We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek tranquillity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Macau

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Macau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Macau
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City of Dreams, Edtrada do Istmo, Macau, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #8 of 85 hotels in Macau
Tasmania, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Midweek tranquillity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days midweek, when the hotel is a lot quieter than at weekends. Macau is often seen primarily as the oriental Vegas, with themed mega-casinos as the big attraction, but for midweek visitors we enjoyed a relatively tranquil experience, and a good opportunity to explore the old Portuguese colony.

The Grand Hyatt is a BIG modern hotel with 2 accommodation towers rising above the City of Dreams casino and entertainment complex. Gambling is the lure that keeps Macau humming, and consequently you won't find any floors in the Club Tower with 'unlucky' numbers like '13' or anything with a '4' in it.

All of the staff that we met were wonderfully friendly and helpful. They seem to have a real gift for remembering your name and going out of their way to make sure that you have a great stay. Check-in was fast and helpful and our room was delightful – clean, spacious, well-appointed and with outstanding views across the island. The Regency Club on the 37th floor is a great oasis of calm that provides inclusive breakfast, evening drinks and food, all day refreshments, and great views although the foreground is mostly a monster construction site for the next BIG casino. The staff here were fantastic and made sure we always felt welcomed and cared for. The buffet is small but excellent, and the chefs were eager to have us enjoy their local fare. As with the rest of the hotel, being midweek the club was fairly empty but is likely to be a lot busier at weekends.

During our stay we went to the 'House of Dancing Waters' show which is on the ground floor within the same complex. The show was simply stunning – a fantastic experience which we recommend highly. Afterwards we had dinner in the adjacent Beijing Kitchen restaurant which was also a great experience with wonderful Chinese food and enthusiastic staff. Across the road is the Venetian mega-hotel with it's casinos, hundreds of shops and restaurants, and indoor canals with gondolas and singing gondoliers!

We found that the old city is much easier to find your way around than when we were last here 5 years ago. There are now good direction and interpretive signs in English and Portuguese, many of the 18th and 19th century buildings have been restored, all have free admission, and much of the world heritage area is now pedestrian-friendly. There are some useful walking-tour guides available on the internet, but the main tourist office in Senado Square was a bit disappointing and not easy to find. As with all city centres, we recommend you go early to avoid the crowds and the heat. Most tourist buildings were open at 9am although shops frequently don't open until noon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    130
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
94
135
35
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a free Hyatt night with limited selection, and we went with one night in Macau while we were in Hong Kong. Once again, I can't speak about value for dollar, but I think you can find better places in Macau.
First, the rooms were excellent. Clean, big and easy to get to. Service was ok, but with a hotel this size it is natural to assume service will slip some. The hotel is gigantic, and it is right next to a bunch of other huge hotels.
Breakfast was very good, though we had a quick dinner at the Hard Rock and it wasn't good at all. My mistake for choosing the Hard Rock, I suppose.
The real problem I have with this place was that the casino was so terrible. It wasn't that clean, and it was empty. Never seen a casino that empty before, it is chilling. Ended up going to the Wynn, mostly to get out of the cavern but also because it was the only place anyone knew that had a poker room.
Overall I say try another, though looking at prices this one looks pretty cheap. I am here to tell you it is cheap for a reason.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

As you can imagine many of the Hotels and Casinos in Macau are a bit gaudy and over done, but that's part of being in Macau or Las Vegas. I prefer a classy hotel and this Grand Hyatt is great, both this one and the one in Guangzhou are showing their new design look of wood and sophistication. Great hotel lobby cafe with live music at night and a good restaurant in the hotel too. I always take the Club tower and access to the Club lounge, which is well worth it. The Pool is also huge and heated in the winter months, and not too busy so it's a great place to relax. Most guests from Asia are in the casinos and don't use the pool, perfect to relax on the weekend. The hotel is still close to all the other big casinos such as the Venetian which is still worth a visit, but its jammed packed and for me not the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A wonderful hotel for families traveling in Macau, the Grand Hyatt offers spacious suites and wonderful service that make it a wonderful hotel for a stay in Macau. It is much quieter than the other hotels in Cotai and has an excellent free bus system that it shares with the other hotels in the City of Dreams. If you want to get away from the crowds that you will definitely find in the Venetian, and want to stay in the Cotai side, then this is definitely the hotel for you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for business for about 3 nights using all of its conference and meeting facilities. Very satisfied with the hotel. The room is huge, with separate living room and bedroom, room service were fast and surprise, surprise food was quite tasty. Everything is clean, practical (when a hotel has power point near the bed, that will get a thumbs up from me) and the staff was overall just great. From the arrival, to meetings and all through our business lunches, the service was quick, non intrusive, warm and ready to help.

If I were to comment about something, it is the hot shower. It took quite a long time before it warmed up. The bed was excellent and getting from the hotel to casinos and shopping was definitely easy. If I were to visit Macau again, Grand Hyatt is for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is located a city of dreams and it is just five minutes away from the airport.the staff was very nice and helpful.the room was infront of the swimming pool and the room was clean.there are many restaurants and some buffet restaurants.i would recommend this hotel every time I come here but there are other hotels.but I would like you to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foshan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stay in hyatt often there Quality of service is improved at the highest leve,
restaurants are good with great flavours and taste,
Recent visit was for one day only but it is so relaxing and there isala spa is my favourite.
must try, There are so many place of interest within this camp, Casino, Dancing Water Show, and the best Club in Macao ,

Room Tip: higher floors are good to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Macau

Address: City of Dreams, Edtrada do Istmo, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Macau
#6 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#10 Family Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Macau 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Macau hotel is located in the Cotai area between the islands of Coloane and Taipa, off the tip of Macau Peninsula, China. Our Cotai hotel is part of the City of Dreams urban resort integrating entertainment, dining and shopping options. The hotel features 791 rooms & suites with spectacular views over Cotai and the west banks of Pearl River.With well-equipped MICE facilities and signature restaurants, Grand Hyatt Macau hotel promises to provide magnificent services to every guest visiting the cosmopolitan cultural city of Macau.Our hotel in Cotai is easily accessible from Macau and Taipa ferry terminals, China Border Gate and Macau International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Macau Hotel Macau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Macau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.