We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galaxy Macau - a brilliant luxury hotel on Cotai - Macau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Galaxy Hotel to your Saves list
Galaxy Hotel
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida de Cotai, Cotai, Macau, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Macau
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Galaxy Macau - a brilliant luxury hotel on Cotai - Macau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Jaw droppingly flashy and luxuriously appointed hotel - just google this property to see why.
Rooms large and well appointed - defininetly 5 star bar the odd mark on the shower screen.
Incredible value at about $180 AUD per room/ night.
Free mini bar (initial items) was highly appreciated. Hotel is extremely grand and pool area would be hard to beat anywhere in the world. Hotel is linked to other properties and has a wide variety of restaurants on the ground floor that can be accessed by the public also. Would highly reccommend staying at this hotel if you are on a holiday as a couple or family with kids.

Room Tip: The buffet breakfast is at Fortuna on the ground floor - it has incredible range and quality of food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Austgent1,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your latest experience at Galaxy Macau. I am delighted you found the hotel luxurious in addition to liking the quality food offered at Festiva. We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests and we all look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    330
    70
    18
    16
See reviews for
314
284
57
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our original booking for the Galaxy Macau was the regular King Room... but since we arrived late at night, most of the rooms were already fully-booked.... the guy at the counter was very apologetic and was trying to find a room for us since we wanted a king-sized bed. He then, apologetically, informed us that the best room he could find is on a smoking-floor which is actually the Royal Suite floor... and did we accept it wholeheartedly!

The room was impeccable: it has a very large and elegant living room, the bedroom itself was amazing, the bathroom is very stylish: has to two counter sinks and a TV on the mirror to boot!! Internet and the mini-bar were complimentary and the service was ultra-fast! Ultimately, we felt that whatever we paid was well-worth the stay... We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: get the pick and mix package...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear lanalane924,
I am thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the upgrade to Royal Suite well worth it! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Galaxy Macau where you are treated like Royalty.

Warmest regards,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

we recently stayed two nights at the Galaxy hotel in Macau. it is an amazing hotel, very beautiful neat and clean. very comfortable rooms, good room size. the wave pool is amazing and huge! the staff here is exceptional. all of them are very helpful irrespective of whether you are staying in the hotel or not. they helped us in every way possible with our travel plans, sightseeing plans, shuttling between casinos and hotel, booking tickets for shows. over all we had a great experience and will surly be returning there!!

Room Tip: Pool Facing have a good view of the huge wave pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear AksHaY47,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us and that you found our staff being most helpful. It is truly uplifting to read such sweet words and it would be my pleasure to share with the team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Nathan
Guest Care Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A new hotel that had a nice and clean room with a good view.The hotel room provide a free mini bar with Ching Tao beer, coke, 7 up, potato chip and a bowl of cup noodle. The Room also has a free wifi, an iPhone dock and charger next to the bed. Everyone were friendly and helpful. I had a pleasant stay at Galaxy Hotel in Macau! Thank you for the wonderful trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear LSUI,
I am thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room nice with a good view. I am also very pleased to know that your experiences and opinion about Galaxy Macau is outstanding. We all look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Galaxy and truly enjoyed the great hotel with luxury amenities, excellent service and restaurants. Galaxy is great for holidays with the beach and pool features. Must see the Diamond Show at the Main Lobby (tip: every 30 mins interval). For better shopping, just take the free hotel bus to Venetian, a mere 5 mins ride. We will stay here again. Kudos to the excellent service by all staff at Galaxy Macau. Good job!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear pinkbabi,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed our service and your experience with us. We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests. We all look forward to your return.

Truly yours,
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in September 2012.

Room: We booked one standard room with King bed for my parents-in-law. We got a very good deal via the Galaxy Hotel website which included free minibar and wifi. The room itself is understated and modern. It was a decent size with glass wall into the bathroom. It was clean and well maintained (which it should be for a fairly new hotel). Included an iPhone dock and charger next to the bed.

Bathroom: Decent bathroom with separate tub and walk-in shower. Single sink though. Plenty of amenities and well thought out design-wise.

Service: Check in was surprisingly good. They saw I was queuing with my young daughter and singled us out for check in at the VIP area. Everyone was very polite and helpful. Check in took less than 10 minutes. Mentioned that it was my father-in-law's birthday and they quickly provided a free fruit plate.

Restaurants. Tried the buffet at Festiva which is associated with the hotel, LOTS of choice and very reasonably priced. Quality was ok as well.

Facilities: Didn't check out the gym or spa. The pool on the 2/F was nice with a large pool and man-made beach. Nice atmosphere with music and entertainment (fire-dancers) which gave it a bit of a beach vibe. Kidz Island (also on 2/F) was ok but not as large or interesting as Qube over at the Venetian hotel.

Location: Very good. Situated on top of the Galaxy Casino and shopping mall. Plenty of options nearby for food, gambling etc. The Galaxy hotel is slightly better situated than the Banyan Tree and Okura hotels as it is on the same side of the resort as most of the restaurants and coffee shops. This saves a bit of walking around as opposed to the other hotels from which you either have to cross the casino floor or take the long way round past the main entrance hall (a good 5 - 10 mins one way) to reach the main restaurants / shops area.

Summary: A very decent 5 star hotel with good service. Didn't experience any of the issues other reviewers have mentioned regarding long check in times or poor service. Also, I noticed they have someone monitoring the elevator lobby entrance now, perhaps to check that normal casino players don't venture up into the hotel area.

Stayed Sept 2012, traveled with family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear JMBF,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your latest experience at Galaxy Macau. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed the atmosphere and the service exceeded your expectation. I shall pass this lovely review to the team which I am certain it will make their day! Do visit us again and enjoy the Wave Pool on your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Galaxy hotel was all I could ask for in a hotel. You get the sun, food, and comfort all in one hotel. The hotel like most other hotels on the Cotai Strip has its own network of shuttle buses to make hotel hopping, transfer to city center, and ferry pier very convenient.

The hotel has a roof top wave pool which is a joy and you can easily spend a good couple hours sun bathing and playing in the pool. Is both adult and children friendly. Plus there is plenty of space and an artificial sandy beach for the children, lots of them were having a blast. Bottled water is supplied in the area on the house. 3 Jacuzzi pools are present with a 1 meter deep regular swimming pool for swimming lengths.

Food, loads of food within the hotel mall. Pacific coffee, Spaghetti house, Festiva buffet, I never had to leave the hotel for food.

The rooms were very comfy, with a large bathroom and lovely mattress. The amenities make up a puzzle of the hotel exterior, which I thought was very cool.

There is a casino within the hotel, but as I don't gamble, I just went in for a peek. Nothing of interest to me. So travellers not keen on gambling can still enjoy the hotel itself.

The staff were very efficient and friendly, service was better than expected.

The hotel was a great place to be based in to see Macau.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,
What a great review, thank you! I am delighted you found the room comfortable and the Sky Wave Pool being adult and children friendly. We appreciate the time you took to write about your experience and that we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: Avenida de Cotai, Cotai, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Galaxy Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the three hotels in Galaxy Macau, the Galaxy Hotel’s 1,500 rooms and suites represent an evolution of resort accommodations. Luxurious and beautiful, these contemporary rooms offer five-star amenities throughout and stunning views that stretch to the city or water landscape. Guests staying at Galaxy Hotel also enjoy free access to the world's largest skytop wave pool and many other recreational facilities and over 50 dining outlets at Galaxy Macau. All rooms at Galaxy Hotel afford guests a level of deep comfort that conveys a kind of respect that only a host with true Asian Heart can present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galaxy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.