We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location,location,location for non gamblers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sintra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sintra to your Saves list
Hotel Sintra
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida De Joao IV, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Macau
4.0 of 5 stars 614 Reviews
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“location,location,location for non gamblers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

i would go back to this hotel again if i bring my family most definitely. they gave me the twin single bed room, since i asked for a king bed. the room is clean, not dusty as the others member said. the room have a sofa, so my daughter is very exciting to sleep on it. when we request for an extra pillows and blanket, the housekeeping send it right away. superb.
The doorman/bell boy, is excellent in helping us since it's weekend most shuttle bus are full and taxi is very rare. he gave us another plan to visit ruins of st paul first then do the giant panda macau the day after. He also recommend us Cafe margaret e nata for breakfast which is just a short walk and i found it really nice, later i found out it's the world famous egg tart.
check out was really awesome too, everybody is really, nice i assumed it that they play around with my kids and even gave them candies. for budget and location this hotel is perfect. I dont mind tippin more, if the quality of hospitality is up to par to my expectation. great job hotel sintra staff and team.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    379
    91
    11
    3
See reviews for
134
104
65
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Great value for the price I paid and esp. compared with the other big hotels surrounding this little gem. Its in a great location - right next to Grand Lisboa and walking distance to Senada Square. Dont expect much - but rooms are clean, big and everything works well and as it should.

Service is excellent - and trust me, I threw a few curly ones at them. Internet wasnt working, needed power adapter, my electricity went out, etc. - but all were solved so quickly and without fuss. Very impressed with the service!

You wont be disappointed for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Lisboa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The location is great, within walking distance to Senado Square; Plenty of activity to do nearby, i.e. stroll, shop, eat, etc. Lots of shuttle buses around to take tourists to various attractions around Macau.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I actually stayed here a couple of years ago (March 2008 but the drop down box won't let me go back further than Dec 2010) and didn't review it on here at the time (I wasn't using Tripadvisor then). I was thinking of going back to Macau and immediately remembered this hotel and how good it was. I will most likely stay again, so thought it would be worth putting a short review on here.

It was advertised as 3.5 star (from memory) but in reality was much better than that. The rooms were clean, well maintained and luxurious. The staff were very helpful and it's located in a great spot, walking distance from many casinos and attractions.

The casino attached to the hotel itself isn't much (a dark, cramped and smoky little room with some slot machines), but it's really not important. For a good value place to stay in Macau this is a great choice. I will be going back soon I hope.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Most of it has been said in other reviews, but the addition I would like to make is the hotel shuttle bus from the Macau Ferry Pier, as we had a hard time finding it. When we were there, we had to take a left in the arrivals hall, to the place where all other shuttles are as well. However, the shuttle to Hotel Sintra does not actually have a parking spot, but drives by and you need to flag it down. They use purple-red vans, and the Hotel Sintra sign is not very clear, but it's on the side in the back. If you can not find this shuttle, just take the shuttle to the Grand Lisboa: hotel Sintra is right behind the Grand Lisboa, in the direction of the MGM (the other brightly lid casino two blocks away from Grand Lisboa).
Apart from that, Hotel Sintra was an excellent place: big rooms, very clean, relatively cheap, close to many casinos (Grand Lisboa, MGM, Wynn), shuttle buses to the City of Dreams (the casinos next to the Venetian), close to the historic heart of Macau (Largo do Senado), close to restaurants (if you walk to the north), but also the restaurant in the hotel itself is good, a wide selection of amenities (the usual shampoo etc., but also combs and other utilities). It was an excellent choice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The place is really good. Not as grand than the other hotel casinos in the area but the hotel itself is really good. Rooms are really big (superior room) and clean with good facilities. It doesn't have a casino though. Free shuttle to City of Dreams stops infront of hotel, which is very good. Grand Lisboa casino is about 3 minutes walk. 7-11 is at the side of the hotel and a McDonalds is 1 block away. Only drawback is the free shuttle service from the ferry terminal. We have to call the hotel 3 times and wait for about 45 minutes for the shuttle to arrive. 1 shuttle passed by but didn't stop (it didn't have any passengers). We had to wait for another one. As compared to the frequency of Grand Lisboa shuttles (about 3 trips in about 5 mins), it's like waiting forever. If you are looking for a good hotel to stay in Macau with a comfortable price and is okay without a casino, book this hotel. Aside from the shuttle problem, everything is good. Also, it's about 4 to 5 mins walk to Senado Square.

If stayed from a hotel in Hong Kong, you will be amazed by the size of the room here (Superior). It's really big for a superior room. It's about 150% bigger than superior rooms in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: The superior room is really superb. It's big, and the bed is really very comfortable (king size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

the hotel is at reasonable price for macao standards. the rooms are very big and u r always supplied with amenities like shampoo tooth paste etc.
it is silent . restaurant is ok. u got a free transport service from airport.
but the top is position....walking distance from center of macau and from grand lisboa casino

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sintra

Address: Avenida De Joao IV, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sintra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel with spectacular view of Praia Grande Bay, within walking distance of Casino & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sintra Hotel Macau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sintra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.