We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely come back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Galaxy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida de Cotai, Cotai, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 85 hotels in Macau
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Will definitely come back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Facilities are new and not as smokey as other hotels. Casino is separated into smoking and non smoking area, which is very much to our liking. Hotel is right opposite the old street. We also love the wave pool!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello Dancingmocha,
I understand that there are many travel options when visiting this city and we sincerely appreciate and thank you for choosing Galaxy Hotel to host you during your most recent visit. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our facilities especially the wave pool and found the hotel is conveniently located near the old Taipa. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to your return.
Warmest regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    569
    307
    62
    16
    15
See reviews for
293
251
50
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at the Galaxy for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. It is a beautiful hotel on the inside and outside with a beautiful garden towards the back and a spectacular lobby entrance. It has several night clubs and lounges - China Rouge was beautiful - a cinema and many restaurants. The casino area is large and so there is a lot of traffic on the ground floor.

The staff was excellent, helpful, friendly and courteous. My room was very comfortable on the 20 something floor. Wi-Fi was surprisingly fast considering the very large number of guests.
The structure of the hotel reminded me a lot of the Bellagio in Vegas. The casino on the ground floor, the doormen at the elevator entrances and so on, There is a laser show every night (lights illuminating the roof and shooting in the air).

The hotel is only 10 minutes from the airport by taxi which enabled me to check out only an hour and a half before my flight.

Miss / Mrs. Stella Ao the duty manager was very nice and welcoming when I arrived.
I'll book there again when I come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Tam_Travels,
It was a pleasure to read you found the hotel lovely and that our hotel duty manager Stella was being very helpful. The staff members here at Galaxy have, and always will be, the reason for the hotels continued success and I thank you for noting this in your review. I am also very pleased to know that you enjoyed a good time at China Rouge. I have shared your review with my team here and we all look forward to welcoming you back to us.

All the best wishes,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

its gaudy, really loud colors in the lobby. the check in was pretty good the only downside was the long walk with our luggage from where the shuttle buses park to the front desk. the room decor is was bit too colorful for our taste. the mini bar was complimentary which was quite welcome. our room had a complimentary temp. membership to china rouge the nightclub at the galaxy for the night. the club is amazing and the live band playing was interactive and with excellent acts. most of the people appeared middle aged businessmen. almost all male. we had our dinner at an indian restaurant within the hotel called spice 'something' and the food was delicious. probably the best tasting indian food outside india that we have had in a long time. we also did try the much advertised indian restaurant golden peacock at venetian but this restaurant at the galaxy had definately better tasting authentic indian food. would prefer staying at the banyan tree hotel next time which is within the same galaxy complex as we found its lobby and vibes far superior.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear jandeep,
I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We value and appreciate your comments. Sounds like you had a good time at China Rouge and great dinner at the Spice Garden. I will be sure to share your notes regarding the decoration in the lobby and your room. Only through honest feedback from guest like your good self, we will be able to reflect and keep continuous improvement on our property. We hope to be able to welcome you back and once again to meet your expectations.
With kindest regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The moment we reach Macau ferry terminal, we follow the galaxy staff to hop on the shuttle bus. The staff were helpful to help us load our luggage onto the bus. Interesting that wifi on bus. Once we reached galaxy hotel, the staff were friendly to help us look after our luggage while we checking in, once it done he follow us up and show us around. Good service, the room were big, comfort, free wifi and complementary of mini bar. Free shuttle services to other location and hotels. As compare with other hotels, galaxy is more simmering and grand. Too bad their wave pool has been close for renovation. Overall we love the place and service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear our caring staff was able to offer quick and efficient service at check in and you've enjoyed the convenience of our Shuttle Bus. We apologize for the limited service at the Grand Resort Deck during the renovation period. Rest assured, the quality and service at the resort deck located on the second floor will be at its top shape for your next visit!
Best regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We didn’t stay here but looked all around the hotel. The theme was the Smurfs with displays and play areas for the children; you could also meet the Smurf characters. There were wishing crystals that lit up with music and much more. At night there were laser lights outside. Well worth a visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hello book_yourself,
I wish to thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.
Warmest regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is nice but not great,no ambiance no life, the rooms were very mediocre like a regular 5 star , Venetian's rooms are way better much bigger and really grand. Would change back to Venetian next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,
I’m sorry to learn your stay was less than ideal when you visited the Galaxy Macau. Our hotel strives to make sure each guest’s expectations are met, while staying. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact us, as we are happy to assist you and eager to earn a 5 star review from you.
Sincerely yours,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Email: nathan.yu@galaxyentertainment.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were not given the room on time. We arrived in the hotel at 2.00 pm. We were promised that room would be ready by 3.00 pm But the room was not ready up to 5.30 pm we made complaint to the manager and then manager has upgraded our room. The room was very good. The services were good Overall experience was good except the initial experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Alpesh2000,
I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We value and appreciate your comments. I apologize for the check-in experience was not up to your expectation. I wish to assure you that the inconveniences mentioned in the review are definitely not the hotel standards and that we continue at Galaxy Hotel to do 'Whatever It Takes' to exceed the expectations of our guests. We are glad the hotel manager was able to offer the upgrade to suite. We are disappointed that we only earned a 3-stars review on your recent visit and hopefully there will be an opportunity for us to earn the other 2 stars from your next visit to Galaxy Macau.
Truly yours,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: Avenida de Cotai, Cotai, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 85 hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Galaxy Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the three hotels in Galaxy Macau, the Galaxy Hotel’s 1,500 rooms and suites represent an evolution of resort accommodations. Luxurious and beautiful, these contemporary rooms offer five-star amenities throughout and stunning views that stretch to the city or water landscape. Guests staying at Galaxy Hotel also enjoy free access to the world's largest skytop wave pool and many other recreational facilities and over 50 dining outlets at Galaxy Macau. All rooms at Galaxy Hotel afford guests a level of deep comfort that conveys a kind of respect that only a host with true Asian Heart can present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galaxy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.