We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with fantastic view and many free services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Macau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Macau to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Macau
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City of Dreams, Edtrada do Istmo, Macau, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
THODW Package
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel with fantastic view and many free services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in suite 3220 on the 32rd level with a spectacular view to Hardrock hotel an the amazing Venitian. the Grand Hyatt is brand new and offers a great service with tasty decoration. It is part of the "City of Dream" complex together with Hardrock and Crown and has a joint Casino on 2 levels.

If you arrive by ferry you can use the free of charge shuttle. after the Hyatt is not situated on the "strip" you can also use their free shuttle as well. Very cool is the free wifi (unique in Macao) as well.

If you would like to gamble, use the tables on the 2nd floor. Not so crowded and quick service (all kind of free drinks).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    155
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
108
158
39
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed for three nights at this hotel and the experience was quite nice and pleasant. First, the plus points :

1. Pleasant surprise from the hotel when they upgraded us to a suite from a deluxe double room.

2. Very friendly staff at the hotel.

3. Huge property and is part of the "City of Dreams", hence connected internally through a glittering corridor called the "boulevard" to The Macau Venetian, The Hard Rock Hotel, The Crown.

4. Has shuttle bus facilities to almost all important locations in Macau. So you don't need to hire a taxi to go around.

5. The suite was big, spacious and very comfortable.

6. Food is also quite reasonable, considering that you are staying at one of the most expensive locations at Macau. For the budget tourist, there is a small Food Court within the City of Dreams complex or you can also walk down to the bigger food court at the Macau Venetian which is within a short walking distance from the hotel.

Now the slightly negative parts :

1. Hotel staff are not very fluent in English. Hence you may have to speak slowly and through sign language.

2. Food at the food court is mostly of local tastes and flavor. Hence, if you are used to the spicy variety, you may be in for some trouble.

3. Trouble for vegetarians as the breakfast spread in the hotel is mostly about pork. eggs and chicken.

4. Check you bathroom fittings. Ours were terrible !

All in all, a great hotel to stay and experience high living if you have the right budget for it .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We are on our three weeks holiday around the world, and this is the first stop.

We were pleasantly surprises how new and modern the hotel is !
The lobby and rooms are amazing.
We got upgraded to the premier room. Our double room with king size bed on the 9th floor was spacious and comfortable. The mattress is a bit hard, but it is pretty common for Chinese hotels. Our rate included free wifi access and very good breakfast.
The front desk staff and concierge are very helpful. They provided us with lots of maps, brochures and good advises on Macau.
We liked the of ourh otel - we had an opportunity to wonder narrow streets filled with locals, walk through open market, eat in one of the best local traditional noodle place.
The taxis are cheap.

We would definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher level, the view is amazing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here one night in October with three kids, occupying two adjacent suites. The rooms were in very good condition and comfortable so no complaints at all, but they are not huge and luxe as they are at the Wynn if that is what you are after. Being in Cotai, the ocean view is preceded by a large swathe of reclaimed land but we had a great view of the overall Crown complex which is pretty mind boggling already. We really enjoyed the House of Dancing Water show which is just a short walk away.

Unlike many mega hotels in Macau, the Grand Hyatt felt more intimate and provided personal service.
There were three things that really stood out and make we want to go back:

1) Room service menu actually indicated gluten-free offerings. This is very rare in Asia, but I guess Hyatt is more proactive in recognizing and catering to dietary restrictions.
2) The swimming pool is enormous, which is a real treat for a lap swimmer like me. Patio around pool could use some more features as it is rather stark.
3) Our service manager/concierge was simply outstanding. She helped us with restaurant advice, scheduling and most importantly helped me locate my iPad2 that was left behind in the room which I was sure would have disappeared.

So a big thanks to the Grand Hyatt Macau team.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed in the Cub Tower and we were upgraded to a suite which had an awesome amount of space; separate living/bar area. The suite was beautifully presented with great views across to the Hard Rock resort.

As part of the deal we had a buffet breakfast in the club lounge; there was a good range of breakfast option and the asian breakfast was great. There was also free canapes and drinks in the afternoon which we made great use of before heading out on the town.

The Grand Hyatt is located in Cotai and is part of the City of Dreams resort group. Its 10 minutes from the central part of Macau, but there's a free bus to take you there and to other resorts on Cotai.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in the Grand Deluxe King room. For the base level room it is excellent with all the furnishing including a large couch still in near-new condition and at 52 square metres it is larger than a number of Junior suites I've stayed in in other cities. The room was very quiet and it was a good space to relax in.

The main downside was probably the location for now. There is still a lot of construction going on in the area and there isn't much life nearby just yet. The Venetian is within easy walking distance and the City of Dreams complex is adjacent but neither held our interest for more than a couple of hours. The casino complexes provide a decent number of dining choices for a short stay but it would be nice to have some other local options.

That said, the more historic/tourist oriented area of the Macau Peninsula isn't too far away, about 20 minutes by taxi. There was no wait to get a taxi on either of the days and it was fairly easy getting a taxi on the return leg.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant on one morning which was fine. There was a decent selection of items and was about the quality expected from a good hotel.

Overall it was a very good stay. I think once the area is built up in years to come this may well be an attractive option, but for now I would consider other venues first.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We took a ferry from HongKong to Macau, by the time we got there, we took the CITY OF DREAMS shuttle to be dropped off at Grand Hyatt. The check in was quick & efficient, we even got 1pm late check out, knowing our flight was at 5 pm.
The lobby was awesome.
When we got to the room, we were very pleasantly surprised. It was huge. it has a living room!
beautifully decorated.
we also love the coffee machine they provide in the room.
we ordered the room service, the food was great too!
The swimming pool was awesome!!!! although I didn't have to time try it, the design was really great!
I will definitely come back to stay with this hotel.
It is only a short walk to HARD ROCK hotel, & across The Venetian.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Macau

Address: City of Dreams, Edtrada do Istmo, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Macau
#7 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#12 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#13 Family Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Macau hotel is located in the Cotai area between the islands of Coloane and Taipa, off the tip of Macau Peninsula, China. Our Cotai hotel is part of the City of Dreams urban resort integrating entertainment, dining and shopping options. The hotel features 791 rooms & suites with spectacular views over Cotai and the west banks of Pearl River.With well-equipped MICE facilities and signature restaurants, Grand Hyatt Macau hotel promises to provide magnificent services to every guest visiting the cosmopolitan cultural city of Macau.Our hotel in Cotai is easily accessible from Macau and Taipa ferry terminals, China Border Gate and Macau International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Macau Hotel Macau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Macau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.