We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City of Dreams, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Macau
4.0 of 5 stars 531 Reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Bought the package through their website. It came with 2 Dancing Water and 3D Dragon Show tickets, a $100 HKD certificate to use on slot machines, complimentary breakfast or lunch buffet for 2 and a one night stay at the hotel.

The service was amazing. Right after we stepped into the lobby, the concierge helped us take our luggage and directed us to the front desk to check-in. The staffs helped us push the elevator button as we were walking towards the elevator. The front desk staffs were very friendly and helpful. Majority of the staffs could speak English fluently. They gave us a lot of information about Macau and helped us book the ferry tickets back to Hong Kong.

There was a shopping center and casino that was located in the middle where it was surrounded by the Hard Rock, Hyatt, and Crown Hotels. Unfortunately, there was nothing to see if you walked outside except other five stars hotels. But there were free shuttle buses to other casinos, airport, and sea port so it was quite convenient travelling around.

Although we only stayed for one night at the hotel, we really enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Rock' on
Connie Kaw
Manager, Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    182
    56
    18
    13
See reviews for
129
165
33
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was here for 1 night stay after 2 nights at Macau city for the Firework show. My husband and I was here to celebrate our anniversary. I booked the hotel via Agoda for Standard Room.

Location: The hotel located at happening area at Cotai Stripe. It is link between City of Dream and Crown Hotel. It is just opposite of The Venetian and Sands Cotai Central(Conrad, Sheraton and Holiday Inn Hotels). The night view of the hotel is marvelous!

They provide frequently shuttle bus to Taipa Village and Airport & Ferry Terminal.

Lobby: The reception staff are so friendly and helpful. They wear smart casual which I like the whole environment.

Room: The room is spacious with large King size bed. The decor is suit their rock style!

Bathroom: There are separate toilet and shower. The bathroom is spacious with bathtub. The amenities provided are from their Rock Spa, very nice scented.

Since we were celebrating our anniversary, the hotel prepared a special complimentary gift with a bottle of wine, a basket of fruits and Rock Chocolate. We were so touched with their hospitality and it was just wonderful and memorable for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Rock' on
Connie Kaw
Manager, Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phuket
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We are six pleplo come to stay at Hard rock Macau this week . This is a hotel with great staff, very friendly but there are two things that made the unhappy.
1.The corner suite with the party at the pool very loud voice.
2.My room booking for non-smoking but the foul smell of cigarettes a lot.
But for my next holiday I want to come back stay here again because the staff here very good .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely discouraging to know that your experience was not pleasant as we were unable to meet the basic requirement of service. Please accept my apologies that we were not able to deliver the experience you were hoping for.

We take all our guests' feedback seriously and will use it to better improve ourselves. We hope your experience with us before will not hinder you from returning to us and give us a second chance.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Hotel Macau.

Rock' on
Connie Kaw
Manager, Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the moment you walk in to the reception area and you're greeted by casual but smartly dressed staff with smiles, helpful tips etc, whilst you're waiting, you know you're in safe hands.
Theyre chatty, friendly and do everything they can to make your stay memorable. The hotel is round so your rooms are quite unique, brilliantly appointed, wifi and internet free, huge bed, fantastic view, and not small. They even have staff to help you into your lift and they are very safety and security conscious as those same people, whilst helping you are actually checking you out to make sure there are no baddies trying to enter the lift without their room keys. Everything is signposted, floors are themed (ours was David Bowie - yeah!). Room service and housekeeping staff are unobtrusive and the concierge staff amazing. We loved the Hard Rock shops and the Hard Rock Cafe with its very accomplished house band, and there are a hoste of other restaurants close by in the City of Dreams complex (which this hotel is part of) to choose from. It is just a five minute walk to the Canal Shoppes of the Venetian complex and Casino, plus if you dont want to go anywhere there are some top shelf shops and a Casino right next door. Shows are hard to book as they are sold out in advance. So best to book before you arrive, we missed out but there was still so much to do we had a ball. Serious gamblers would probably be happy with 2 days, we got a great deal (plus a free bottle if red and some chockies and fruit as a wedding present) so stayed 4 which gave us time to explore the main city as well, a short free bus ride away. Our gambling time was minimal. Just a word of warning, if youre old fashioned, boring, hate contemporary music, or object to being served by youth, then this place is not for you. Im 64, a musician and loved it!

Room Tip: When you arrive on the ferry dont let the helpful Macau tourist people place you on the Venetian bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Rock' on
Connie Kaw
Manager, Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked for 2 nights with my brother and mother. The corner suite was ready when we checked in around 11.30am, the hotel reception was very friendly and helpful.
We love the music memorabilia around the hotel.

The room smell nice upon entering. The 2 big TVs was on, which we think is a waste of energy.
One big turn-off was we returned to the room at around 3pm, we were surprised to see that the room was still not cleaned, we did put on the sign "Get my stage ready" which mean Please clean room.
We called the guest service and the room was finally cleaned around 4pm.

The room layout was weird. The wash basin was in front of the bed and the toilet was another stand alone room without any wash basin, which we think was inconvenience.

The glass panel around the bathroom was actually translucent, you can see the person having the bath inside which we don't feel comfortable especially when you travel with family.

Upon checkout, once again, the guys at the lobby area was great, they helped us the taxi & luggage. Thumb up for them.

Overall, average experience with Hard Rock Hotel Macau.

Room Tip: Ask for a Venetian view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely discouraging to know that your experience was not pleasant as we were unable to meet the basic requirement of service. Please accept my apologies that we were not able to deliver the experience you were hoping for.

We take all our guests' feedback seriously and will use it to better improve ourselves. We hope your experience with us before will not hinder you from returning to us and give us a second chance.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Hotel Macau.

Rock' on
Connie Kaw
Manager, Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I booked into the Hard Rock with my husband, sister-in-law (all over 50 years old) and niece (18 years old) who were visiting from the US (two rooms). The price included tickets to House of Dancing Water and four breakfasts (or lunches) and was very reasonable as we had seats in the 5th row. They loved the live music at the Cafe after the show and the buffet breakfast was excellent.

Of course, it's a theme hotel and the constant music was a little tiring but that's part of the appeal. Check-in and check-out were unneccessarily complicated but the staff tried very hard and even located a Thai restaurant for us for lunch when we checked out. They were unable to accomodate our request for one room with two beds. Despite the no smoking sign, our room reaked of smoke which I expect is a constant problem for them because of the mainlanders. Room amenities were adequate but where were the lava lamps? Come on guys, how hard is that?

The pool is really nice and since it was during the week, it was not crowded at all. Real sand, inner tubes for floating, a swim-up bar, it's hard not to enjoy that.

For the price, this was perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: Insist on non-smoking and change if it smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the hotel with my husband and our 11-yr old son. The location is just perfect for tourist-y stuff, the hotel itself included! Staff were all gracious, accomodating and always with a ready smile that we never once hesitated to approach everytime we needed something to ask. We were able to cover on foot the entire strip and across in so much awe. Everything was just perfect! This was how my son described our stay: "We are treated like royalty here, mom!"
He sounded funny but then again, there's truth to it :-)

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view, which can be arranged prior to arrival with zero hassle a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Rock' on
Connie Kaw
Manager, Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel

Address: City of Dreams, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the rock ‘n’ roll lifestyle right hereA hotel with attitude, Hard Rock Hotel Macau entertains guests' dreams of a rock 'n' roll lifestyle. Check into any of our 322 guest rooms including two ultra-chic and luxurious Rock Star Suites, take in the stunning views of Cotai, and soak in the atmosphere in the guitar-shaped pool, the hotspot for parties and entertainment. It's 24-7 indulgence and everyone's invited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.