We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was fine but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7-13 Rua Comendador Kou Ho Neng, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Macau
Lisburn
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Hotel was fine but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed in Macau for the Grand Prix and with all the hotels putting up their prices chose this one because it was reasonably priced. The hotel is off the beaten track and far from the centre of Macau - this has it's advantages if you want somewhere a little quieter with very cheap taxis or the free shuttle bus taking you into the centre in minutes, its also no more than a 15 min walk. My room had a garden view - this means no view, room was big and all that I needed but possibly a little tired as is the rest of the hotel. The hotel staff were helpful and had a good grasp of the language, the hotel bar/restaurant was a different story. I came down 10mins later for breakfast one morning and told "no chance" - not really good enough, also the bar closed early at night so no atmosphere around the hotel night or day. I probably wouldn't go back as there seem to be much better "budget" hotels in the centre.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view - NOT the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    83
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
9
11
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Only happened to book here coz most of the other hotels were fully booked. Got a room for a night on the 3rd floor, no view at all. Room wasn't that big and bathroom pretty tiny compared to other hotels. Room decor old and wearing out. Not convenient too as we could only go there by taxi especially at night, luckily they had a shuttle bus to go to the ferry pier and Senado square but during specific times and not too frequent. No restaurants nearby. Will try other hotels next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We live in Hong Kong and fancied a weekend away in Macau. We booked this hotel on AsiaRooms and it was cheaper than many of the bigger casino hotels.

Strengths: big room with nice view; good breakfast buffet with a wide range of options; friendly reception and conceirge; quieter location than other hotels; free shuttle bus every 30 minutes to the town centre and the ferry terminal.

Weaknesses: our room smelt of damp; very hard mattress and pillows; decor felt outdated; hardly any dining options within easy walking distance of the hotel so you're very reliant on the shuttle bus.

In short, it was okay but we'd probably choose elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Located in the penha hill, the hotel is relatively central and yet quiet. The rooms are in dire need of some renovation (paint at least and new carpets. Yet the rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. They run regular shuttles between the hotel, downtown and the ferry terminal, that can be convenient. Breakfast is decent but not stellar

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in early January 2013 on a business trip.

Its not in the city proper, but the hotel has a shuttle bus that gets you there in 5 minutes.

If you're lucky enough to have a room facing the harbor, the view can be very nice. Rooms on the back side of the hotel look at a brick wall.

We had read the tripadvisor reviews before arriving, so we were expecting the mildew/mold smell that pervades this hotel. It does smell like it was flooded at some point in recent history. We were originally on the 2nd floor, and our room stunk badly plus the shower didn't work.

After a good hour of arguing with the desk we were moved to the 1st floor and a much better room with a view and a balcony. The downside was it was a smoking floor, but that turned out to not really bother us.

The food was nothing special. On our last night there was a special banquet for us and they busted out the Portuguese food. That was very good.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the front side of the hotel, otherwise you'll be looking at a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a very seedy place. My room - and several other people's rooms did not have the MATTRESS, so we had to sleep on the BOX SPRING. Yes, you got it right. It is not very subtle, as in "oh, I don't like the smell of their toiletries." It is as real as the Styrofoam statue of Bugs Bunny they have in their lobby. I guess they know better than to put an image of it on their site. The streaks of mildew line the shoddy wallpaper. The 'terrace' is a glorified chicken coop. The balcony doors are bolted shut. The Wifi is fabulously expensive and then IT DOES NOT WORK. The service is clueless, unprofessional and downright rude. If you want to avoid the big casino hotels, your better choice would be to sleep on the street. Our entire group left after one night and we spent the remaining six in Casa Real [see review], which is in a worse area, is a smoke-friendly establishment and yet a THOUSAND times better than the Riviera [i.e. Ritz]

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Yes it may be a little older than the swankier hotels in Macau but one cannot deny its charm especially the view from our room of the Macau tower and the bridge.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: No.7-13 Rua Comendador Kou Ho Neng, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Macau Peninsula
Macau Peninsula Ritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.