We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Senhora De Esperanca S/N Taipa, Macau, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 85 hotels in Macau
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Macau Cotai Central. The Holiday Inn is a part of a massive development which encompasses a Conrad and a yet-to-open Sheraton. The hotel is located opposite the Venetian and Four Season Macau and adjacent the 'City of Dreams' which houses the Grand Hyatt, The Hard Rock Hotel and 2 other hotels. Staying at the Holiday Inn hotel gave me access to a number of shopping, dining and gaming options all within walking distance of each other.
The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service from the ferry terminal and airport at regular intervals. The front desk at the hotel is super efficient. Despite my stay over a busy weekend my check in and check out barely took a few minutes. The house keeping of the hotel is very good. The hotel has many dining options. The food and presentation at the much hyped Dynasty 8 restaurant was below expectation. The service was however prompt. I had breakfast at the Xin restaurant and it was an average buffet. The egg station ran out of cheese and to my amazement the chef did not make an effort to call in some supplies. I had my omlette without cheese! The hotel lacks personalisation. In my reservation, I had asked for wine glasses to be placed in my room. Despite the instruction available with the hotel, the wine glasses were not in my room. Soon after I checked in I called in for tea bag sachets of Darjeeling or English breakfast tea. The replenishment never had these options available. I had to call in for my choice of tea every time. There is no system of tracking guest preferences at the hotel. The room is basic. The pillows are uncomfortable. The shower experience was bad due to inadequate water pressure. My expectations for good service was high as the rates of the hotel were comparable to other five star options where I would expect a high level of service. There was much to be desired in the overall experience. Poor value for money for a brand like Holiday inn which screams VFM.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    184
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
116
110
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Was really surprised to see a new face of HI. Although rich infrastructure is mainly shared with Conrad and Sands Cotai, which is quite typical for Macau, but not typical for Holiday Inn - still, accessibility is more, than just good - shops, restaurants, cinemas (not to mention casino - but it wasn't a purpose of our visit). Rooms/floors deco is also quite different from typical renovated Holiday Inn. Staff is very friendly and professional - I hope, that professional level of employees@mainland Holiday Inn properties would be on same level one day.
Negatives - paid inroom internet access, tiny bathtub(only my legs would fit(partly)).
Free shuttles from/to Macau Central ferry and Cotai ferry terminals every 15 minutes; if you want to get to a historical centre of Macau, you'd better use City Of Dreams shuttles (just across the street, near Hard Rock hotel)- they would take you to Grand Lisboa surroundings.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is an New hotel part of the Sands Cotai Central Complex .
Being an Priority Club Gold Member Check in took 45 minutesCheck in took 45 minutes due to an confusion between the reservations and the front desk .

The hotel has an casino . There are continous entertainment like magic shows etc near the God Of Fortune . The higher floor rooms are good .

The breakfast was at Grand Orbit and was very good . The staff was not corteous .
The people in the front asked me for the key card etc and after that 6 people asked me during the course of my brekfast for the room details .
The second day 3 people asked me and i just refused to give me my room no.

Room Tip: Take the high raise room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my family for 1 night on 27/5. I am delighted to get an upgrade to a larger room and it looks clean and modern in its first glance. Yet, when we use the toilet, it gets stuck and cannot flush. The toilet water go out and overflow to the floor. We requested for fixing and cleaning and the staff came in about 10 minutes (which I think is acceptable). Yet, after fixing, the cleaning staff only clean for about 1 minute (use a towel to dry but not really "clean" the toilet and the floor). I think that is unacceptable. When we leave the room, we see another staff taking a toilet pump and going inside another room. I think it is common and there must be some problem with the hotel drainage system.

About the pool, it is really great as there are about 6 with several jacuzzi. I am most impressed that there are 1 warm water pool and some hot water jacuzzi. They are just perfect for family with kids. However, the shower area in female changing room have the same problem in the drainage. The water cannot go away smoothly and there is always over 1 inch of water "staying" on the floor.

Can the managaement spot this problem ??

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

check in with Priority Club membership therefore no need to line-up, otherwise, need to wait for more than 30 guest.
Nice room with good mattress and two choice of pillows (hard or firm).
good pool area with two hot jacuzzi and one heated pool, the rest are normal pools. Gym with sauna. Staffs at gym & pool areas are extremely attentive.
Should be a lot of choice for the free breakfast as its buffet, but the refilling phase are unacceptably slow, the buffet line is only fill by empty plates, waitrers are busily dealing with compliants of no food and lack time to collect used dishes from guests' table. Once a while when chef came up with a small dish of re-fills everyone rush forward to try to grap some. Its pathetic to happen in such a new nice hotel.

Room Tip: standard rooms normally got only one King bed with no nice view (my room on high floor only with vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This has to be the best quality Holiday Inn in the world and i wasn't expecting it to be so good. The hotel is part of Sands Cotai Central that has a shopping mall (level 1 was only open out of what looked like 3 levels), restaurants and a casino, although the casino is not in the Holiday Inn but next to it. We had a Double Double Superior room with our 2 kids and the front desk advised us that the room is 37sqm and you can tell as larger than most luxury hotels in Hong Kong!
Everything worked like clock work in the room with separate shower and bath yet the later is great for kids but not adults...hey but who stays in a Holiday Inn for a bath! The Superior rooms look directly into the Sheraton so if you spend time in your room get a City View room. The pool deck is massive with 5 smaller pools overlooking The Venetian and I loved the gym which was fully stocked with Technogym equipment. Was directed to breakfast in Grand Orbit which was operated by Conrad. The staff could do with a bit more ownership but this is not uncommon in China. Whoever says this place is overpriced is crazy as it is probably the best value hotel on Cotai.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a City View room with view over City of Dreams and to Taipa Village
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

No matter how Mr Jack LIM impressed me much with his supreme customer service, his effort was totally ruined by his seniors. It is ironical for the performance of frontline staff is far better than his senior. I am very lucky to have Mr LIM helped me to find a wheelchair accessible room for my mother within a short period of time (from my booking to confirmation) night before my check-in.

The rigidity of management could be shown by the extremely long waiting time for check-in. Why? The front desk staff are required to ask every guest of the room to show his/her identity card!! One representative of a family of four was not allowed!!!

The room is perfect and the bed is comfortable. However, when I asked whether I would be served with welcome fruit as a gold member of Priority Club, surprisingly, the answer was No. Instead I was offered a local newspaper. I challenged Mr Erik LI, the duty manager, why the hotel could not provide Hong Kong newspaper, he offered me a late check out. I told him that I had already been offered late check out at 1p.m. He then suggested to be 2 p.m. I counterproposed with 3 p.m. He accepted. However, on the check-out day, my mother fainted and fell to the ground from the wheelchair in the early morning at the lobby of the Venetican Hotel. She was then rushed to the hospital and we returned to the hotel around 1 p.m. My mother was so tired that she fell to sleep immediately. I then asked the front desk officer whether we would stay one or two more hours in such special circumstances. Mr LI, only assigned his junior to reject my special request. I therefore had to wake up my mother around half past two from her sleep. Mr LI was so apathetic to the physical fragility and ailment of my 87 years old mother simply ruined my good impression of the hotel group. Definitely, he showed not a gesture of concern.

Room Tip: the view of 9/F is extremely poor especially with the renovation work of the nearby Sheraton Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest C, Manager at Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. It's only through positive criticism such as yours that we are able to improve and maintain the standards of service. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured that we have addressed this matter to the person and the departments concerned to avoid any recurrence. Should you have any further comments, please feel free to contact me directly at ernest.cheng@ihg.com

Best regards

Ernest Cheng
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central

Address: Senhora De Esperanca S/N Taipa, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 85 hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.