We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Firm Family Favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cordial Mogan Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cordial Mogan Playa to your Saves list
Cordial Mogan Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Firm Family Favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have been to the Cordial Mogan Playa on several previous occasions and it is now a firm family favourite. Our last visit was in the first week of April when we had really good weather. Our family group includes a range of ages and it has now become a tradition to celebrate our birthdays at the hotel and there is no better way of celebrating a birthday at the Los Guayres restaurant. Excellent food, wine and service is always guaranteed. The same can also be said for the buffet style breakfasts and evening meals where there is a wide range of superbly prepared foods on offer. One noteable feature of the hotel is the friendliness of the staff and the efficient way they maintain a high standard of service and hotel cleanliness. On our last visit we were really pleased to see that that the hotel has taken steps to minimise the 'towel reservation' of sunbeds which has brought a big improvement in availability. We will be back at the hotel in October to celebrate another family birthday.....can't wait !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,867
    459
    89
    18
    9
See reviews for
635
1,447
55
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent an excellent week at this lovely hotel at the beginning of April. The junior suite was perfect for our needs and set in the beautiful grounds of this complex. Having eaten to excess each evening in the buffet or hotel a la carte restaurant we were grateful for the walk back through the well kept gardens with their mature subtropical plants. The service from all staff in all areas was great and nothing was too much trouble. We certainly intend to return to the cordial Morgan player and would look no further for a location for a lazy holiday in the sun. However if you are looking for a more active environment there was plenty on offer ... We just chose to sit by the pool, read and relax taking dip in the warm pool every day.

Room Tip: We booked directly through the hotel who were extremely helpful in finding us the type of room we pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a five minute walk from a lovely beach and has an imaginative pool. The palm trees around the pool add an air of other worldliness. Rooms are clean, food is goid. A number of fitness classes are offered also. I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed for a week in early April. We had stayed at this hotel on previous occasions so we were well prepared as to what we could and could not do. The transfer coach took about 40 minutes from the airport to the hotel. The girl on reception spoke very good English and explained everything in detail and we had a champagne (cava) reception while we waited for the bell boy. We were a family of 6 ranging between the mid 50's to mum who was 85. We were delighted to be allocated 3 rooms next to one another. The rooms were reasonably sized and each had a balcony with a table and 2 chairs (there was an extra chair inside) and this proved an excellent vantage point looking over the pool area while we drank our G&T's watching the sun set - Pure bliss. We all had a good nights sleep (I needed an extra pillow which I found in the wardrobe) then it was down for breakfast. The food, which is all self service, consisted of everything you would ever want ranging from numerous fruits, cold meats and cereals to freshly cooked bacon, eggs and omelets. There was a wide range of cold drinks plus various coffees and teas and there was even Cava and Vodka? The dinner in the evening was also like a banquet with all manner of hot and cold meats as well as a choice of freshly cooked fish. They also had soups and various vegetables.The desserts were more European in nature (cold rather than hot) but I especially liked the chocolate fountain. We found the drinks waiters attentive and efficient. The hotel is situated a short 10 minute stroll, which has the slightest of inclines, to the beach and marina where there are no end of tavernas and bars. All the staff were so friendly and the complex was spotless. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked to go again in October with 4 generations of our family in the party of 8. Special mention must be afforded to Christian and Monica for there help and assistance in making this a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The West facing rooms had the optimum sun. Some of the lower rooms were shaded by the shrubs and tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a lovely Hotel, but you really need to ensure you get a room which has sunshine, those facing the pools are very good especially at a higher level. We has a very gloomy room to start with, as the Hotel is in a valley, there are no sea view rooms, but the hotel management were extremely helpful and we were moved to a lovely room with terrace overlooking the lower pool. The hotel gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Some Evening meals not so great so that was a disappointment.The evening entertainment is there if you want it, but not always good. Puerto Mogan is absolutely beautiful, with great restaurants, and bars, and only a short walk from the Hotel, we had a great 10days and I have to say we were glad we were staying in this Hotel. Would we return, yes I think we would, on a bed and breakfast basis. Thank you to the Management and staff who ensure your stay is a good one.

Room Tip: High level facing the Pools. We had 8104 lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a weeks holiday at Cordial Mogan Playa, we were very much looking forward to our second visit to the hotel and once again we were not disappointed, what an amazing place. 40 minute transfer by coach from the airport. from stepping up to reception to leaving everything was wonderful, the staff, food, facilities, everything! and 25deg in March can't be bad! Hope we can return next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I recenty spent a week at this hotel with my husband and it was a fantastic experience. The Reception Staff were very welcoming and the guy who took us with our luggage to our room, gave us such a good overview of the facilities available, I was impressed by his knowlege and speed.
The staff were always very helpful. There is something for everyone at this hotel. The start of our holiday was children free and once Easter holidays got on the way more children arrived, making the hotel very lively, but not noisy, and they were plenty of activities for them.

Although buffet style, the food was sooo good. The Chefs did a fantastic job cooking to order..

Entertainment very good.

Beach within 500 metres, lots of restaurants to choose from, all with very good food.
The beach was very clean and uncrowded with good facilities.

We took a ferry to Puerto Rico and Arguineguin and this was very enjoyable although a little pricey at 38 Euros.

The Resort was easy to get around and the weather for the time of year started off a bit cool, with lots of sun between10:30 - 4:30, however once the sun disappeared it became very cool quickly. If visiting during early April, I would strongly recommend a cardigan/jacket, if wanting to take an evening stroll.

Room Tip: All rooms get the sun, either morning or afternoon. I had a ground floor room and got plenty of sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort – the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 m2, includes about 10.300 m2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (squash, bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cordial Mogan Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.