We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hou Kong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hou Kong Hotel to your Saves list
Hou Kong Hotel
No.1 Travessa das Virtudes, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Macau
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Plan the trip at last minute and all the hotel are fully booked so choice choose this hotel.
It is near the sofitel, so can use their shuttle bus.
The hotel is near the road and car park, very noisy.
The plug can not use. could not charge my phone. slow wifi.
Anyway, I know what I pay for and if I have chance, I would not stay in this hotel any more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HouKongHotel, 經理 at Hou Kong Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Google Translation
很抱歉讓你不舒服的感覺,目前酒店仍在改善中,相信你下次入住會有不一樣的感受,濠江酒店-Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with a package from an Airline. The location is near to a big plaza of Macau, 5 minutes by walk. When we met the person at the front desk. They cannot speak English. The room that I got was very smelly. Smell of cigarette smoke and dirt. Bed is like a wood plank covered with bed sheet.

Stay here if you don't have anything to loose. Good luck!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

- hard bed (Feel like sleeping on floor)
- dirty wall (believe that are caused by fungus....)
- smelly room (too humid & insufficient ventilation in that room)
- poor lighting in the room (cant even read!)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Hou Kong Hotel. We booked online through AirAsia Hotels. When we arrived we quickly established the management could not speak any English, which would be ok if they were not so surly and unhelpful the entire time of our stay. Our room was very noisy with street noise and the sound of rubbish truck very early each morning. The beds were like incredible uncomfortable, it felt as though we were sleeping on a concrete floor. I often sleep in budget hotels but here I felt quite unsafe at night. The windows did not shut very well and there was often commotion in the hallways.

Overall had a very terrible stay at this hotel. Luckily Macau was fantastic and we just came back at night to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Check-in only 1 old person, nice and accommodative.
Lift was not the best.
Room was clean.
Bathroom was clean.
Bed was awfully hard.

Location was very nice, near the park, near Senado Square, a lot of food near the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hou Kong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hou Kong Hotel

Address: No.1 Travessa das Virtudes, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hou Kong Hotel in Macau Macau heart to play Division I Qiguan opposite the station, and convenient transportation. Hotel Macao Hou unique building, the rooms are clean and comfortable, take a taxi to the hotel from the mark, and convenient transportation. Unique architecture, the rooms are clean and comfortable hotel opened April 1, 2007, 6-storey main building, the total number of rooms 53, and the current environment is fully upgraded rooms, and look forward to your stay, thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hou Kong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hou Kong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.