We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The original Portuguese egg tart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Stows Bakery

Lord Stows Bakery
Coloane Town Square, No.1 Rua Da Tassara, Macau, China
853-28882534
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Bakeries in Macau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Takeout
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The original Portuguese egg tart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Nice coffee, great egg tarts, shame it had no garden to enjoy them in. Set in a tidy little fishing village, it would be a shame not to do a little exploring afterwards, if only to burn off the excess tart calories?

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    116
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. Ives, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fresh from the oven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Lord Stow's Bakery in Coloane Macao is an institution. A tiny little shop with a line a customers trying to get in for their fill of delicious Portuguese tarts. The tarts are to die for! Still hot from the oven they just melt in your mouth. Everyone should take the short trip from the bright lights of Cotai across to Coloane to sample this famous bit of Macao!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Egg Tart in the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Never have been a egg tart eater, but this really wow me over. Having been born in Singapore, whereby you can experience all type of foods, including different type of egg tart, this is surely the best that I've eaten in my lifetime. There is a touching story behind this place, between husband and wife, but that's for another day. Meanwhile if you're in Macau, please do not miss the opportunity to taste the best egg tart in the world. They have another shop in the Venetian. Both taste equally good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enlightens your taste buds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I went to this plcae with high anticipation. Even though the fake environment of Venetian was a turn down for me, but I was still hoping for some good tart here. Finally I reached to the shop after asking 20 different staff people to guide me through the way.
About the food: I came here only for Egg tart, and every bite was worth it. Their age old recipe is magical and creates a perfect blend of crisp and grease in the tart. It is soft and delicious. I tried it with cappuccino and loved the combination.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I had read about Lord Stows and intended to visit their original bakery in Macao however we were short of time so went to the Venetian outlet and purchased a box of custard tarts.
They are the best we have ever eaten.

If you go to Macao you Must eat a Portugese Custard Tart from Lord Stows.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Stows Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Lord Stows Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Stows Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.