We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lisboa Hotel to your Saves list
Lisboa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-4 Avenida De Lisboa, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Macau
4.0 of 5 stars 801 Reviews
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Value hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is the only reasonably priced hotel in Macau that has everything that a 4 star hotel should have. Great service, ask for the Chinese lady at the front desk that's from the UK for proper English. Lots of good restaurants in the lobby and basement. Watch out about the basement if you're a single guy...lots of prostitutes from 11am on. They never bothered me with my girlfriend. The shuttle bus from the ferry terminal can be a pain, but just take the bus to the Wynn and walk across under the road to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    419
    106
    17
    3
See reviews for
91
153
107
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel was a highlight of Macau - which was interesting because of the Portuguese influence and architecture, but otherwise dingy, crowded, unfriendly. Our room was wonderful - they could not give us a non-smoking room that we reserved so I don't know if we were upgraded BUT the room was SO nice. A little ornate but lovely - a big drapey king bed, our son napped right in the middle of it while we enjoyed the sitting area furniture and TV, complimentary mini bar and luxurious bathroom! What a great shower, nice towels + robes; and HERMES bath products. I did not want to leave the room.
The service was very friendly, very prompt. We did room service breakfast the next morning which was great with our toddler because he could run around while we drank wonderful coffee (not typical in China!) (food was fine, not great) and took long showers with a rain shower head, massagers, water pressure and did I mention Hermes products? The gaudy lobby was fun, very clean and in pristine condition if a little over the top. Room was very quiet and dark and never smelled like cigarette smoke. Would stay again although we likely won't go back. But if you go, do stay here!
I did not have time to check out the pool or facilities. Also there seemed to be prostitutes walking back & forth on the bottom floor corridor but they were very pretty and my toddler (boy) enjoyed saying "hi" to all the pretty girls! Didn't bother us. It was a wonderful escape from the Grand Prix and Macau.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower, 13th floor - seemed quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located right next to the Grand Lisboa which is the tallest casino in Macau. With that said, it is hard to get lost in Macau as you just have to head towards the direction of the Grand Lisboa to get back to your room.

The drinks in the room are complimentary which is great after a long flight and ferry ride over from HK. From the Macau Ferry Terminal, you can take the free shuttle that will drop you right in front of the Hotel Lisboa. Very convenient, the same shuttle will take you back to the ferry terminal so you can make it back to HK.

The rooms are big enough, the decor of the room is a little outdated but I don't mind as it is just a place to sleep. So as long as there are no bugs and clean sheets, I'm usually satisfied.

There are restaurants within the hotel itself ranging from a variety of food.

On the ground floor, you can see the working girls strutting their stuff in between the shops. They only solicit Asian people for business and for the most part stay out of your way.

The hotel is only a couple blocks away from Senado Square which is a good place to people watch and buy some fresh pastries.

I was able to book a full day tour which covers the World Heritage sites within the island.

Overall, I recommend this hotel and would stay there again. But you really only need one day in Macau unless you are into gambling. With that said, I may just book a hotel in HK and check-out/leave baggage at the hotel in HK as I go have fun in Macau. This is definitely doable as the ferry ride is only an hour and they run every 30 minutes during the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q.C.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lisboa is a very good hotel to relax in. Booked the room online and was able to get a good deal which is cheaper than other 5-star hotels nearby. We were given a free upgrade to a Royal Suite. The room is clean, comfortable, has free wifi and mini-bar and really good Hermes toiletries. There was a faint smell of smoke but I guess this is the normal smell of the rooms in Macau considering the numerous smokers out in every casino.The shops in the hotel are few and sell mostly jewelries. We didn't try the restaurants in the hotel since we didn't find them interesting or within our budget. If you want more restaurant choices, its easy to cross to Grand Lisboa using their undergound tunnel. Try Congee and noodle Corner at Grand Lisboa which is open 24 hrs. The hotel is also near Senado Square- a bit far to walk though but if you want to go to other hotels at Cotai, you can easily use the shuttle buses of Galaxy or City of Dreams which have stations about 1-2 blocks away. We enjoyed our stay at Lisboa and would consider coming back if we get a good deal again.

Room Tip: Request for a room near the elevator so you don't have to walk that far going in and out the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The service at Hotel Lisboa was very good. From housekeeping, to bellboy to reception- everyone was very friendly, helpful and competent.

The rooms though- disappointing. The interior is just way too corny and it looks like in a portuguese grandma's house. I'd expect a little bit more elegance from the Lisboa hotel.
Another turn-off was that the walls are too thin. The coughing of the neighbour, his TV, everything could be very well heard in our room and didn't help much trying to find some sleep.

The Lisboa is not a place that raised the desire in me to come back. From a hotel experience I expect more of the whole package and the lobby, elevators, room decoration, etc... just were too average for my taste and lacked of elegance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

You know what they say - when in Rome do what the Romans do.

We decided to stay at Lisboa Hotel, the poorer sister of Grand Lisboa. Don't worry, there is no chance mistaking the two. All you have to do is look at the room prices. We opted for the Royal tower room (not by choice - we were slow in booking) which turned out to be a blessing in disguise. On our way to our rooms, we passed by what I imagine would be the Superior rooms which I thought were a tad narrow and small. If you tend to get lost easily, you might want to think twice about staying here, the place is a maze. Even with my spidey senses, I still got lost.

The main reason we picked Lisboa Hotel was because of its location and the fact that it is 'local'. Trust me, it is very local. The bathroom looks like a space ship. Water jets and rainbow colours everywhere. The design is borderline quirky and tacky but the quality of the furnishings is fairly good. They use Hermes toiletries, drinks in the bar fridge are free and so is Wifi internet.

Unlike the hotels in the Cotai Strip, you are right in the thick of things. Plenty of local food options and you don't have to dine in the casino complexes and pay casino prices. Very local feel.

If you have done your research, plenty of people would have written about the 'show' in the basement floor. All I can say is don't bring your kids. Otherwise, it makes for an interesting spectacle. If this type of thing bothers you, just avoid the basement floor and you would not be the wiser.

All in all, four stars. It makes for an interesting stay. Definitely not your run of the mill hotel, rooms are quirky, clean and functional - no complaints other than perhaps the bed and sofa are not that comfortable. Location is gold. If you are here with a bunch of mates, Lisboa Hotel is worth considering. One last tip - if you arrive in Macau by ferry, use the free bus shuttle to Grand Lisboa. It is just across the street from Lisboa Hotel. We conveniently assume since they are sister hotels that is fine.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night. We slept in a deluxe room on the west wing. The location of the hotel is pretty good. Just a couple of minutes away from the ferry terminal and near other nice hotels like the Wynn and some good shopping malls. The lobby is (like the rest of the hotel) is one of the kitschiest lobby's I have ever seen. The service at the front desk was good. The room is small and has the same insane style as the rest of the hotel. We liked it as it is a nice change from other hotels. The bathroom is the "highlight" of the room. It looks like a blingy spaceship with a shower that looks like a capsule. All the fun aside I do find that the room didn't live up to it's price. We payed $130 for a one night stay and expected better. We did not make use of other hotel facilities, so can't anything about that. Conclusion: "fun" hotel but overpriced.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Hotel

Address: 2-4 Avenida De Lisboa, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#18 Family Hotel in Macau
#19 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#19 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lisboa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 927
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Hotel Macau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisboa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.