We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Westin Resort, Macau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Coloane Resort Macau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Coloane Resort Macau to your Saves list
Grand Coloane Resort Macau
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“The Westin Resort, Macau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was only at this resort for one night but wished I could have stayed another day to relax there.
Each room has a balcony that overlooks the pool area and has a view of a sand beach on the South China Sea. You can dip your toes in the Sea or go for a swim. Three workers were cleaning the beach when I was there as there is alot of garbage that does wash up.
There is a lovely pool, tennis courts, golf course and banquet rooms.
It is not in the centre of the casino action but runs a free shuttle to the Venetian Casino and to the ferry and from these two spots you can catch other shuttles to other casinos like the Galaxy. The shuttle runs every 1/2 hr and you need to book it. If it is full, it was easy to grab a cab to the closest casino and go from there.
The English spoken by the staff is very good and the staff is very accomodating.
I cannot comment on the food as I only had breadfast which was standard. You can eat outside on the patio or inside in the dining room and food was just fine.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to have made your stay a memorable one. Your impression of the resort and the attentiveness of our associates are highly appreciated which I will definitely share with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the near future .

For A Better You.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    219
    77
    34
    17
See reviews for
135
145
22
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A quiet attractive spot away from the hell of glitzy gaudy gambling areas of Macao; the hotel is in need of some renovation but the bedrooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is excellent; and the food is quite good. I have two complaints though : first, the psa was under renovation whne we went there and I would have thought we should have been so advised when we booked; and second the water in the room was warm rather than hot. But on the whole, it was a relaxing and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your important feedback. We are happy to know that overall, you have enjoyed your stay with us at The Westin Resort Macau.

Thank you also for your comments in regards to the shortfalls that you encountered during your stay. We are committed to maintaining the high level of service and please be assured I will pass your comments on to concerning department heads for immediate follow up.

Thank you again for your visit and I hope it won’t be too long before we can welcome you back.

Be Rejuventuded.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The resort hotel building is somewhat old and the location is not too convienent to conmute between Macau downtown and the hotel. Very differcult to get a taxi.The bath room is lack of mentanace. The hotel service is above average, especially the concierge desk is doing their best to accomondate their guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for bringing up the issue you have encountered during you stay at The Westin Resort Macau. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconsistent service you have experienced.

Please allow us to continue monitor and review your concerns for further improvement. Your comments have been addressed and conveyed to my team members to insure improvement in maintaining the excellence in service standards and delivery.

We are looking forward to create another enriching travel experience for you.

Be inspired.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I really liked this hotel! We were a little worried when we arrived, as the carpet looked a bit run down. But that was really the worst of it.

Our room was spacious, with a big terrace providing a beautiful view. The pool are was really nice too.

The restaurant was good. We had a burger for lunch and it was excellent. The breakfast buffet was superior. Lots of offerings, and an omelet station.

A bit off the beaten path, but we loved that too. A cab ride in to town was reasonable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is such a pleasure to read your review and we appreciate for your time taken to express your Westin Experience.

We have noted your comments on our property conditions, carpet in particular. We are currently in the process of evaluating future upgrades, so your suggestions are very important and will be passed onto the owner. Please stay tuned for our updates. We hope you will witness our improvements firsthand and experience a refreshing stay that exceeds your expectations.

We appreciate your loyalty and please stay tuned for updates on our website.

Stay well.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

No casino, no flashing lights, no musical fountain lazer show not a statue of Caesar in sight.................who cares!! This hotel is an absolute gem! just spent the weekend with my wife to celebrate our 10 anniversary and will be back, very soon!
Staff very friendly and helpful. The staff on the door were a mind of information, helped us with every query we had.

Breakfast on the terrace was fantastic, with lush peaceful gardens to stroll in afterwards. The room was very clean and spacious, the room terrace was really nice to sit out on and have early morning tea!

Waking up to the sound of the waves breaking on the beach was very relaxing indeed.

Westin, please don't change this hotel, renovate by all means, but this is the only hotel I know in Macau like this. I visited the Westin Macau 17 years ago but only stopped in for a drink, I have finally stayed there. I have tried all the other hotels in Macau and will never stay anywhere else but the Westin, when I visiti Macau. Please, please keep it like this, it's the last bastion of peace and tranquility in Macau. See you very soon!

Room Tip: upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Westin Resort Macau.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. In the competitive environment here in Macau, with all the glitzy casino hotels, we are especially proud to provide a tranquil ambiance, with the great help or our instinctive and thoughtful associates.

We are here to customize renewal experiences energize your mind, body and spirit.

For a better you.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was concerned after reading some negative reviews about the hotel on Tripadvisor, but was pleasantly surprised over our 3 nights stay last weekend. Firstly, Westin Macau is a contrast to the Cotai strip hotels in Macau which are all about casinos and gambling in that this is a FAMILY hotel.

Westin Macau has large lawns, swimming pools, kids club, excellent service, great food and a nearby beach. I would particularly recommend the Indian fare at their Panorama café. We love Indian food and this was one of the best that we have had over the last few years in HK. They have an excellent Indian Chef (Mr Nathi Singh) and Indian staff at the restaurants who understand exactly the way Indians like their food.

The kids club is great with a play area and a number of activities throughout the day. The main and kid pools are clean and large and made for with families in mind. There is an indoor pool too with a hot Jacuzzi.

Not to forget the rather cosy lounge next to the cafe which has live singing nightly and a delicious snacks menu. The absence of some of my preferred drinks was a downer but that's minor.

We were upgraded to the Presidential Suite which was simply awesome. The balcony was large enough for a party of 30, the living and dining rooms were immense and the bedrooms comfortable. The bathroom had an in-built Jacuzzi which was a great hit with the kids.

On the downside, this is a classic resort and so if you are used to some of the more modern resorts around Asia this could seem old and dated for a while but it grows very quickly on you. The breakfast can do with some variety and seems to be tilted towards a more Chinese clientele.

Overall an excellent stay and one will probably repeat as we stay a hop, skip and a boat ride way.

Room Tip: Select the ocean view rooms for sweeping views or a beach view room for some mountains, the beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your Westin experience. We are very delighted to learn that you enjoyed your family gathering and felt satisfied with our facilities and services. Your compliment motives us to continuously strive and exceed our guests’ expectations.

At Westin, all guests are understood and feel this is a place where they can be at their best.

Be Westin.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This use to be a quiet nice getaway from the Chinese hustle and bustle. Now it's a dump. Weeds, dirty carpet and out dated. It could be renovated to a nice spa. Do not stay here. The only thing it has is shuttle service and walking distance to the best Portuguese restaurant Fernando's.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear of your experience which had led to your stay with us being compromised.

We have noted your comments on our property conditions. We are eager to address the shortfalls and have been taking collective measures to uplift the overall ambience of the hotel. At the same time, we also realize that a complete overhaul is required to enhance the level of comfort for our guests.

We hope you will be able to witness our improvement in the near future.

Be Well.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Coloane Resort Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coloane Resort Macau

Address: No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Macau
#16 Business Hotel in Macau
#17 Family Hotel in Macau
#21 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Coloane Resort Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most luxurious resort in Macau, the award-winning The Westin Resort Macau is just minutes from Macau International Airport and downtown shopping. Averaging at 72 sqm, each new room opens out to a patio with picturesque beach or sea views. Set over 160 acres of seaside gardens with extensive recreational facilities and massage services, The Grand Coloane Resort is a perfect getaway to relax and rejuvenate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Coloane Resort Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort Macau Hotel Macau
Westin Hotel Macau
Westin Macau
Westin Coloane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Coloane Resort Macau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.