We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for your care” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau

Save Saved
You added Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 85 hotels in Macau
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Thank you for your care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Thanks so much for all your arrangement so that my family stayed happily and peacefully at your hotel.
Princess, the chair you arranged for my handicapped mother let her take her bath comfortably and safely.
Thank you for the drivers and all your conceirge staff who were so helpful in taking care of my mother getting on and off the bus.
Thank you so much for all your warmly wellcome at the reception, at the restaurant. I have no regret that I have chosen your hotel as my first priority hotel whenever I come back to Macau

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Leung C,

Thank you very much for choosing The Westin Resort Macau and highly appreciate your such positive comments.

I'm so glad our team was able to provide personal and instinctive service to your mother, especially our Front Office associates who took it further to ensure you and your family have a memorable stay.

I'm really proud of my team as they demonstrate the core value of Westin brand, and they are certainly role models to all hotel associates.

I hope to see more and more stories like this.

Have a renewal day.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    181
    72
    32
    15
See reviews for
110
113
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ronde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Yes, this hotel is away from the hustle of both the centre and the Cotai strip, and I felt this as a big advantage. This is restful, beautifully located. Room was spacious and well-appointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful - especially the guys at the concierge desk were just wonderful. Breakfast was good too. Only downside is the aging exterior - if you are inside, you don't notice, but I had a nice big balcony that I did not use because it was a bit depressing to look at all that peeling paint. But otherwise - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Klaus,

Thank you for your review and feedback.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your room and the hospitality by our associates. Please be rest assured that your comments about the balcony condition will be shared with concerned department for further review.

Thank you again for recommending us on TripAdvisor. Hope we will provide you another memorable experience soon.

Be Inspired.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was my second stay at the Westin Macau and it is clearly away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Macau, but only a 20 minute cab ride away. It is a older hotel but the staff make up for this aging property. The food and beverage service is great. The golf course attached is a good test of golf with a variety of holes with character. A good weekend getaway. Relaxing!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you like here at The Westin Resort Macau.

We pride ourselves on our service and renowned golf facilities. Glad to know that you had a relaxing weekend getaway.

We look forward to your future arrival.

Be well.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Arrival at the hotel is disappointing as it has very little impact.

The check in was quick (but it seems to take two members of staff to check one person in or out of the hotel) if you are the second person in the queue...you must just wait and nobody says anything to you until it is your turn.

The hotel needs serious revamping. The rooms are not too bad but the outside looks terrible.

We were apparently upgraded to a nicer room as we are Platinum members.
The room was basic so I really wonder what the standard room looks like.

The beds are comfortable though. The view is of the sea. But the sea is black, which i heard is from the rivers inland.

We tried to order a coffee in the restaurant we sat for over an hour and was never offered anything. I had to walk over to the coffee counter and ask for a coffee.

Breakfast is basic but actually quite good for Asia.

The hotel is off the beaten track and you need to take a taxi or the shuttle service to the casinos.

I think this hotel is more suited to families.

My husband wanted to play golf but the fees where quite high for the quality of course.

I will not stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Sea facing seem to be more upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Chelledl,

We want to thank you for your feedback regarding our property and also apologize for the overall experience that you reported in your review.

It is feedback from our guests that best allow us to identify areas of opportunity in improving our service standard. I would like to assure you that your concerns are well noted. With your comments, we are able to address training opportunities with our associates in terms of service delivery.

Have a renewal week.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have just arrived home from a long weekend break with my family. Whilst the hotel is old they are aware of it and it is in the process of renovation. With that said the warmth of the staff at the hotel outshines any cosmetic issues. Our experience started at the ferry as we were greeted by Christian who kept us entertained for the 15 minutes we had to wait for the hotel bus. 30 minutes later we arrived at the resort. The rooms have large balconies which I understand are due to be improved with canopies, loungers and personal BBQ's. In the evening we had the pleasure of meeting Asif Bajwa, Director, F&B. He was greeting every table and listening to good and bad comments with such positivity. He also introduced us to the new Tapas menu he had started on the 3rd floor Porto Bar. We decided to try this on the last night and were very surprised. The staff were in the process of bringing out new updated furniture which is modern and comfortable. The tapas was excellent and the service impeccable thanks to Bruno, the manager and Jake who served our every need. Our kids don't really like tapas but the bar smartly offers the Lobby lounge burger menu which has 20 varieties of burger. If they add some light lounge music, candles on tables and a bit more foliage it will be a perfect place to unwind to the sound and breeze of the ocean. We mentioned to Asif that it would be nice to have a few Indian options on the breakfast buffet as their Indian food was excellent on our first night at the hotel. With comment on board he immediately offered to arrange a personal Indian breakfast at our table the next morning. True to word the staff informed us as soon as we arrived that it had been arranged and within 10 minutes Asif arrived at our table with Dahl, Saag Paneer and fresh roti. All excellent!!
Our only disappointment was when we ventured out one night to a famous Portuguese restaurant and ended up waiting over an hour for a table, drinking mediocre Sangria (Westin poolside Sangria is much better) and finally being told the one thing I wanted from the menu was not available. It was also very overpriced, so our advice would be to stay in the hotel as they have everything you need and more, all at very reasonable prices.
Other facilities we utilized were the mountain bikes, indoor and outdoor pool, and the spa which offers additional 30 minutes when you book a one hour massage.
Loved everything about the Westin Macau, will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear 942LianeD,

What a huge compliment you have given us!

I am so happy that you trip with your family trip was a comfortable one. Thank you for letting everyone know.

I am particularly pleased with your observations about our associates. It is wonderful that you can tell how much everyone enjoys making our guests feel special and cared. I think Christian, Asif, Bruno and Jake are terrific and I am so glad you had pleasant interactions with them.

The fact that you will DEFINITELY return is a huge acknowledgement to us and we are honored. Thank you again and we look forward to your return to The Westin Resort Macau.

Live Well.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The facilities, accommodation were fantastic & the staff could n have been more helpful. Family friendly, The Westin is an oasis in busy Asia. The Westin is a short drive to Macau city & is blissfully quiet. We visited Singapore & Hong Kong as well as Macau on this trip, & Macau was the winner!

Room Tip: All the rooms had great views, despite the type. We stayed on the top floor, so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Kav1956,

Thank you for staying at The Westin Resort Macau and sharing your review with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and were impressed with our helpful associates and tranquil environment.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Stay Well.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed overnight with my son who was visiting ; as I live in Hong Kong. We came to see the House of Dancing Water and wanted somewhere calm and peaceful to stay; somewhere away form the noise of "golden week" and the casinos. Westin resort was just perfect. Although the hotel is a little tired and in need of a makeover, it is clean and spacious. Asif Bajwa, the Director of F&B, was a stand out as he made time to speak to us and make sure all was well. We wish we had been there for the Indian Curry Buffet, but alas it was not on that particular night. I certainly recommend staying here with an Ocean view room of course!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Leonie,

I am pleased to learn that we have become your hotel of choice in this area. It is truly encouraging to read your comment.

We appreciate your recognition and complimentary comment to Mr. Asif Bajwa who had participated in making your stay a memorable experience. It’s indeed an ideal choice to revitalize and quietly recharge at The Westin Resort Macau. Only 5 minutes away from those dazzling casino complex, you won’t miss a chance to embrace the exciting Macau.

You’re definitely welcome to come back any Thursday and enjoy our Indian Tandoori Buffet. Please do bring your friends and family to enjoy Buy 3 Get 1 Free or free flow of drinks.

I believe you have already read about our guest room renovation project, please stay tuned for our updates. We hope you will witness our improvements firsthand and experience a refreshing stay.

Trust that we will see you again in the very near future.

Stay energized.

Gary Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau

Address: No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#20 Family Hotel in Macau
#22 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most luxurious resort in Macau, the award-winning The Westin Resort Macau is just minutes from Macau International Airport and downtown shopping. Averaging at 72 sqm, each new room opens out to a patio with picturesque beach or sea views. Set over 160 acres of seaside gardens with extensive recreational facilities and massage services, The Westin Resort Macau is a perfect getaway to relax and rejuvenate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort Macau Hotel Macau
Westin Hotel Macau
Westin Macau
Westin Coloane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Coloane Beach Resort Macau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.