We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Macau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Macau to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Macau
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City of Dreams, Edtrada do Istmo, Macau, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Macau
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Grand Hyatt Macau and it was just perfect! We took a corner King suite and ended up on the 27th floor! It was a fabulous room ... 69 sq meters of space. It had 3 views. One showed the development that is happening in Taipa ... not a great view as such but interesting none the less ... once a casino goes there (the Wynn) you won't be able to see the ocean or what passes for Macau International Airport. The second view was of the alternate Hyatt Tower that lights up at night ... the third view was the front that looked over the pool, the Hard Rock tower, the Venetian ... Taipa and it's development. Our every wish was catered for. It was no trouble to get a taxi. One day we ventured up into Macau to the Sofitel (which is also gorgeous!) but impossible to get a taxi! Not in the right location for the regular flow of taxis! Hyatt as part of the City of Dreams is easily identified by the taxis even if they don't speak English and this is a real bonus. Overall ... great place ... great location ... great price ... great holiday!

Room Tip: Corner suite allows all views of what's happening in Taipa specifically! Go as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    145
    42
    9
    5
See reviews for
101
147
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed in June last year. Booked through a good friend working for Hyatt, Overall I enjoyed my stay there very much. Food was excellent ! Especially the chinese restaurant and I would congratulate and recognize them for having one of the best Peking duck in Macao.

Room cleanliness and overall facilities was great. It is connected to other Hotels - Hard Rock, Crown and a street away from the Venetian and four seasons. I was upgraded to their suite last stay. I can recall the hospitality till now. This is an everlasting nostalgia. Hope they continue with the Hyatt standards. Porter and Concierges were friendly and helpful.

Despite having left my luggage inside the cab. The staff continue to follow up and keep me updated promptly. At last, I did not locate the luggage in the cab. I am fine losing it. Not their fault. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked the water dance package and chose the club deluxe king room. Our room was located at the Grand Club Tower and it was spacious and comfortable. We had dinner at Beijing Kitchen and the food is delicious. Breakfast at the club lounge has a good selection of food and was not crowded. The staff at the hotel is friendly especially the concierge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

we selected the water dance package , is a real bonus. as the hotel is within the complex.
Room is very spacious , however lots of construction around the hotel , make the view somewhat negative .. ( at least -2 )

the outdoor pool is very ordinary , I suppose everyone is in the casino , shopping and not really into pool .... ( -2 )

we asked for Non smoking rooms , when we check in is perfect no smell , But when we return at 6PM , the bed is done so the room maker have come in, but the room is full of smoking smelll .

the entrance is very GRAND ....
Resturant is in Grand Hyatt is OK , I would not call it a surprise
If you consider the Package with Water Dance then is price have beat it all !!

Room Tip: Go with the Package with Water Dance, is Perfect and bargin price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have always rated this hotel the best in Macau - great Hyatt service and attached to City of Dreams which is my favorite complex (as well as House of Dancing Water it has a really cool show on regularly called Bubbles). The rooms are always impeccable and functional, although the suite we were in didn't have a desk so not perfect if you were there on business.

The only reason for the loss of the fifth star is previously the Club Lounge was on the Ground Floor and in my view the best Club Lounge ever with a wide range of food stations in the evening cocktails. It has now moved to the 3rd floor and is more of a basic club lounge now and inferior to most that I have used with the Hyatt (particularly as compared to the incredible lounge in Hong Kong run by Jake McHugh).

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A true 5 star hotel, with sevice to match. Concierge , reception and Club Lounge staff to be complemented.
The hotel seems less "hectic" than others that we visted on our rounds on the Casinos. Reception airy was uncrowded and efficient some others had a definite market place feel to them.

We stayed in a Corner Executive Suite, magnificent views from the 30th Floor in the Club Tower.
Afternoon "happy hour" was excellent!!

Room Tip: Cub tower Suite- fantastic night views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the Club level room with access to the Club Lounge. The room was a good size and the bathroom was very spacious and modern. It is a typical Hyatt room. Nothing really stands out except for the Nespresso machine and a tea pot with choices of tea leaves.

The hotel is connected to the City of Dream mall and the Hard Rock Hotel. It's convenient if you plan to see The House of Dancing Water show.

The concierge was attentive and helpful in giving directions and booking our ferry tickets to Hong Kong airport.

Now the not so great news. The hotel is very close to the Macau airport. We were told the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus for airport pick up. We waited almost 50 minutes for the shuttle. We could have just taken a cab for the 5 minutes drive and not waste the time waiting. Upon arrival, no one was there to help with the luggage and no one directed us to check in counter. Check in was inefficient, had to wait in a long cue. There was no one greeting or acknowledging us and no sitting area can be found in the lobby.

The room we stayed in had a problem with temperature control. It was always freezing at 19 degrees even the thermostat was set at a higher temperature. Reported this problem to the front desk the next morning and they sent someone to check but didn't fix the problem until the evening after placing a second call to the front desk.

We had breakfast at the club lounge on the 3rd floor. The buffet spread was OK with eggs and waffles made to order. We have seen a more extensive buffet spread in other Hyatt hotels in Asia.

The hotel lobby is grand and there is a nice fountain. interestingly, there are workers sweeping the floor around the fountain constantly (literally from day to night) as if there is a water leak.

Overall, it is a convenient location but there is still room for this Hyatt to improve its service to match the price charged.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Macau

Address: City of Dreams, Edtrada do Istmo, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Macau
#6 Business Hotel in Macau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#9 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#15 Family Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Macau hotel is located in the Cotai area between the islands of Coloane and Taipa, off the tip of Macau Peninsula, China. Our Cotai hotel is part of the City of Dreams urban resort integrating entertainment, dining and shopping options. The hotel features 791 rooms & suites with spectacular views over Cotai and the west banks of Pearl River.With well-equipped MICE facilities and signature restaurants, Grand Hyatt Macau hotel promises to provide magnificent services to every guest visiting the cosmopolitan cultural city of Macau.Our hotel in Cotai is easily accessible from Macau and Taipa ferry terminals, China Border Gate and Macau International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hyatt Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Macau Hotel Macau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Macau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.