We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin Resto in Macau. Well deserved.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antonio Restaurant

Antonio Restaurant
Rua dos Clerigos No. 7, Taipa, Macau, China
853-28999998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 370 Restaurants in Macau
3.5 of 5 stars 171 Reviews
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Taguig City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Michelin Resto in Macau. Well deserved.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Antonio was a fantastic Michelin rated restaurant that served Portugese food that was tasty, outstanding and had an old world ambience with exceptional service. They even served me a complimentary bday cake which made the night special even more. The all Filipino service crew was the icing on the cake who all took extra special care of us that night as many dinner patrons cancelled last minute so we had the place all to ourselves. Winning dishes were all that they had recommended us. Plus the whole thing of leaving one's hotel to go downtown was a welcome break from the casino scene hotels are all screaming with. A must for All visiting people.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    39
    28
    14
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A tat expensive but worth every penny. Must try is the Seafood Stew for two. A Michellin recommeded restaurant and award winning food served!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, abysmal service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went here on an overnight trip to Macau. Had booked a week in advance, when we turned up the booking had been lost. We received no apologies for this at all, we were then placed in the upstairs dining area where we were the only customers. It was hot upstairs and the waitress they sent up with us was none too happy to be serving us, curtly throwing menus on the table and ignoring us for the entirety of the meal. We felt we were missing the awesome atmosphere of downstairs.
Food was good, not great for the price. We had the Portugese style steak, a pork stew and patta negra.
I would not return, and I am somewhat failing to see what it gets in the michelin guide for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Priced according to Michelin standard, food is ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stumbled upon it when searching for a nice place to have lunch. Saw that they have the michelin mark at the entrance , so decided to give it a try.

The menu was extensive...and pricey so it is hard to decide what to order. Waitress said everything is good.... .

Decor was nice... but somehow you feel like it is a little touristic

in order to compare with the other portuguese restaurant , we ordered the traditional bacalau potato cake as a check. Then we ordered a goat cheese salad and 1 asparagus soup and thank god we only ordered these two as the seafood rice was crazily humongous..

Potato cake - okay... it has more shredded cod fish in it and that is about it.... not worth the buck

Asparagus soup- same as any local porteguese restuarant, with loads of mashed potato in it and little asparagus can be find. - more like potato soup - a rip off. ( QTY is also 2/3 of the local restaurant) -- well.. nevermind as it is not even nice.

Goat cheese salad - refreshing , nice -

seafood rice - ok. tasted good but the rice is a little soggy....However, whey do you want to serve 6 portion seafood rice to a party of 2 ? It was a torture trying to finish it and then feeling disgusted when we couldn't force down more, 2/3 of the rice was unfinished , even after our best efforts. We consider ourselves big eaters but there was still a good 2/3 left unfinished. this rice cost MOP 600

We would be happier if they charge MOP 600 and give us the right portion

When we brought this to the attention of the waitress.. she said some party of of 2 did finish it before.....so....so...what can I say..

Concluding remarks
Nice , not sure if worth the $$. Also the restaurant has no consideration of patrons psychological state when designing the menu, which is to juz to max out their profits.

Spent MOP 1200 for lunch for 2 with a potato cake, salad, soup and a giant portion of seafood rice for 6, and a sparkling water.





Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Star attraction
Deep down the real star attraction in Macau has always been the food. A hearty combination of its Portuguese roots blended with “Macanese” flare means it has truly become a culinary paradise.
Macau is home to some great Restaurants many of which have been endorsed by Michelin. One of those is Antonio’s. Owned and managed by Antonio Neves Coehlo, himself no stranger to Macau having arrived in the 70’s and quickly making a name for himself in all the right places he opened this establishment in 2008 and quickly and firmly took centre stage In Macau’s food scene. Rightly so, Antonio's commitment to fresh and authentic food certainly does support the fact he also has a mention in the Michelin guide.
The Restaurant itself seats 24 in the main downstairs area with a roof terrace for some fine alfresco dining. On our occasion to visit, being a private party of 15, Antonio provided us with the “Wine Cellar”. Located separately to the main restaurant, around the corner and downstairs it proved a haven of hospitality. A stunningly appointed table awaited us with walls lined both bottles of wine and the fascia of former wine crates it created a truly memorable setting.

Get out the sword
One of Antonio’s special treats is opening a bottle of champagne with a sword, a rare skill indeed, and quite a site to the uninitiated. This was just the start of our evening.
The Food
A picture may well paint a thousand words, however, words are not enough to describe the food. Think of the best meal you have ever had and then times it by 10 and you will get close to the food at Antonio’s. Favorite highlights being the Wet seafood rice, the goats cheese, sausages, (yes sausages) well actually I could just list the whole menu as simply being all favorite. Of particular note was the cheesecake, being the smoothest and creamiest ever possible.
All complete with Vin di prvie as selected by Antonio himself. So throw caution to the wind (and wallet) and just let Antonio suggest the wine, you wont be disappointed.
All in all one of the best dining experiences to be found in Macau and certainly well worth the trip.
Our Menu
On table: Portuguese olives, bread and butter

Starters:
• Sautéed prawns with olive oil, garlic, lemon and white wine sauce
• Assorted Portuguese Sausage and Smoked Ham
• Gratinated Goat Cheese with acacia honey
• Octopus Salad
• Mixed Salad
Main Course:
• Antonio style "Wet Seafood Rice"
• Roasted Suckling Pig served with home-made potato chips
• African Chicken served with gratinated potato
• Sautéed assorted vegetables
Desserts:
• Home made Strawberry Cheese Cake with fruit.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio Restaurant also viewed

 
Macau, Macau Region
 

Been to Antonio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antonio Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.