We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cordial Mogan Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cordial Mogan Playa to your Saves list
Cordial Mogan Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Oldbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

my wife and i returned to this hotel this summer for our second stay and yet again we had a truly fantastic time, the hotel is stunning and is built around three pools and gardens which are kept imaculate as is the entire hotel, its cleaned every day from top to bottom, rooms are very good with maid service once a day, resturants are very good and the amount and quality of food is excellent, staff are very friendly and most speak english, german and spanish, there is loads to do within the hotel complex such as scuba diving, bowls, tennis etc, theres plenty of places to eat out side the hotel aswell and the harbour is truly lovely at night, we have just booked for 2011 so go on and try this hotel its well worth it !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,035
    503
    101
    19
    9
See reviews for
676
1,595
62
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The holiday overall was everything we expected plus more. If there was any comments it would be regarding the layout of the dining room. We seemed to have to walk a long way. For example, soup not near bread, only pudding dishes near to cheese and biscuits. Nothing major. Just a comment.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

my husband and i loved this hotel, met all our expectations and exceeded them. the room was spacious and spotless. the food choice was huge and always good. the resort was quiet and peaceful. the staff were helpful and just friendly enough. the sun loungers and towels etc were perfect. a lovely experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Very nice 4* hotel in Puerto de Mogan. Upon arrival we were welconed with a cold drink and reception staff was cery polite and helpful. The whole resort is very quite and well integrated into the landscape with lots of water features.
The two main swimming pools are huge and offer plenty of sunbeds, although the hotel was fully booked, we always got sunbeds + umbrella. We stayed in a standard room which was quite large with a huge bathroom and a proper wardrobe (hard to find nowadays). Rooms and the whole resort were spotless and very well maintained.
When it cones to dinner, choice was very good with lots of freshly prepared items, however some items do lack quality (canarian mojo= sweet& sour sauce, mexican salsa= same sauce+ onions) and dining room staff were not helpful (waitress told me to go and ask a cook where ketchup was, she wouldn't know) and quite unfriendly. As there are two sittings for dinber, staff is rather stressed, as everybody arrives at the same time.
Also Drinks are rather expensive and they charge 10€ for 2h in their tiny spa, which should be complementary in a 4+* hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilsheelan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

One of the best holiday hotels we've had the pleasure of staying at, and well on par with the five star Hyatt regency in Sharm El Sheihk we recently stayed at. On arrival, we breathed an immediate sigh of relief as the subconcious fears that we always have when staying at a new location were calmed. The reception area is themed using subtle lighting, vegetation & tiles and allows an air of relaxed sophistication. The use of mezzanine floors and plants is similar to that used at Universal Studios in Florida in their Jurassic Park area, and is lovely. It also helped that we were greeted by glasses of cava and made very welcome immediately. Once we had settled into the room, we made our way to the restaraiunt for the first of many "eyes bigger than belly" experiences. Not to overstate the point, the meals at the hotel (we stayed half-board) were superb. Excellent and varied choice at all meals...well cooked and well presented. Due to a lack of more inches on belts we quickly learned that lunches suited us better than dinner, but that didn't limit our choice to any sugnificant extent. The pool areas were well designed, relaxing, clean and with nice & firedly entertainment staff and attendants. Also, it helped enormously that wi-fi was available almost throughout the hotel...
Puerto Mogan is a cosy resort, were stocked with restaraunts and bars, and was pleasant. We will go back...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

This hotel is beautiful and I was surprised to read some of the earlier slightly negative comments! If you want a week of really good food, sun, swimming, and relaxation - this is the place to go! The standard rooms are the biggest I have ever seen, the staff are really friendly and really helpful.
The spa is gorgeous with a fabulous Manager. The whole place is immaculate with the most gorgeous gardens you will see - just beautiful. Local restaurants do close early - but you're eating in the hotel anyway! If you want nightlife, this is the last place to go. If you want a week in stunning surroundings, I couldn't recommend it highly enough,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Mogan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

After a few years without a holiday, we especially wanted to spoil ourselves and our 3 children (17, 14 and 11). We wanted good standards and excellent food. Booking at the last minute (a week before leaving) we took a risk! The hotel and staff were amazing - the staff were outstanding and extremely friendly, even with people like us who could 't speak a word of Spanish. The hotel was spotless and constantly being cleaned. Rooms were clean and the cleaning staff catered to our every need with a SMILE! We had quiet rooms (2 adjacent rooms) 5112 and 5113, which were perfect for relaxing in after a day in the sun - peaceful and immaculately clean. I am still dreaming of the food - it was excellent - we have lived in France for 17 years and hoped for high standards. We chose half board and didn't regret this at all - neither did the children. The facilities at the hotel were perfect - wonderful pools - never too busy. TOWELS were provided for the pool daily if required - we made the mistake of taking our own!!! We have standards and this hotel met them in every way - in idealic gardens too - plants were amazing! We would go back tomorrow if we could. Puerto Mogan where the hotel is located is a beautiful little port, with lovely beach and restaurants. Our only fault if any was the entertainment! If your are looking for a peaceful, relaxing holiday in BEAUTIFUL surroundings then this hotel is perfect and so is its location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cordial Mogan Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.