We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Mong-Ha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pousada de Mong-Ha
Save
You added Pousada de Mong-Ha to your Saves list
Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Macau
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Spent the night of 11/21/13 at this hidden gem. Front desk staff speak excellent English and were very helpful with info on bus routes around the island. We traveled around either by bus (exact fare required) or via the free shuttle provided by the hotel casinos. The short hike up the hill from the bus stop is not difficult. Our deluxe room is nicely decorated. The multiple jet shower soothed my achy muscles after a long day of walking. Breakfast buffet is more than adequate. Sure glad that we chose this hotel instead of the humongous hotel/casino complexes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    71
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
130
43
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

29/10/13 30/10/13 Macau
Pousada de Mong-HA 800Mop = $110.00Aud Total $220.00
Just one word BRILLIANT, we are coming back. This is a training hotel run by students of the IFT there are only 20 rooms which appear to be booked out months in advance. Staff will bend over backwards to make sure your stay is a rewarding experience. Attached to the hotel, slightly up the road there is also a training Restaurant which is not to be missed. Top quality food at very good rates. We ate here twice during our stay. There is also a Macanese’s buffet on Friday nights which is usually booked out 4 to 6 weeks ahead.
Room facilities include your own computer/cable TV with a great variety of channels/aircon/great bathroom complete with massage shower/huge king size bed/small balcony off the bedroom/and the list goes on.
I can’t recommend this hotel highly enough the only downside is it’s not in the tourist area but this is no problem as the transport system in Macau is very good and most places are easy to access by . Do not miss out staying at this hotel while in Macau.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I went back after two years to relax in Macau after business in HK. I knew to reserve early so I did so months in advance. What else can I add to my earlier review. All of my compliments still apply.
This time I was given what looked like a one bedroom mini suite. This time I enjoyed a leisurely breakfast. I noticed a much larger percentage of Asians in the breakfast crowd. Maybe this overall popularity means that taxis know this hotel better. Oh, I should add that I had great difficulty telling the taxi driver how to get here from the ferry port. It's not listed in the list of hotels they are given.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is basically staffed by students/trainees from the Institute of Tourism Studies, and I must say I have one of the best experience ever and received the most welcoming customer service. The frontdesk, and all the staff I encountered were truly professional. The hotel isn't big, but very well decorated and unique. The surrounding area is quiet and peaceful. We had a spacious room with a small lobby and the shower was awesome. There is computer in the room with free wifi, and internet was working fine with pleasant speed. Breakfast was good, but only downside is that there is ONLY ONE baby high chair in the whole restaurant. We had the Macanese and Portugese buffet dinner at their Educational Restaurant, which is a training unit for the hotel and culinary students of Institute for Tourism Studies, absolutely worth trying!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Pousada is a Portuguese word signifying welcome and relaxation, says their brochure. The training hotel of the Institue for Tourism Studies truly lives upto its name. Architecturally, built in Portuguese style, it is relatively small in size but very cheerful looking from outside. Lobby is pretty small too.But the rooms are gorgeous- they have used the space so efficently. All the 5-star comforts are there. The staff of mostly 4th year students, is very polite and humble. There are a few minor slip-ups here and there but nothing that you wont wanna excuse. Wi-Fi is great-bathroom toiletries etc are cute. Everything is provided but what takes the cake is the bed. it's not king size but Maharaja size-extremely comfortable. Breakfast is sumptuous with excellent spread. Pretty central location but dont think of walking back to the hotel as the last stretch gets very steep . View from my room was quite green and pleasant. Prices are reasonable and it is away from the maddening casinos. The Macau Ferry is around HK$30 away only. Its best to spend at least 2-3 days here to rejuvenate yourself and de-stress. A great example for other institutes like this in other countries (though the one in Hong Kong-T College, is equally good if not better-and the sea view there is fabulous).

Room Tip: Pick up the room with a view of the greenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

You wouldn't know this beautiful Portuguese style hotel is staffed by trainees who are as professional (if not more so) than their already qualified peers in the industry. All the staff I encountered here were very professional, warm, friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was really cosy and I felt completely at home and relaxed there. The hotel's restaurant is also extremely well run, the service and food both top notch. And all this for a very reasonable price. If I could give it a deluxe six star rating I would.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have stayed in this place 3 different times the past few years. I am not a gambler so I try to stay away from the casinos. I left Macau more than 40 years ago when it was a small fishing village and a firework manufacturing town with lots of places only Portuguese could enter. The hotel is located in one of those areas. The breakfast itself is a 4-star treat for me. The room is decorated with old-looking Chinese furniture. There is a small separated area that you can use the computer and internet. The shower head gives you an all-around massage. One thing you need to take into consideration is the transportation. It is located in a quiet part of town and it is not easy to get a taxi during rush hours even if you ask the receptionist to call one for you. And that is the reason I can not give it 5 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Mong-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Mong-Ha

Address: Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#5 Family Hotel in Macau
#17 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada is uniquely designed with a blend of European and Oriental features. The lobby and corridors are terracotta-tiled and lead to guest rooms through open-air courtyards decorated with hand-painted Portuguese tiles and lovely fountains. The use of Eastern style partitions in the guest rooms, coupled with Western style furniture and fittings create an exotic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada De Mong-Ha Hotel Macau
Pousada De Mong Ha Macau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Mong-Ha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.