We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where am i ? Asia or Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Centre of Macau

Historic Centre of Macau
Macau Peninsula, Macau, China
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #3 of 163 attractions in Macau
Type: Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Where am i ? Asia or Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Macau government has done amazing job for keeping the heritage site as alive as it is right now. The atmosphere of the historic centre was absolutely phenomenal. From architecture to every signage of the street are kept very original and very Portuguese. Im not sure how many people in Macau can speak portuguese but everything was written in both Chinese and Portuguese. It's just very worth to visit ! I recommend this place !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    192
    59
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The shopping was great, and there are many nice spots to either take a picture or take a rest.
You can easily be temted by the different food smells around, it is a nice place to walk around.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Spend some time there in the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We walked through the historical center of Macau around 8pm after dinner. It was much quieter and much easier to get around. Some shops are still open and the owners have more time for you in the evening.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Lose yourself taking in the sights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My travelling companion was agog taking in the atmosphere.

There are too many buildings to describe, the crowds on 22/12/12 were absorbing the history of Macau and the celebration of Christmas with decorations and street scenes.

A truly good place to be a tourist

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A legacy to be visited and a sreet of free Macau cookies etc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I had visited this historic centre many years ago and enjoyed this visit again and with some surprises. With its cobblestone streets, architectural styles of an era gone by and the iconic facade of the ruins of St Pauls, it's a legacy which is a sharp contrast to the glitz of the Cotai Strip. The Portuguese influence is well preserved and offers a window to Macau's past.
The surprise was the street on the left of Senado Square. Easy to miss it especially with the crowds. Here is a street of shops and stalls of Macau's range of its signature cookies and dried meat/jerky. I found it amusing that all onlookers are called to try the cookies for free - any type - any amount. Fancy that!! A couple of the shops even offered water so you can eat more. Shop after shop offering freebies. I was more interested in this marketing approach than the food. It seemed to work as the crowds jostled to try and then by the boxes, they were buying the cookies. I wonder why this concept of a street of free food worked so well here and yet I have not seen this in the many countries I've visited.
So, if you are visiting the historic centre do have a taste of what the street offers. I'd be deligted if you find this review helpful to please click "like" so I know that what I've written is of some help to someone - will make my day. Thanks in advance and do enjoy :)0.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Centre of Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Centre of Macau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Historic Centre of Macau to your Saves list