We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“becoming a ghost town” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Macau Fisherman's Wharf

Macau Fisherman's Wharf
Outer Harbor, Macau, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 193 things to do in Macau
Attraction details
hong kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“becoming a ghost town”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place has become a ghost town, most of the shop space is closed and the ones that remain have hardly any customers. We were there on a Sunday afternoon and it was almost empty of people. Can not imagine how the remaining businesses there will survive. Pretty depressing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    43
    27
    14
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“awesome place for photo-ops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

it's a quick 10-minute walk from the macau ferry terminal. we were there at about 11 am on a thursday and we had the place literally to ourselves. there was no entrance fee and during that time, the shops were still closed. it was some sort of a theme park, and for us, the best attraction was the area around the replica of the coliseum. the best thing about this place is the excellent photo opportunity it offers, especially if you come early in the morning. it's a very picturesque location and a perfect jump-off on your day trip to macau. don't go there expecting for some action because you'll surely be disappointed. but if you're for the sights and vistas, then you'll surely be delighted.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Stay Away !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Came on a day trip from Hong Kong to see Macau and went in this place by the ferry terminal. Most of it is closed down and looks tawdry. We only found one Japanese restaurant open and the service was appallingly slow despite only half a dozen people in it.

Macau itself isn't much better and a bit down at heel. The only people coming to Macau are gamblers who are transferred straight from the ferry to their casino.

We stayed a couple of hours in Macau and got an early ferry back to HK ! Never again !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“oh dear you just wasted my time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

is it opening or closing. so many of the shops were vacant. made me really sad that all this money was spent and then the outcome was this. pull it down or do something. As it stands its a good place for 3 photos but thats it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Vic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place failed bigger than you could ever imagine possible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

If your ever in HKG, stay in HKG! What a waste of energy. Unless you want to gamble in Las Vegas's ugly little sister, there's no reason to visit this place. I thought I was stuck in the Simpsons episode where they travel to the world fair only to find a ghost town or a US military nuclear testing ground.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macau Fisherman's Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Macau Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macau Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.