We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting neighbourhood & great time in Macau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Centre of Macau

Historic Centre of Macau
Macau Peninsula, Macau, China
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Historic Centre of Macau like an insider
Special Offer
$127*
and up
Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong
Ranked #2 of 193 things to do in Macau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“interesting neighbourhood & great time in Macau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had the great time in Macau only here in this historic center. i enjoyed the Portuguese shops after shops in a very chiness setting. it's very interesting. i enjoy shopping brand name and cosmetics products, as well as buy them famous egg tart. to me this is the only real macau feel.
i so glad to get most of my shopping done in the street before my tour guide head to classy Venice Mall with the canal indoor and fake sky.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    340
    88
    19
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Interesting walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The old centre of Macau is interesting, with a number of lovely old buildings that have been well restored. It's worth doing a half day's walk through the centre, stopping to refresh yourself with a Portuguese custard tart at regular intervals!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural West Aussie
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great for those interested in history and culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The historic centre of Macau is a little diffuse, and unless you are able to walk some reasonable distances you will do well to get a map with bus routes marked on it. You also need to be able to cope with the large crowds of tourists milling about mostly outside the ruins of Sao Paulo- oddly enough, if you go one or two streets away from the ruins there is no one!
The Museum had a reasonable number of visitors and is well laid out to sequentially lead you through the early history of Macau up to the present day. Many of the exhibits were quite impressive though a little more explanation might be desirable for the more inquisitive. At the top you will find the old fort complete with gun emplacements.
The Mandarin's House is very interesting and it was a pity in a way to find there were very few visitors. This huge building has been painstakingly restored and can be almost fully explored by visitors. The size of a small village, it must have been truly astounding in its heyday.
Do call in to the large building across from Senado Square. Inside you will find a pretty sitting-out garden and a large public library. An oasis of quiet compared to bustling Senado Square.
Lou Kau's House and the Pawn Shop Museum are also well worth a look, though as both are small will not take up more than 20-30 minutes each.
Just wandering around the old buildings is fun, they are so pretty and so unlike the more British-inspired buildings we are more familiar with. A great day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Impress with all the Portugal architectures especially debris of St. Paul's church. The tiled floor is also old and unique. The museum was also very interesting to learn about Macau.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I recommend that you go on this tour with a guide - they explain the history in English and Chinese - I found the tour very interesting and humble.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Centre of Macau also viewed

 

Been to Historic Centre of Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Centre of Macau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.