We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clube Militar De Macau

Clube Militar De Macau
975 Avenida da Praia Grande | Macau Peninsula, Macau, China
853-28714004
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 368 Restaurants in Macau
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kunming, China
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Late lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If one is not a member, he or she can only have lunch here after 2 p.m. If you go, please observe the unwritten dress code; it's not the place for shorts or grunge wear. Also not the place for raucous children running wild. Most of the clientele are local business and professional people.

Well prepared Portuguese fare and wine by the glass or bottle. Understated elegance in the decor. The mostly Filipino waitstaff are efficient and courteous.

They have a small lunch buffet, in addition to a la carte selections. The buffet is the most economical route to a meal here. Menu prices are not exorbitant, but lunch for two can easily cost 300 MOP or more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    32
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leiria, Portugal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place for business gatherings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I went to Clube Militar de Macau with some friends and during a specific event - Gastronomy and Wine Festival at the Military Club - with special invitation of Chef Henrique Sa Pessoa. It was a La Carte, for such a special event the dinner was quite affordable even though we enjoy a member discount. The dishes we ordered were totally inspired in the Portuguese cuisine and flavours: rolling goat cheese with purple onion compote, sea bass with pudding (farinheira, in Portuguese) and rice, lamb tenderloin and sweet rice with caramelized apple. The food was really good and service was very fast and attentive.
I really suggest this restaurant for businees gatherings, it's quite, nice and elegant decor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“It used to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having been here more than fifteen years ago, I had better memories of the food.

The place is still great with its colonial flavour and Portoguese food and wine. Still, a bit more attention with the service and with the quality of the food would be required to match my memories: for example the duck was a forgettable dish and the leek soup was very poor of taste.

Not sure if the need to wear "no plastic shoes" is really enforced any longer ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must go in Macau !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Genuine Portuguese Food, excellent wines and a unique environment. If you can only eat in one or two places in Macau this one of them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time in Macau eating Portuguese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went to Clube Militar last night for the first time. It was recommended by the hotel staff as being a very popular Portuguese restaurant. The location was great, the facilities were nice too, but the service was a bit slow, and it wasn't busy at that time. We went at about 9pm, so there were only 5 other tables full. It had been fully booked when our hotel phoned at 5pm.
Anyway, I order the Leitao Assado with chips and salad. It was nice, although the tomato was still green & the chips were like packet crisps, a bit stale too. My husband order the chef's recommendation for the day which was chicken breast stuffed with Portuguese Alheira sausage. It was dry and if it had been mine I would have sent it back, however my husband doesn't like to complain so he ate it. I did mention it to the waiter when he came to clear the tables to which he replied that it had been freshly made. Having done a Commercial Cookery course last year, I know freshly cooked from reheated.
I won't be going there again in a hurry. The chef & staff are all Phillipino too, so that was another disappointment for us.
One thing I can't complain about was the price. Having just come from Hong Kong and eating at Temple Street Markets. This was much, much better, cleaner and still cheaper

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clube Militar De Macau also viewed

Macau, Macau Region
Macau, Macau Region
 
Macau, Macau Region
Macau, Macau Region
 

Been to Clube Militar De Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clube Militar De Macau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.