We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Macau insight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macao Museum

Macao Museum
No.112 Museum Qiandi, Macau, China
853-28357911
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$279*
and up
Private Tour: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong
Ranked #7 of 164 Attractions in Macau
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Macau, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Macau insight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Museums often provide a wonderful insight into the history, culture, stories of a city and the Macau Museum is no exception.
A social history from the Bronze Age (and astounding archaeological finds near Coloane/Taipa) across the ages to the contemporary era. Well presented, well labelled and providing insights into Macau life in the 1700's-1900's when it was a pivotal point on the oriental trading routes as well as a composite of Portuguese history and Chinese culture. There is a very good exhibition space on Level 3 if you are fortunate enough to find an insitu temporary display. Exit on Level 3 and you are on Mount Fortress with its own significant history - and providing stunning views in all directions. There are toilet facilities, escalators and a small café.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    149
    39
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

For those who love history, Macau are offering lots of great places and this Museum is one of them. You HAVE TO visit this museum if you around Senado Square. It only took 10 minutes or less of walking from the square.
The museum located in the hill, needs a little effort to reach it. But, no worries!! They provided escalator to take you uphill. Although I learnt it late. We take the hard way up, climbing dozens of stone staircase. It turns up that there are two paths leading to the top lol.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“If you're interested in Macau's history this is a must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Macau has an amazing history.. With over 400 years of Portuguese rule in a little enclave in China.. There's tons of amazing & unique history that this museum well preserved.. You will leave here understanding what took place in Macau and how it shaped it's current state.

On another note.. It's located inside an old Portuguese fort! A must see.. Monte Fort.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Impressive and panoramic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A lot of effort has gone into this ad it is fascinating for historians. The entry fee is low - about £1 - and you can spend a couple of hours there. Escalators look out of place but without them the footfall would be minimal.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“A Refreshing and Remarkably Intelligent Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a great museum, which tells a unique story. Macau is a marriage of Southern European and Chinese cultures, both of which have evolved together here for a long, long time. This museum is excitingly creative in the way it handles that subject. There's a stunningly intelligent comparative timeline of Chinese and European (with emphasis of course on Portugal) cultural development, which stimulates you to think carefully about what they're saying. There's an addictive map showing the world-wide trade routes that came together in Macau when Portugal dominated trade between Europe and Asia. There's a recreation of a 19th century street in Macau that vividly shows you how Chinese and Iberian architecture blended together to make a very colorful and livable architecture for the tropics. While I don't think the museum mentions it, that tropical blend was so functional, that when the British began building a rival port on Hong Kong, the best early buildings and the urban plan were modeled on Macau--not only for individual structures, but in a broad esplanade along the waterfront, which in Hong Kong, as in Macau, was named the Praya. The one thing that, I'm ashamed to say, I thought was most striking, was on the second floor, where the museum discusses how Portuguese and Chinese languages and cuisines combined to create the unique creole fusion that is Macau creole (Patua) and Macau's unique cuisine. You get to look at some of the classic dishes, and even though you know they're replicas, boy do they look good! Now, the reason that I'm ASHAMED to say what I just did, is that I happen to be from a city which ALSO has a unique creole patois, and a world-famous creole cuisine; New Orleans also has at least half a dozen museums about local history, and while a few may briefly mention a linguistic or culinary contribution by a specific group to our language or cooking, none of them really discusses the unique way we talk and we eat, even though that's a primary determinant of who and what we are. My hat's off to the Macau museum! Take a pass if you're only in town to gamble, but if you're here to check out the World Heritage sites, make sure you schedule an hour or two for this museum. Besides, it's a relatively easy walk uphill from the ruins of Sao Paolo, with some great views of the city from the walls of the Fortaleza do Monte.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macao Museum also viewed

 

Been to Macao Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macao Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.