimming pool, again it gives you the most amazing view. Check the hotel's website and you will understand what I mean. And yes, it a really place for a romantic weekend:-)

Room Tip: all the rooms seem to have the water font view... Also, do check different website as the prices cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed for one night while taking a vacation in Hong Kong. AMAZING hotel. A limousine service comes to greet you at the Ferry Terminal, and while not a limo in the traditional sense, it's IS a luxury van. Bottles of water are provided along with fresh minty cold towels for a quick wash up. The rooms are huge (I'm guessing close to 700sq ft.) and coming from the microscopic expensive rooms of Hong Kong, it was a very welcome surprise. Our room (3510) had a crazy unobstructed view of the water and city, as i'm sure almost every other room does as well. The room had a foyer, large comfortable queen size bed, a desk area and a large sectional couch by the huge picture window. The bathroom, which takes up about 1/3 of the room is compete with a walk-in closet, LARGE soaking tub, bath salts, and luxurious robes and slippers. I used the tub just because I couldn't resist and I NEVER get in the tub at any hotel no matter how nice. Service was awesome - very attentive, eager to please and everyone speaks English well. Got a late check out of 2pm no problem and thoroughly enjoyed the luxury of the hotel for an extra couple of hours.

Tip: may have missed it when they went over the hotel info, but you have to take the elevator back up to the lobby on the 38th floor to get to the lobby on the ground floor. If you mistakingly take the room elevators down you end up on the 6th floor of the casino and it's quite a maze to make your way through and down all the floors of the smokey casino just to get outside.

The spa: We got the room with spa package which included two 60-minute massages for about US$440. Didn't know what to expect from the spa, but was very pleasantly surprised. Went with a friend and thought we would spend our time post massage hanging out together in the spa facilities, but the Altira Spa is set up a little different. They take you to your own private treatment room complete with steam shower, "locker" and bathroom with anything you would need to shower and get ready afterwards. Even you have an appointment time there is no rush to do anything. If you arrive for your appointment and want to spend some time in the steam shower or head up to the pool you can do that. Once in the room your therapist shows you around and offers you a variety of teas and asks if you would to start your treatment or spend some time in the steam shower. If you are ready, she leaves and let's you get ready. They start with a 10 min foot soak and leg scrub and then the 60 mins massage begins. I made the mistake of asking for hard pressure because my back was aching and she looked tiny, but she certainly had some strong hands - asked her to ease up and it was smooth sailing from there. Afterwards she gets you tea and you can take your sweet time in the AMAZING cavernous shower and get ready in the bathroom. Our 60 min appointments were at 4 and we didnt make our way out of the spa until 6:20! I wanted to check out the pool as well so after my shower I left my hair wet, packed up my things, got dressed and headed up the stairs to the pool. The ladies locker room had lockers, a large heated pool, steam room and sauna, the same experience showers (although they are a little in the open for my taste as they face the heated pool and have no doors). The indoor infinity pool itself is lovely with a small free spa snack bar (water, dried fruit & nuts) and a nice small covered outdoor terrace.

Breakfast: also amazing, included in the room package and NOT a buffet. You have your choice of menus (I.e. western, eastern, spa) with fresh squeezed juice and cappuccinos. Each menu comes with 3-4 small/med courses. For example, I had the Western: fresh orange juice, cappucino, a good bread and pastry basket, poached eggs with smoked salmon and a fresh fruit plate followed by another cappuccino. The food is comparable to any four star restaurant.

The Water Show: About an MOP20 taxi ride to the show. Being a big Cirque du Soleil fan, I thought I would check out this must-see show. Bought tickets through the site for the section to the left of the middle and the row right behind the "splash" zone. Initially thinking "how wet can you really get?"I was going to purchase splash tickets like I've done in the past for the "O" show in Vegas. VERY glad I did not. The splash zone attendees are given hand towels upon entry, which you must use to avoid getting considerably wet from the performance. It's also on such a large scale and stage that if I were buying tickets again I wouldn't bother to buy the A level tickets since the "theatre" itself is rather small. Def. a cool show, the story could use work, but take it at face value of a series of stunts and theatrics and it goes down better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Door man very polite and helpful...
We went there to watch the firework display in september...
Indeed on the top floor of this hotel, they have hidded a beautiful garden bar...
The DJ is really cool and good and the singers too...
Only issue there are the toilet and TV screen!!! (you can hear the East of Europ b****h fighting...and the screens block the view and do not see the use of it in this bar!!!)
Wine list is ok and cocktails were drinkable...
One or two hookers but it's "Macau"...
Service attentive and acceptable...
You will go back...
For the rest of the hotel, i don't know, i have never stay there...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

As what where written by other reviews here, the experience at the hotel was great. Do remember to tell them when you will arrive at macau and they will be there to pick you up. The limo is more of a toyota alphard or similar car which is quite popular in hk/macau. Nothing much to complain about the ride as it is complementary. Some unexpected things happen during the check in. We check in at 3 pm and was told that we have to wait another 1 hour for our rooms to be ready. Was really upset with the staffs. I suppose the check in time was a standard 3pm and since they expect me to arrive at 3, i expect the room to be ready by then. Was told that the hotel was fully book which i slightly doubt that.

after all, waited 30 minutes for everything to be sorted out. one more thing, i read from reviews that the staffs spoke good/fluent english but i'm afraid i have to disagree with it. their english was quite bad and couldn't understand what we were mentioning. from the arrival, you will have to get to the 38th floor and change to another lift to get to your room.

For the room, the room size was great which i highly appreciate. full size window which allows you the whole view over the old macau town area. I was informed that every room have that magnificent view. The bed was not super king size but it was very comfortable. Complementary mini bar includes various soft drinks and beer while wines are chargeable. They provide fruit platter and green tea when you check into the room. The round bath tub sufficiently fits two and they provide aigner toileteries which includes bath salt.

however, in terms of transportation leaving the hotel will be a bit difficult as you need taxi leaving the hotel. even the last shuttle from altira to city of dreams was cancelled. its around 30-40 mop getting to the cotai strip area. breakfast was not the buffet style but its more of fine dining breakfast which is sufficient and the environment was quite pleasant.

The pool was located at level 10 but didn't have the chance to use it. however did tried out their vitality pool, sauna facilities which was really awesome. good privacy. During check out, they gave a baggage tag as a souvenir which is a nice touch. we went to the old macau area after leaving the hotel and they were gladly transport us there. Some hiccups on the original car and they soon found a replacement BMW 7 series car.

A good hotel to stay where you appreciate personalized service, peaceful gateway and really enjoy yourself. Less so for those who intended for sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

From its stunning views, competent and attentive staff and its large family suite this hotel cannot be faulted. Relaxing swimming pool and a sauna and steam room that actually worked - many a 5 star hotel weakness. Concierge spoke perfect English.
We even were provided an extra-early room service breakfast free of charge as we were missing our breakfast to get the ferry to HK International Airport.
This is one 5 star hotel that lives up to its billing and more and I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

it was great good service.The staff were really friendly and the swimming pool was awesome i particularly the music every time you went under the water it was really relaxing. Overall it definitely deserves 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.1 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
3.6 mi away
Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#8 of 90 in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
1.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Macau
Banyan Tree Macau
#6 of 90 in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altira Hotel

Address: Avenida de Kwong Tung, Taipa, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Macau
#2 Casino Hotel in Macau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#10 Business Hotel in Macau
#13 Family Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altira Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Altira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altira Hotel Macau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.