We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice alternative oasis in a sea of asian cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Cafe

Hard Rock Cafe
Rotunda do Istmo, City of Dreams, Cotai Strip, Macau, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 368 Restaurants in Macau
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Hard Rock Cafe is the only place in Macau to enjoy authentic American food with live music and precious rock ‘n’ roll memorabilia. Guests of Hard Rock Cafe Macau can enjoy fresh, high-quality American-style menu items as well as regional favorites. In addition to food, Hard Rock Cafe’s extensive, award-winning drink menu includes signature favorites, aromatic coffees and cocktails.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A nice alternative oasis in a sea of asian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Dont get me wrong, I love asian cuisine, but every now and then, a kiwi likes something a bit more comforting and reminiscent - ish, of home.
We ate here several times. The standard of food is fantastic, the beer choices great, the service so good they not only remember your drinks order from the previous round, but the previous night.
The video clips were horrible the first night. I think a lot of hard rock in the last fifteen or so years is rubbish in comparison to the Led Zeppelins, Uriah Heeps, Deep Purple, etc of days gone by, when a tune was a tune, and no it does not help by chucking in a Mariah Carey song in between System of a Down and Blink 123, but apart from that night, the music was good, and so was the live band, from Portugal, with a fine selection of contemporary material to satisfy everyone. The meals are big, but you can have an entree instead (no, America, you are not right, an entree is an entree, and not the main course) and they are tasty and reasonably priced. Over a few nights we had a variety of the menu and all were good.
So, nothing much else to say, dont go there if you want peace and quiet, but for a good time musically, decor wise and of course for food, drink and service, you cant go wrong.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland D, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for an excellent review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our food, the service and the live band. We will definitely share your compliments to the rest of the team.
Appreciated your comment with regards to our video clips, and to make your next visit more fun, we encourage you to request your favorite classic rock songs included in our playlist.
Thanking you once more and looking forward to rock your world in Hard Rock Cafe-Macau or in one of the Hard Rock Cafe worldwide.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    68
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“cosy place for couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This cafe is like a Resto-Bar. The Bartenders are very friendly. Once you get a drink from them then next time you don't have to remind them what you are taking.That is what I call personal attention to customers. The most attractive thing about this cafe is that every day they have a different Band from different cultures and people enjoy dancing to their lovely tunes.The atmosphere is so lively that you don't know when the night has come to an end. People visiting Macao must spend sometime at this friendly cafe.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland D, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a very good review. Glad to hear you had a great time with us. The bartenders and the band will surely be pleased to hear your compliments. Looking forward on your next visit. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Familiarity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

European visitors to Macau soon find that Macau really is geared towards the Asian Gambler (and quite rightly so), so a Hard Rock Café really is an oasis of familiarity. The Hard Rock Café offers the consistency found in HRC's the world over - super friendly and efficient staff, (thank you Cornel) good meals and drinks, all at reasonable prices.
The real bonus is the music - always great. On the two nights we visited, the same band (not sure of their name, but 5 young Portuguese, 4 guys and a girl) were excellent.

Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland D, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous compliments and for your continued support and belief in our brand. The staff will surely be so delighted to hear your commendations especially your server and the band members. We look forward to having you back in your next visit in Macau. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legaspi, Philippines
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Great Hard Rock Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

It was my birthday (August 24) when me and my friends dined at the Hard Rock Macau.
We were courteously escorted to our seats and was perfectly attended to by the very polite waiters and waitresses.
Food was great American classic as we had a number of foods ordered like the Hawaiian chicken, Caesar's salad, minestrone soup, porkloin, cavatappi and a lot more.
I had this feeling that one of my friends have told the waiters that It was my birthday and after lunch, a bunch of Hard Rock Crew came out with an an ice cream goblet and shouted over the entire dinning hall -- Hello everybody!!!! Its Ricoy's birthday today!! And they all sang the birthday song for me.
Little things like this made my birthday really a special one. And I will never forget this wonderful and memorable experience.
To Hard Rock Macau, thank you very much!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaspal G, Assistant General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for your nice review and we are thrilled that you had a great time at our café.

We shall also forward your commendations to all our staff.

Thanking you once more and looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“...Music...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

City of dreams Hard Rock hotel, Hard Rock Cafe.
The burgers are excellent but not enough freedom fries, the spare ribs is good but not enough french fries and the plate of nachos is way oversized...
The drinks are well prepared and the beer is served at the right temperature (who cares).

The music seems to be the issue in this place...
Note that my friends and i went out for the beer festival in Macau side and have found a local band named GRAVITY...or something like that... i spoke to the lead singer and asked him why he was not playing live every night at Hard rock cafe...(being really corky, i think it's where they should be playing)
HRH management should interview those guys, they are simply good.
We all know that Budget is one thing but Revenue is an other.
By having those guys onboard this might change the deal and vibe of this house...not to disregard the other bands but this band rocks.

After all, my review is not really fair, but in a city like Macau, Classic good place like Hard Rock Cafe should have the right entertainment for the guests...
My comment is based on pure luck and curiosity...
Maybe the Hard Rock Hotel management should open their eyes and stay real by walking around this small city in order to discover new talent or people with passion who could input real entertainment in this casino ready to invest in this area.

Thanks again for your service and dinning culture but please try to make it more attractive with people which are not just there ...ticking around...
Cheers...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaspal G, Assistant General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for your passion and for your patronage. Glad to hear you had a good time and liked our food.

Also thanks for letting us know where we obviously have to direct some additional attention in our ongoing training with kitchen team.

We hope that this experience has not affected too much your passion for Hard Rock Cafe, and we look forward to welcoming you back in Macau or one of our over 150 Cafes worldwide soon.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe also viewed

Macau, Macau Region
Macau, Macau Region
 
Macau, Macau Region
Macau, Macau Region
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.