We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City of Dreams, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Macau
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here Jan 2013 with my 2 sisters. The room they gave us was great! It was really big with 2 double beds and seperate bath and toilet. The view from our room overlooks the city. The hotel offers daily buffet breakfast. The staff were great (a lot of Filipinos). The hotel has a mall below it so shopping is quite convenient (though pricey). We were also given free tickets to the House of Dancing Dragons which was very very nice. There is a place to leave your kids if you want to go gamble at the casino-- almost every hotel has a casino. The projected mermaids at the lobby is also amusing. The hotel also offered free shuttle bus to almost all tourist attractions in the city. Though its not on the city district, it still is great since the view during travel is a must see. The whole time I was in this hotel, I did not spend any money for transportation. There's McDonalds at the 2nd floor and a food court as well. Don't buy water from anywhere in the vicinity since its quite expensive, better buy from the city and bring it back t the hotel after a tourist's day out :)

Overall, the experience, and the hotel, are TWO THUMBS UP!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Take Time to be Kind
Connie Kaw
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    174
    55
    18
    13
See reviews for
126
155
32
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I didn't stay there, but I don't think of ever staying there at all.
Without having to stay there, their service is so bad already.
A bunch of us went to the splash party (their famous pool parties hosted every summer), and we lost some items. You'd think that it is pretty well organized because it isn't their first year, nor is it their first pool party. But little would you think that their briefing and training is all so badly done.
We called the hotel and got specific instructions, which the girl at the customers hotline was very helpful (this was at 5am).
When we got to the hotel at 10:30am, we wanted to check with the receptionist that we are suppose to go the security desk and not retrieve it from them. It took them 20 minutes. Not only did it take long, the service staff at the reception has a very bad attitude. Forgive a fresh grad perhaps? We then got escorted to the security desk (after 20 minutes), and had to wait another 20 minutes for the guy to call the security control room, get someone, reconfirm details etc. Even when we told them that we had to catch a ferry at 12:00pm - the receptionist at the hotel said "If you had to catch a ferry, you should've came earlier." Is this the sort of service you get at Hard Rock else where? I'm not sure as I've never stayed with this chain, but by far, as far as I know, it is one of the more well known chains with one of the worst service.

Please don't stay there, I personally do not think it's worth the price - when Sheraton next door, is a lot bigger with exquisite service, and a more ideal price. Atleast they have a magnificent swimming pool!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely discouraging to know that your experience was not pleasant as we were unable to meet the basic requirement of service. Please accept my apologies that we were not able to deliver the experience you were hoping for.

We take all our guests' feedback seriously and will use it to better improve ourselves. We hope your experience with us before will not hinder you from returning to us and give us a second chance.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Hotel Macau.

Take Time to be Kind
Connie Kaw
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel offers 5-star hospitality that paid great attention to every detail of my stay. The corner suite is spacious, except the hand basin & vanity counter adjacent to the bed (a bit odd, not my personal preference). The spa treatment is very reasonably priced; the skill of the therapist is very therapeutic and professional. The warm & friendly services from the staff truly “rocked” my stay. You can’t expect this sort of welcoming, casual and sociable service from any other hotel brands in Macao. Well done to the Hard Rock team!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Take Time to be Kind
Connie Kaw
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Worth every single penny! Highly recommended! A very warm welcoming from the front desk. Spacious, clean, free shuttle, free show, casino and those branded shop just a step away. Bring your kids to kid's city will definitely spiced up their holiday and the stay with Hard Rock! Don't forget to drop by Rock Shop too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Take Time to be Kind
Connie Kaw
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went here from HK to celebrate a friends birthday, had a great experience. The rooms were large and spacious and the Hotel itself is in the City of Dreams which ahs all the best(according to me) casinos in Macau. Would highly recommend it to anyone going to Macau.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Take Time to be Kind
Connie Kaw
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed with hubby and son, room was impressive with rich wood like furnishings. View from our room was also nice. The bed was king sized and vey comfy. What I didn't like was the bathroom which had a bath tub and shower in one and had a high step which was not safe for kids and elderly guests.. The toilet was also separate but did or have any bidet and was inconvenient.
But I liked their slippers which was rubbery and not paper. The laundry bag was also nice because it wasn't plastic bag.? The front reception and concierge were accommodating. And oh, we were given vouchers upon check in which we were able to use in the Hard Rock Shop
Other than the toilet, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: There is a food court on the 2nd floor and there were a lot of choices. McDonald was also on the 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Take Time to be Kind
Connie Kaw
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This Hard Rock hotel is located at the City of Dreams where most of the new hotels and casinos were located. Like most of the casinos in Macau, there are plenty of free shuttles take you around Macau that you do not have to worry about transportation at all. I booked a promotiion from the hotel website directly which included a corner suite and dinning credits.

When I got to the hotel around 13:30PM, the person at the front desk was polite but simply told me to come back after 15:00PM and asked to store my luggage for me without even checking if the suite was ready to go. I was a little shock about it but not a big issue since I could spend some time at one of the casino around first. After I came back around 17:00PM, my suite luckily was ready to go and check in process went smoothly. Bell person was courteous and efficient.

The design concept of the corner suite is very cool and shows you rock ’n’ roll “attitude” in a joyful way. I personally love every single piece of the furniture in the suite. There was a speaker with ipod dock for me to enjoy my favorite music and songs while staying. The bed was firm and comfortable which provides good quality sleep. You could enjoy the stunning view of City of Dreams from the floor to ceiling window. The frosted glass of the shower room provides some privacy but still quite “flirty.” The indoor slippers were very hard and thin which I did not feel comfortable wearing them.

It is also very easy to go to one of the most popular shows in Macau: The House of Dancing Water. The theater is attached with the hotel which allows you to go back to your room to fresh up before enjoying the performance. There are also a lot of memorabilia includes some famous Asian stars displaying around the hotel. It is already fun enough to take a trip inside the hotel itself to admire those memorabilia. I will definitely stay at the Hard Rock Hotel again when I visit Macau.

Room Tip: It is worth to stay at the Corner Suite. It does not cost too much more than a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. It is only through continuous and objective feedback from guests such as yourself, that we are able to review and improve upon the facilities and services that we provide to ensure that we are meeting; if not exceeding your expectations. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that each and every guest that chooses to stay or visit the Hard Rock Hotel has a memorable time.

It is definitely very motivated and encouraging to know that we have made your stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will continuously striving for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau.

Take Time to be Kind
Connie Kaw
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel

Address: City of Dreams, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the rock ‘n’ roll lifestyle right hereA hotel with attitude, Hard Rock Hotel Macau entertains guests' dreams of a rock 'n' roll lifestyle. Check into any of our 322 guest rooms including two ultra-chic and luxurious Rock Star Suites, take in the stunning views of Cotai, and soak in the atmosphere in the guitar-shaped pool, the hotspot for parties and entertainment. It's 24-7 indulgence and everyone's invited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip DaoDao and Odigeo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.