We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise and gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Real Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Real Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Real Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1118 Avenida Dr. Rodrigo Rodrigues, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 85 Hotels in Macau
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise and gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A well-run 4-star hotel that offered clean and decent rooms. Positives: Stayed in the Elite Room (which was the basic one) and must say that I was impressed by the cleanliness, layout and amenities in the room. Requested for a non-smoking floor and was able to get one. The hotel itself is in a good location - about a 10 minute leisurely walk to the Ferry Terminal where you can catch either the public buses to all the sights around Macau, or hop on to any of the hotel casino free shuttle services that takes you to every casino in Macau (mainland and Taipa/Cotai strip). So getting around was a breeze. Hotel staff were polite and helpful and spoke basic English. If you choose to walk from the hotel, then casinos such as The Sands, MGM Grand and Wynn are within a 10 minute walk, likewise Fisherman's Wharf (not much to see here though). The hotel also has an indoor pool. Good for a swim after a long day of walking. Negatives - only minor, no breakfast included in the room rate. But easily solved with hotel buffet breakfast for only 70 MOP (Macau dollars).

Room Tip: Choose rooms on higher floor to avoid traffic noise from road. 8th Floor is non-smoking floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    192
    59
    13
    6
See reviews for
39
68
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was not bad at all!!! We chose it, for it had good reviews and reasonable prices for a 4 star hotel. It is not quite “centrally located” but we found it was not too far from anywhere and getting around Macau was not difficult at all. Transport was never a problem, with plenty of buses to a multitude of destinations, and the metered taxis were cheap compared to most “western” prices. We wanted a 3 star hotel but were hesitant after reading most reviews. In the end, we were quite happy with Casa Real. Of course, we had to pay higher rates for the Friday and Saturday nights, but the same applies to all hotels in Macau. We found our room on the "non smoking floor-8" to be very comfortable, very clean and quiet. Our room was obviously refurbished and the bathroom was modernized. Sheets and towels were really "white" and very clean, and they did not smell of smoke. Curtains had good black-out, so we managed to sleep-in just about every morning. Yes, the entrance/lobby area does smell of smoke, as there is a small casino adjacent to the lobby and in casinos here smoking is accepted. Another casino area is on the second floor. The hotel is only a short walk away from the ferry terminal where you can take a one hour ferry ride to Hong Kong. The walkway to this terminal is covered over. We found walking around the hotel at night to be quite safe, even though some reviews describe the area as “seedy”. However, it just looks a little rundown in some parts and this is quite normal in most Asian cities. The area is no different to any other part of Macau. It just has less tourists walking around and that is actually a bonus. Our stay did not include breakfast but we had an extra bed added for our son and, although a bit congested, the room was still comfortable for three.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

During our two-night stay in Macau, we spent one night at The Westin Resort Macau, and the next at the Casa Real Hotel.

After checking out of the Westin, we took the free shuttle from the Westin back to the Macau ferry terminal, and then jumped on the shuttle headed to The Casa Real Hotel, which is located right on the Macau peninsula (about a 5-7 minute ride). The great thing about Macau is that taking advantage of the free hotel shuttle services that is offered from all makes it extremely easy to get from one hotel to another simply by connecting at the ferry terminal. Taxis are generally very inexpensive as well (less than $5).

I not only booked this hotel because of its close proximity to the ferry terminal, but also because I had some HotelClub member reward dollars to burn, which brought the rate down to $67 (standard rate being around $91). Granted this hotel is not the typical action-packed mega-resort casino you imagine when you think of Macau, it was a surprisingly comfortable and enjoyable stay at a great price during a holiday weekend.

Located directly across the street from a gas station, (where you can go to stock up on bottled water, beverages, and snacks), the exterior of the property looked kind of bland, so we weren’t really sure what to expect inside. Thankfully upon entering, we saw that the interior lobby and the rooms appeared to be newly renovated and furnished.

By the time we arrived, we were starved for lunch, and we originally had hopes of checking in, dropping off our bags, and then heading to the Venetian to eat at the casino noodle bar, but we were unfortunately informed that our room would not be ready for at least an hour. With not many food options nearby, we gave in and had lunch in the hotel restaurant, which was having an “Easter Buffet” lunch spread for the equivalence of about $15 a person. Lunch was nothing special, and I would only recommend it if you’re too lazy to venture elsewhere.

On the plus side, our room was absolutely perfect exceeded our expectations. The beds were comfortable, the room was immaculately clean, large, and fully-stocked with complimentary water bottles, teas, and an array of bathroom amenities. There is a hotel gym, but it is very dated and cramped; however, that did not stop me from using it.

I’d recommend that you stay away from the casino in Casa Real Hotel unless you enjoy being smothered in a sardine-like, atrocious, smoke-filled environment. No thanks – Macau has plenty of other beautiful casinos to spend time in. Overall, I’d recommend this property to those who are looking for a comfortable, affordable, and quick one-night stay in Macau, with close proximity to the Macau ferry terminal.

The bedroom was very large, spacious, and still smelled new.


Simplistic sitting area


Work desk


Bathroom was stocked with a full supply of amenities, including two toothbrushes.


Very large shower and bathtub.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Pretty good location .. very close to the Macau ferry terminal - just abt 17MOP by cab or if u dont mind waiting then a shuttle bus every 30 mins .. we preferred the cab! Hotel - clean , very comfy bed . beware iPad folks . wifi (free) avbl only in lobby. Free LAN access in rooms - thankfully I had a laptop so that wasnt a problem. for us. Slept in so didn't get a chance to test out the buffet b'fast but the one ordered through room service was pretty good and fairly reasonable.
The staff especially the doorman and the asst manager very helpful when it came to telling what places could be given a miss. People pressed for time but who still dont want to leave without tasting the egg tarts from Lord Stowe's bakery way out in Coloane , can get their fill from the branch at the Venetian. Also Fisherman's Wharf - close by walking distance .. this place looks like a ghost town .. most restaurants are closed or "opening soon" - and other than a couple of cafes and a Thai restaurant which serves up pretty decent food - not much else there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The location is super convenient to the ferries - you literally just walk to it. It's a rather seedy and ramshackle area but the cabs - metered, yay! - will take you anywhere. This hotel took our group in after a horrendous experience at Hotel Riviera Macau - see my review. So I was grateful for a decent bed, working AC and internet connection. If you can't stand the leftover cigarette smoke odor, insist on a non-smoking floor. Technically all of it is non-smoking, but the indoor smoking rules are something very recent in Macau and it strictly observed only in the most recent hotels, that opened since the ban. The operating work at the older places such as this one is "tolerance." Haven't tried the breakfast there. I just had a coffee at work.

Room Tip: Lower floors are actually not worse than higher. I got moved from 6 [I believe] to 12 [I believe] an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

we enjoyed there 2 nights and the point is that they do not exaggerate their services and the staff help us as we need.I eager to come back there and have fun more.

Room Tip: upper level have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked this hotel because it was the closest to the ferry terminal, but it turned out to be a great stay. It's around 15 minutes' walk to the other main casinos, and the old part of town. Taxis are really cheap and we got taxis to and from the casinos on the Cotai Strip.

Rooms are spacious with a comfortable bed - the bathroom is quite small but very nice and clean. Staff are helpful. There's a casino but we preferred the ones in and around the Grand Lisboa. There is a cafe in the hotel lobby which serves pastries, fruit and coffee which was nice. We paid to have the buffet breakfast every day of our stay which was a reasonable price, and had a variety of options. I'd recommend doing this as it saves walking all the way into the main town to find somewhere to eat in the mornings.

We don't usually order room service when on holiday as we prefer to try the local restaurants, but on the first night we were tired so decided to try it. I have to say that not only is it the cheapest room service menu I've ever come across, but also by far the best food. We had the Singapore noodles and a beef noodle dish, and both were delicious - even if you're not usually a fan of room service I'd really recommend it!

In terms of eating out, the best place we found was Restaurant Litoral, on Rua do Almirante Sergio. It was a little hard to find - we walked to the old town square, took a left then walked back down the parallel street, but that probably wasn't the easiest route. Our guidebook recommended it as serving the best Portuguese and Macanese food in Macau. We had the pork with saffron rice, which was delicious. We didn't get there until nearly 10pm so were about the last people there, but if you were planning on going at 7/8pm I'd advise booking.

The other great place we found was Lord Stow's Bakery in Coloane, near the town square. It's British-owned and does the best Portuguese custard tarts ('natas'). We had to wait a while for a table at lunch time but it was well worth it.

Enjoy your trip to Macau - we had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Real Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Real Hotel

Address: No.1118 Avenida Dr. Rodrigo Rodrigues, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Real Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Real Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Real Macau
Hotel Casa Real

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Real Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.