We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ole London Hotel to your Saves list
Ole London Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.4-6 Praca de Ponte e Horta, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Macau
Queenstown, NZ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The reviews were mixed for the London Hotel (as it is called in Macau) but after our teensy room in Hog Kong it was wonderful and seemed relatively spacious. We had a corner twin room on the 5th floor with a great view looking down on the square, to the harbour and across to local's tiny apartments. The shower was great with fluffy white towels, and the beds comfortable with nice sheets and good pillows. The air conditioning was only just enough, it was all in Chinese so hard to adjust or get it really blowing. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good wifi.
The location is great, close to Senado Square once we found the right way to go. Turn left from the hotel, up the steps then left again and follow that road around. You don't have to climb up hills that way as we did the first day, going via St Augustine's. The free blue bus to the Venetian and Galaxy casinos in Taipa can be caught every 20 minutes just before the Macau Masters hotel on the waterfront, just across the road from the hotel square. To return to the same place, catch the Yuet Tung pier/city centre bus.
Breakfast is cheap and OK: hard fried/boiled eggs, toast, noodles, fried rice, sliced oranges were the only fruit, tea and bean coffee from a machine.

Room Tip: The corner rooms facing the front of the hotel are sunny and have good views. The locals doing exerc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    249
    119
    23
    16
See reviews for
37
68
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I was always told if you can't say something good then say nothing............ This Hotel is in a good central location, it has walls and a roof, the room had a door a bed and ensuite. However there was no space to lay your suitcase other than the bed, bed bugs ate me alive, the tv was at 90 deg to the bed and un watchable, the reception staff were incapable of arranging a taxi to the airport or give directions or actually seem to know anything about Macau.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tian_yan, E-marketing department at Ole London Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for choosing our hotel. Since open, we have been paying great attention to sanitation. We disinfect all the rooms and public area to provide every customer a clean and comfortable environment. We are awfully sorry about what you experienced. And we'd love to take your advice and improve our service. We are looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Only 5 minutes walking distance from Ole London to Senado Square, room is clean and the staffs are very helpful. The easier way to the hotel is: from Airport / Macau Ferry Terminal, take the free shuttle bus to Venetian Hotel, and at the Venetian Hotel, find the free shuttle bus to "Yuet Tung Terminal. Ole London Hotel is just right next to the "Yuet Tung Terminal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is located in a very convenient location. Room is not small, more than enough for two person. Clean enough! And I think there is no window in the room so I could sleep till very late.
You need to climb a lil hill to go to famous attraction, but of course this is not a big matter. Famous eatery just a 5 mins walk distance.
Most of the staffs are helpful except one girl in the reception don't even want to show me her eyes when talking to me which I think this is rude!
No matter how, will recommend this hotel to my friends!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Really easy to walk to Senado Square from the hotel (5-6 minutes) and other sights. Close to local bus stops too, so easy to get around - took bus (#10A) from HK ferry terminal to the hotel, and from the hotel to the airport (#26A) with no problems. Not easy to find the hotel if you don't have clear directions, but we asked at a restaurant in the neighbourhood and they directed us (it's directly opposite a small park), and then we found it. Once we found it, it's easy to relocate, and walk to/from. Perfect location.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Room was clean - not huge, but perfectly OK. We had a double bed, and one side of it was up against a wall, but that's OK. TV had multiple channels, but only 2 in English.
Wireless (free) in the room worked fine.
Bathroom was basic but clean.
Had buffet breakfast (extra HK$30 per person) both mornings at the hotel - identical both days. It's fine (if you're vegan like us, and want healthy options, it's limited)........2 cereal choices, milk, very weak/watery orange juice, eggs (hard boiled or fried), sausage, ham, white (tasteless) bread - no brown/wholegrain bread in sight, jam, rice/noodles, basic salad (i.e. lettuce and cucumber), steamed buns. But all in all, very good value compared with eating breakfast elsewhere.
Would definitely stay here again - highly recommended for the price and compared to other options.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceduna, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My frustrations began with not being able to find the hotel. A sign at the main road will have saved me thirty minutes of wandering Macau with a case. The hotel is close to the old section and main part of the town centre. It is easy to get to the casinos via public transport.

The receptionists provided an unwelcoming first impression. While serving me, the two girls behind the desk shared a mobile phone to read texts or social media updates. Simply giving me fifteen minutes of devoted attention will have relieved the frustrations of not finding the hotel. Other than checking out, it was the only contact I had with staff in the hotel.

I stayed in a room on the first floor near the street corner. Some street noise existed, but not enough to keep me awake. The room was small, but okay and clean.

The value of the hotel is good, it’s a cheap stay in a busy city within reasonable distance to the main sites.

My suggestion to improve the hotel will be with a customer dedicated service at the reception.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Ole London Hotel in Macau is a perfect place to stay if you are looking for a more reasonable alternative that is still clean and comfortable. I've heard that it was recently renovated, and the room was definitely modern, airy and extremely clean with wooden flooring and a rain shower. Bed and pillows were really comfortable and immaculately white. Towels were white and fluffy and toiletries were provided. The room was also really nice and quiet. The location is fantastic, just a few minutes walk from the ruins of St Paul and the main square. and right on the bus route (26) to and from the airport. There is also a 7-11 and a pharmacy just by the bus-stop. Wifi was excellent.

We opted to pay the 30 HK dollars each for breakfast in the morning (as breakfasts anywhere else were more expensive) but it was a little disappointing. The fresh fruit advertised was just a plate of orange slices, and the cooked food available (eggs, sausages etc.) was totally cold. If you just want cereal, toast, tea coffee etc. it's perfect,. but if you want more it's slightly disappointing. However that being said, it was very reasonably priced compared to what we saw elsewhere. Overall it's just a small complaint.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole London Hotel

Address: No.4-6 Praca de Ponte e Horta, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ole London Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek, contemporary and very discreet, Macau Ole London Hotel is an ideal place for the sophisticated traveler.Conveniently located in the Historic Center of Macau – a World Heritage Site, the hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like the Ruins of St.Paul Church, A-Ma Temple, Ponte 16 and Avenida de Almeida Ribeiro - Macau’s commercial center. The hotel also right next to the Yuet Tung Terminal and only 15 minutes away by car from the New Macau Ferry Terminal and Barrier Gate.Surrounded by gift shops and restaurants that offer multicultural cuisines, Ole London Hotel is a perfect choice for backpackers and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Ole London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ole London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.