We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ROOMS, EXCELLENT STAFF, NOT THE BEST LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Macao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Macao to your Saves list
The Sands Macao
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo de Monte Carlo, No. 203, Macao Sar, P.R. China, Macau, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 89 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“GREAT ROOMS, EXCELLENT STAFF, NOT THE BEST LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We recently stayed at the Sands in Macau for 5 nights. The Sands provides a free shuttle from the pier to the hotel. There is also a free shuttle to the Venetian that is located across the bay in Cotai. The Lobby of The Sands is in a very strange location, it actually discourages walks-ins as it is hidden by a long driveway. The lobby itself is pretty standard and nothing exceptional, but the staff is extremely helpful and willing to help. We actually had a little confusion with the billing and the young lady at the desk did her best to explain the line items in our bill and assisting in the correction stemming from a Wi-Fi charge. WI-FI is an extra charge in the suites but it is free in the lobby area. Over all, the staff in all departments is very helpful and always ready to assist and make your stay very pleasant. The guest rooms (suites) themselves are stunning. One is not accustomed to such a spacious suite in this part of the world, nonetheless, The Sands provides excellent accommodations and very modern décor and amenities (even if the hotel itself opened ten years ago and the exterior shows its age). The casino is standard for this part of the world and it lacks the noise level of Las Vegas style gambling establishment where one hears the constant cachinks of the slot machines. The gambling experience is very quiet and most professional. There is only one bar that I noticed and it has 2 espresso machines within 50 yards, as you can imagine, gamblers here don’t drink, they are here to gamble as they will until they drop, thus, there is little alcohol consumption and much caffeine intake. None of the hostesses comes to the gaming tables with alcoholic beverages, but they do come with juices, water and of course coffee. The location is not convenient to the center, unless you don’t mind walking for about 10 minutes, but taxis are rather cheap. Over all I think that the Sands provides a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear azzurri4ever,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed the excellent accommodations in Sands Macao; it is stunning, spacious and modern. Apart from this comfort of luxury, the greatest assets have been our team members who deliver the quality service one would expect from Sands.
Thank you for recognizing the young lady who assisted you and the rest of the helpful and enthusiastic team members. Please be assured that I will personally share this positive review to them. Your positive gaming experience is duly noted and highly appreciated. We do not come to the gaming tables with alcoholic beverages. However, we are happy to serve it upon request; please feel free to ask for it whilst in the gaming tables in your next visit. We unfortunately cannot improve our location factor; our Concierge can perhaps guide you to the city center in the most efficient way.

Once again, our sincere appreciations for your useful feedback that can only make us better.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Sands Macao soon for our excellent accommodation and service.

Kind regards,
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
12
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A free shuttle bus brought us from ferry pier to the hotel. We were quite excited until we could not find the reception lobby after walking up and down the escalators and lifts, from ground to second floor for twenty minutes. When we finally got to the reception, to my surprise, it was small and looked like a back door entrance. The signage of the hotel was very poor. When we checked in, the staff were polite and unpassionate. The hotel was designed solely for gamblers, not suitable for family guests. The location of the hotel was good, walking distance to many eating places. The room was very spacious and clean. We only stayed for one night, and do not think we will come again next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear skybirdie33,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as such information enables us to monitor the application of our service standards, while simulatenously allowing us the opportunity to rectify any shortfalls.

Firstly, I am glad to learn that you enjoyed our spacious and clean room. However, I am remorse to to learn about your mixed experience in reference to the challenges in finding the hotel. I sincerely wish that I were there to guide you all the way to the hotel. Please be assured that we will review this and initiate suitable corrective measures to improve this area of concern.

Whilst we are unable to undo the unpleasant experiences you have encountered, we certainly look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back, thereby allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence on us. I just send you a personal message, please check your mailbox.

Best regards,
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The suites are not bad at all but one thing is the suite and the living has a opening between the two so not much privacy between the two rooms. Other the room and the jacuzzi bathtub is very nice and comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear gpeng80,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed our suites and Jacuzzi bathtub. Your observation on the lack of privacy between the two rooms is duly noted. Originally, all our suites come with only one king bed and a living room. To satisfy the growing demand for twin bedded room, we upgraded some rooms to have double king bedded rooms, which is rare in this part of the world. For instances, if you asked for twin bedded room, we will provide you with double king bedded room.

Nevertheless, we apologize for not being able to communicate about our new room configuration in advance. I look forward to welcoming you and family back to Sands Macao soon.

Best regards,
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is by far, the best hotel I have ever stayed. The rooms are grand with hair dryer, iron & ironing board, shaver, matches etc. I especially love the comfy bed with the dresser. It was a pleasant experience overall & I would definitely book this hotel should I return to Macau.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear pinkypinku,

Thank you for your review.

I know this reply is coming in late, but it is extremely important to express our gladness for such a wonderful comment.

We are delighted to learn that we not only meet, but exceeded your expectations. This feedback will further motivate us to strive for perfection in your next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you and family to Sands Macau soon for another great stay.

Kind regards,
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The well-appointed rooms at the Sands Macao are large and beautiful. Service is outstanding and the casino is quite large. For westerners, however, restaurant choices within the hotel are very limited. There is an excellent steakhouse, but the other choices are all Asian. A free shuttle takes guests to the Cotai Strip and back every 15 minutes or so.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean views are nice when the weather is clear, which is seldom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear LonnieAnd,

Thank you for sharing your outstanding experience.

Nothing is as good as receiving such a wonderful comments; large and beautiful rooms, outstanding service and excellent steakhouse.

For other western cuisine, I know a good Italian restaurant near Sands. Alternately, we have a long list of western cuisine at the Venetian or Sands Cotai Central. Our Concierge will be more than happy to assist you with further recommendation.

I look forward to welcoming you and partner back to Sands Macao for another impeccable experience.

Best regards,
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The room I stayed in faces the sea with spectacular views of the harbor, fisherman wharf and airport. There is free shuttle buses that takes you everywhere, from the Venetian to the Border at Gongbei. However on day One, the shuttle dropped me at the casino side and with the luggage and no direction, I have to search for the lobby which I though its poor planning. I would stay at Taipa. It appears its where all the shows/ food and expos are. Having said that, the Sands is a haven away from the crowds at Venetian where I have no doubt you will be processed ( check in), marched off ( directed), trekking ( walking to room) with lotsa of waiting thrown in in such a large hotel. Here in the Sands, I received nothing but friendly smiles and zero waiting time for checking in/out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear jt089089 ,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to hear that you have in general enjoyed your stay at Sands Macao and that we were able to meet your expectation. At the same time, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience on day one. We have since improved the direction signage to the hotel lobby and reminded our front service team members to vigilant at the casino side.

I look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you and friends back to Sands Macau soon.

Kind regards,
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adealide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Did a stop over in Macao on the way back to Australia, very Grand, rooms well priced, there are 5 resturants, we just loved there Steak House resturant, staff very friendly, good steak & wine list.

The location was excellent, across the road was a Marina with many many resturants.

Just one thing to be aware of, is when we went into Macao, they have there own currency, & is not accepted in the Casinos, the value is less 10% less, than the Hong Kong Dollar.
Taxi drivers did goood rip off.

Room Tip: All Rooms Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Adelaidejanet018 ,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sands Macao especially with our award winning Copa Steakhouse, our friendly team members and wine list. Our location is indeed excellent as we are strategically located near to almost everywhere. Furthermore, our free shuttle is available at your doorstep to bring you across the island. Thank you.

Please feel free to drop by the Concierge desk in your next trip here for good tips on moving around the city in the most efficient and safest way. I look forward to welcoming you and partner back to Sands Macau soon for another great experience.

Best regards,
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Macao

Address: Largo de Monte Carlo, No. 203, Macao Sar, P.R. China, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Macau
#8 Casino Hotel in Macau
#18 Business Hotel in Macau
#22 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Macao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands® Macao is a 289-luxurious-suite world class hotel and entertainment complex. Its stunning, reflective gold glass exterior houses a wide range of diversions from specialty restaurants, a theatre, outdoor swimming pool, deluxe spa and salon to conference and banquet facilities, unrivalled shows and a vast array of gaming offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Sands Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Macau Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Macao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.