We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Macau Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Macau Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Macau Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been completely redone while maintaining all its charm. It is clean and very comfortable. Our room was quite large, by Asian standards. The bathroom had a beautiful inlaid marble floor, large marble counter with an under-mount sink and new bathtub. All the necessary toiletries were provided. The bed and pillows were very comfortable with crisp white sheets and a duvet. The bedroom had crown molding and nice use of wood. The staff were well trained and pleasant. The small casino, with mostly slot machines, served delicious free coffee. As the rooms were non-smoking it was a convenient spot to have morning coffee and a cigarette. There is a very large pool, a gym and a sauna. The hotel was far more luxurious than we were expecting at the price that we paid. It is a bit removed from the more frenetic areas of Macau but there are lots of shops and restaurants in the next block. It is an easy walk to all the sights Macau has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    570
    111
    26
    20
See reviews for
167
239
77
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Dear Friends hotel royal in macau hotel services is good and room is so good wash is very good sleeping bed good staff is very coprative hotel bus services is good. Location is not good shopping mall and other markit so far .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We loved our stay in this hotel. The hotel staff are very accomodating teaching us where to dine based on our preference, where to go for our free time based on our tastes and which direction to take to get to a much sought after and not-to-be missed tourist attraction. The hotel rooms are clean. We got 2 rooms with an adjoining door for our family per our request. We had a wonderful view of the Jardin de Vasco de Gama which always greeted us with such greenery and such a refreshing and pleasing view. Their international breakfast buffet was also a treat with us children going back for seconds to help pack us more energy with the days' tour itinerary. There is a shuttle bus service to help you get to certain points in the city, should you want to wander off during or the rest of the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The location of the hotel is very convenient with many markets and shops being within walking distance. The free shuttle service works well and the drop to the ferry station on the day of departure was very organised one. The staff are friendly, of course they could improve their English skills more, but they try to help as much as possible. And they also smile! The breakfast fare was poor and for vegetarians there is hardly anything to eat. Rooms are cleaned well and offers a good view of the square in front. Spent 2 nights there and would not mind reccommending to others.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer better view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in Royal hotel in Dec 2012. Although the location is not the best, but my family and I did not have any trouble walking from the hotel to Senado Square. It is only a 15mins walk and you will pass by lots of shops along the way, which can be interesting. If arriving Macau by ferry, hey have a mini shuttle bus from the ferry terminal to the hotel. Ask around to find out where the Royal hotel shuttle bus is as the other big buses usually block your view of the small bus.

The hotel rooms were spacious and I would say there was nothing I could find fault with! It was clean and had everything that I needed. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge staff who personally brought our baggage up to our rooms, and then gave us travelling advice and ideas!

Travelling from the hotel is pretty easy, and you can ask the hotel staff to give you directions on how to walk to Senado Square. If you are looking for dining options near the hotel, there is a traditional cafe where you can have breakfast just 1 min away. Turn right upon hotel entrance and walk straight down. For dinner or supper, try Wong Kun for the crab porridge and wanton noodles with shrimp roe. The restaurant is pretty noticeable, and its a few minutes walk down from the hotel, located along Rua do Campo. Just further down the same road, you will find local portugese food at this traditional restaurant, A Vencedora.

We also found many small boutiques selling clothes, shoes, bags along this stretch of road, and it was quite a pleasant surprise. There is also Lei Kei ice cream, which you can enjoy after a long day.

Overall, my family and I liked our stay at Royal Hotel very much and we would definitely come back again if visiting Macau.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in Dec 2009 (Not Feb 2012 as shown in the selection as the selection doesn't go beyond Feb 2012). Hotel was undergoing renovation during the period of stay. Thought it was under renovation, the hotel was still kept relatively clean with minimal noise level during the day.

Hotel provided free shuttle service to ferry terminal, Fisherman's Wharf and some other locations with designated time which is easily available.

My 1st experience of Macau was made positive by the hotel the moment I arrived on a taxi from the airport. I was HKD$5 short and the taxi driver had no change for my larger bills and was stranded until the taxi driver can figure out how to get some small change. The hotel Concierge Manager just walked across to me and asked what was the matter and upon understanding the situation, he immediately took HKD$5 right out from his pocket to give to the taxi driver to close the issue. Over the next 2 days of my stay I tried to return the HKD$5 to him but he just refused to take it back. Even though it was just a small amount, it was deeply felt that the staffs of the hotel really cared for their guests.

Had a pleasant stay in the hotel for the next 2 days with the help of the staffs to arrange customized local tour to visit the nearby places of interest in private executive van.

If I do have the opportunity to visit Macau in the near future, Royal Macau Hotel will be definitely on my list!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was a nice place to stay away from the hub of casinos. It was nice and quiet with great rooms and good service. The price was also very good. Walking distance from the old part of Macau, we went to see all the historical sites at our leisure and wandered through the winding streets. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Macau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Macau Hotel

Address: No.2-4 Estrada da Vitoria, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#21 Family Hotel in Macau
#23 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Macau Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 19-story Hotel located at the foot of the Guia Lighthouse, facing Vasco da Gama Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal Macau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Macau
Macau Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Macau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.