We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental Macau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental Macau to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental Macau
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Dr Sun Yat Sen, Nape, Macau, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shopping and Spa Offer
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 293 Reviews
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Always brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife's idea of 'camping' is a few nights in large suite at the Mandarin Oriental Macau! Lost count how many times we've stayed here since it opened, but it is always superb!
Brilliant staff!. Love the restaurants and room service,
Unobtrusive top quality service.is a key to the success of this fine hotel. Every stay is fantastic!

Room Tip: Request a quiet non-smoking room away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    58
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
56
101
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent eight nights in Macau on a city-break holiday. I chose the Mandarin Oriental based on our previous experiences with the Mandarin Oriental in Singapore and what a wonderful choice it was. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff almost overwhelmed us with their attentiveness. We were greeted by name in the restaurants and by room staff, and seemed to form a personal relationship with those we met with frequently. Our room was fabulous, a corner position with views of the lake, the casino lights at night and the island of Taipa. They are well equipped, with Nespresso coffee machines, easily controlled aircon and excellent toiletries in the large bathrooms. At various times the staff delivered fruit and plates of local specialties such Portuguese custard tarts and pork buns for us to try. The pool is a smallish lap pool, on the shady side of the building, but it is nicely heated and the adjacent gym is well equipped. There too the staff are incredibly attentive. The spa is a pleasantly numbing experience for those wishing to wind down.
We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast from a Chinese European buffet and also ate at the hotel's excellent Chinese restaurant several nights. The lobby lounge serves a generous high tea as well. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the old part of town but out of the chaos of the main part of the city and casinos. We appreciated the peace and quiet of the location and could wander into MGM and Wynn casino hotels through the attached luxury shopping centre if we wanted a change of venue. Nothing was a problem for the hotel, including laying on a complimentary transfer to the ferry terminal for our earlier than usual departure.
Prospective guests should know that because this is a smaller hotel there is only one main restaurant as well as the lobby lounge, a smallish pool and no gardens, but the upside is personalised service, no crowd scenes in the lobby and a real haven at the end of a busy day. And as I said earlier, if you want to sit in the garden for a cocktail, walk two minutes next door to the larger and more frenetic Wynn. I'd move into the Mandarin Oriental if I could!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are smaller, though still generous with king sized beds, a chair and desk and great bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Mandarin Oriental would be my favourite chain if I could afford to stay in them more often, but as I was only in Macau for 2 days I thought I'd treat myself. It was everything you'd expect from such a classy operation, everyone was so sincerely friendly and helpful, from the reception staff to the waiters and chefs at breakfast to the spa staff everyone was marvellous. The facilities were what you'd expect, but it's the staff that really make the difference I think.
So what was the surprise? When I arrived at the Macau ferry terminal from Hong Kong I hadn't told anyone I was coming or arranged a pick up, I didn't even know which ferry I was going to catch from Hong Kong until I bought my ticket half an hour before departue. So when I was met by Simon from Mandarin Oriental who was waiting with my name on an I-Pad, it made the sort of first impression that really deserves a positive review on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: For a solo traveller the corner view room was plenty large enough. Choose a room on a high floor for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for two nights. I wish it had been longer. The hotel provided some of the best, and most attentive, service I have experienced anywhere in the world. The rooms were enormous and had every modern facility. The views were spectacular and the bar & restaurant facilities first class. I could not recommend the hotel any higher.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A wonderful experience staying here, service was brilliant. Beautiful room overlooking the bay, felt like home.Really very close to the Casinos, short walk.

Beautifully designed Hotel.

Will go back for sure!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the bay is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Mandarin Oriental Macau was probably the nicest hotel visit I have ever had.

I was impressed right from the personalized greeting at the front desk upon check in, through assistance learning about Macau from the concierge, through the shuttle back to the Ferry Terminal.

The room was fantastic and the breakfast buffet was delicious.

The service was top notch and every member of the staff I had an interaction was super-friendly and helpful. Kudos!

The only negative (very small) is that the location is not ideal if you are going to be sightseeing. However, it was good exercise walking to all the places I wanted to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Its fantastic to discover peace and harmony here at Mandarin Oriental.Room and bathroom have fantastic bay view,spacious and of high quality standard.Although lobby is not grand, it gives atmosphere of privacy and intimate.The service is excellent and the concierge is always there to help you. Breakfast is of good standard,although it ends at 10.30am,a little too soon for someone who is late to bed.The same venue as the only restaurant we had dinner one evening. Has all kinds of food.Chinese ,international etc.Food and atmosphere are ok. prices are quite reasonable. The arcade leads from the lobby to the MGM and casino and Wynn is across the street from there. We would certainly stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.But higher floor and with bay view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Macau

Address: Avenida Dr Sun Yat Sen, Nape, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Macau is ideally situated in the heart of Macau's business, entertainment and high-end retail districts, offering easy access to all major tourist sites and transport hubs. Both Macau International Airport and the Macau-China border are only 10 minutes by car, while the Hong Kong-Macau ferry terminal is just a short five-minute drive away. From here, Hong Kong's airport can be directly accessed by ferry in 45 minutes and Central Hong Kong in just one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental Macau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.