We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial style hotel, with a lot of style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rocks Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Rocks Hotel to your Saves list
The Rocks Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Macau Fisherman's Wharf, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Macau
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Colonial style hotel, with a lot of style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have just stayed for a night at the Rocks hotel and arrived already a bit late for a meeting. The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful, calling a taxi while I went upstairs to the room, connected the computer, checked the e-mail, and returned back to get the taxi. This took no more than 5 to 10 minutes. Something that I can consider as personalized treatment even if other customers were there and for what I gathered, having the same type of treatment. In a nutshell, the staff was friendly, helpful and very nice. The hotel looks really nice, designed to appear as a Governor's colonial house although with quite a of the decor in plastic (e.g., the parakeets in the cage in the first floor) which feels a bit disappointing. However, the lobby area is really pleasant and a good place to have informal meetings with your business colleagues if some of them are staying in the same hotel. The bedroom and the bathroom were both large, well decorated, and a mix of comfortable and practical. Unfortunately it was foggy outside, but I guess the view from the room's veranda must be gorgeous when the weather is nicer. The hotel is quiet at night and I had a marvelous night sleep. The breakfast is also a plus, with a mix of western and Asian cuisine, and everything fresh, presentable and pleasant. I cannot add much about the location because I could not get its grasp (kept jumping in and off of taxis without much time to do anything else). Overall though, I think this hotel is a really good choice to stay in Macau.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
22
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Great boutique hotel
- excellent rooms. great interiors, furniture n fittings in the room
- very helpful staff. We were trying to get tickets to the House of Dancing Water but found that it was sold out. The concierge / reception staff went out of their way to help source tickets from some travel agents who had a couple of surplus tickets. Led to brilliant evening for us. Much appreciated.
- great decor and very well maintained hotel
- good spread at breakfast

Only downside - no swimming pool
Biggest upside - No casino in-house. Keeps the hotel nice n quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms - they are larger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at The Rocks when visiting relatives in Macau. The whole hotel is immaculate and they could not have been more helpful. The rooms are lovely and overlook the lagoon where the ferries come and go to Hong Kong. There are unbelievable sky lanes taking tourists from the airport, ferry port to the various islands which make up Macau. The length of the bridges linking different areas of Macau have to be seen to be believed.

Breakfast each day was presented very formally, with our own personal waitress each day, who soon found that we could take endless amounts of tea and coffee. In spite of being the only Europeans staying there we were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. They even made us hot cocoa in the middle of the night on New Years Eve.

Room Tip: We loved the view of the sea and bridges, there was very little noise, but the views were great. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

A friend recommended The Rocks Hotel to me so decided to give it a try. I had passed by the hotel wandering in Fisherman’s Wharf in a trip to Macau a few years ago. Although the Wharf sounded like a failed white elephant investment, The Rocks Hotel looked quite charming among the tacky facilities nearby. It is Victorian replica, but with details.

We arrived on a really hot day. The ferry pier exit was cramped with hot chick ushers from the big casinos. We failed to locate the shuttle bus stop of The Rocks Hotel so ended up taking a taxi. The driver frowned on us as the hotel was quite near the pier, though one won’t venture to walk in the scorching sun. He even refused to hand over the coin changes apart from the bills, saying it’s the right amount already.

Anyway we checked in to a nice double bed room. The Rocks Hotel boasts a much more waterfront location than the more posh hotels. The balcony opened to a panoramic sea and bridge view. Since the double room is designed for couples, the bathtub in the washroom faces a glass window behind which the louver can be slid open for intimacy, or left closed for privacy. That’s real thoughtful. The décor is quite girlish actually, but it’s much more tasteful than the bigger hotels with casinos where the exotically designed windows are fake, with spot lights on but not usable. The verandahs and window frames at The Rocks exude a British ambiance. It’s even more beautiful when the lightings are on at night.

However, the bed quilt was way too thick to be used in such hot weather. I tossed around in bed all night long since it’s too hot. Tried to turn up the air-conditioning but it didn’t help much. Hope they can pay attention to that so that it’s more eco-friendly. The breakfast is no good. The croissant was cold and the omelet tasted bland. The restaurant, though, is nicely decorated with alfresco seating and a fountain facing the sea.

The staff, though with Mainland accent to cater for quite a number of Mainland guests, is friendly and helpful. They helped us to phone a remote eatery to find out which bus stop to get off, and also exchange full coins for us to take the bus.

Though we did take the shuttle to the jet foil, we only managed to find the shuttle sign at the pier as a hotel logo among a few small casinos of the same Group on a small board hidden among the big guys. Hope they can improve the signage in future. All in all, The Rocks Hotel is reasonably priced and has its own charm to stand among the competition.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Rocks Hotel in Macau, China. I stayed there for one night only from Sunday the 20th to Monday the 21st August 2011. The staff are so, so friendly (especially Mindy) on arrival. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable to boot. You have a great view of Macau and it's surroundings. If i where ever to go back to Macau i would want to stay at this hotel due to my experience while staying there. My partner and i were fifteen minutes late checking out of our room (checkout time 12:00pm) and nothing, not a word was said to us, we didn't even get a knock on the door to hurry us along. Fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms are great going my experience, but maybe ask for the top floor and you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Rocks was a great hotel. Rooms were great with character and the hotel small compared to the others which is nice. Its close to ferry but good access to the heart of macau. Not sure I would go back to macau but if I did I would stay here. Quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax west yorkshire England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Charming place in a theme park make believe world a walking distance from the port.

Only small compared to the monstrous casino hotels in Macau but a little bit far out of centre. Nobody told us about the free shuttle buses in to town but once we found out made life a little easier.

Free wi fi in lobby only and gym closes at 6pm and no swimming pool were the downsides as was constant helicopter flights over the roof till late at night however a nice place and the interior and rooms made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Hotel

Address: Macau Fisherman's Wharf, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rocks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocks Hotel Macau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rocks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.