We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original Portuguese Egg Tart in Macau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Stows Bakery

Lord Stows Bakery
1 Rua Da Tassara | Coloane Town Square, Macau, China
853-28882534
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 370 Restaurants in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 293 Reviews
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Original Portuguese Egg Tart in Macau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Good taste of Egg Tart in Macau. The original shop is located in Coloane. Do not miss it once you've visited Macau. Also has a branch at The Venetian.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    97
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“More remote location, good egg tarts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We rented a car during this visit and drove to Lord Stows Bakery. The location is far away from the main area around St. Paul's and the casinos.

When we came around 1pm, we were lucky that there was no line. We got our egg tarts immediately and enjoyed them outside across the street by some benches.

Maybe because it seemed the egg tarts were not so hot when we ordered it, I prefer Margaret's. But i guess the quality and taste should be similar between the two. I would try the one that is closer to your location, as they are on opposite/different sides of Macau.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Everything that you heard about it and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Crispy, crunchy,flaky, caramelly creamy smooth divine tarts! A piece of heaven for Mop 8. Available at Coloane and at the Venetian!
Need one say more!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Mmmm i couldn't resist...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My favourite egg tarts... Try others but my heart still prefer Lord Stow. Great tasting,first i bought one for my self, then my husband said i should buy 3 dozenand we ended up eating those 3 dozen for 2 days hahaha but superbbb taste

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legaspi, Philippines
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“The best egg tart ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This sounds bias, but Lord Stows bakery has always been my favorite!! Great texture and quality superb.
I never failed to buy their popular egg tarts everytime I visit Macau or Hong Kong. Iam glad that there is Lord Stows Bakery in the Philippines!!
Great tasting!! You should try it!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Stows Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Lord Stows Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Stows Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.