We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cordial Mogan Playa

Save Saved
You added Cordial Mogan Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Fantastic hotel excellent food lovely rooms and superb gardens.Evening entertainment not bad but could be better some nights.Staff very helpful even though .at check in could have done with getting more info on hotel.I discovered they have a library while waiting for the bus to take me to the airport!!!!swimmimg pools very good and also cater for small children.Do not need to take pool towels,soap or shower gel as all provided,Dont know if we were lucky or not but we did not have to pay for the fridge key.Could have stayed in the hotel for the whole two weeks and not gone out it was that good.Some of the retaurants in Puerto Mogan were closed from end of June to end of August as it is their quiet period so travellers need to be aware that the winter is the busy time.The problem with the nearby apartments appears to have been resolved so although busy in the hotel we never has problems getting sunbeds at any time of the day.All nationalities staying here including a lot of locals who appear to come in for long weekends.Yes I had a great time and am definitely considering booking again for next year,it was the most relaxing holiday I have ever had and one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Liked — Foyer and atrium with the waterfalls and plants
  • Disliked — No outside bar in the evening
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,615
    425
    81
    18
    9
See reviews for
548
1249
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

This really is a lovely hotel. Visually it is stunning but also very clean. At various times I saw people polishing the pillars and even using back-to-black on the railings - way above the usual cleaning standards.

It is laid out more like a complex than a standard "block" hotel so I found it took me about 24hrs to get my bearings but they give you a little map to help and a porter takes your luggage on arrival so you can follow him. We spotted a few people who tried to do it themselves to avoid giving him a tip and we saw them wandering about later when we were already in the bar!!!

The food is very good. Yes, it is a bit of a scramble at peak times but most issues were caused by pig ignorant guests rather than the hotel itself! The fresh griddles where they do the omlettes in the morning and the fresh meat and fish at night do get a bit of a queue. The sheer selection of food is impressive though and I think even the fussiest eater would find something to enjoy!

The bar does seem a bit pricey at 6 euro for a spirit but you have to take into account the measures! They are done by eye and I reckon are at least 4 times bigger than the UK. So in that respect, they don't work out too badly. As others have said, the Dino supermarket is just opposite and forget any ideas of a run-down, manky Med supermarket - this place thinks it's Tesco!

The resort itself is beautiful but is very quiet. If you want live music and clubs, then forget what the hotel is like as you won't like the resort. What you'll find is an abundance of little bars and restaurants, some overlooking the sea or harbour, serving fab, fresh food! Check out Zoo Bar where they have a huge python! Girls, there is also a fabulous shoe shop in Mogan!!

So, all in all, if you want a laid back, quiet holiday in beautiful surroundings then both the hotel and the resort are for you!

  • Liked — Stunning, tranquil surroundings!
  • Disliked — Nothing really, Just a bit too quiet at times!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

We have just come back from a 2 week stay at Cordial Mogan Playa, we were meant to be staying in the apartments but they were not ready and so we were upgraded to half board. The hotel is gorgeous, very clean, very spacious, rooms are very comfortable but the beds were not great, thought mine would break everytime i turned over in the night. We did go and look around Cordial Mogan Valle (apartments) they are lovely, very different to the hotel as it has a very modern chic look, so if you are staying there you will not be disappointed.
The food at the hotel is very poor as they are catering for the masses and it can be a bit of a free for all which is not a nice exsperiance when you are staying in a nice hotel like this, but if you switch your evening meal for lunch, that is a lot nicer and you are eating in quieter surroundings. The restaurants down at the harbour are top notch but exspensive, so be warned if you do decide to go out for an evening meal, I did think it was worth every penny.
The entertainment in hotel was very poor, which was a shame, if you have young kids then there is plenty for them to do but for teenagers the place is too quiet for them as there is no evening entertainment in Mogan.
Overall I would not rate this hotel as a 4*+ hotel, as so many things let it down, but if you want a quiet relaxing holiday in a very beautiful location then this is the holiday for you for you.

  • Liked — the spaciousness
  • Disliked — the food and entertainment
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

All I can say is I have been on many holidays to hotels 4*/5* and this place was expectional!!

The pool(S) were massive, the hotel very clean , bright and airy, rooms large and air con worked a treat!!

Its only a short stroll to the beach, shops and restaurants!

This is the best hotel in mogan so book it up, everybody says that inc locals, reps, etc!

Also amazing big bird cage with delightful canaries are on the complex! Sweet little things!!

Cannot fault it! We got a fab deal and loved every minute of it!

  • Liked — Large pools
  • Disliked — Insect bites
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

As previous reviewers have said, the hotel and its grounds are amazing – like staying in your own botanical garden for the week. Everywhere is very clean, the food is the usual international hotel buffet (although strangely laid out – no veg near the fish, you have to join the melee near the meat by which time the fish is cold) and the staff are friendly and helpful. We appreciated the drink on arrival and the wine and fruit in our room – but …..

We found it strange that, in a hotel of this rating, guests are forced to choose between 6.30 and 8.30 sittings for dinner – very Butlins. We’ve never come across this before in other 4 and 5 star hotels (have we just been lucky?) and really could not see any justification for it – there were always plenty of empty tables which were continuously being relaid. We’d really prefer to eat when we want to, not when we’re told to.

We felt the drinks were expensive. A 50cl bottle of water in the restaurant is €2.10 – but at the Spar down the road, you can buy 5 litres for 77 cents. Similarly, the cheapest drinkable wine is €12.30, but only €3 in Spar. Gin and tonic in the bar is €6 – tonic in the Spar is 65 cents for 1.5 litres, gin €6.10 for 1 litre. Of course the hotel has to make money, pay its staff and so on, and is not helped by the £/€ rate but without indulging in serious drinking, it would be easy to add another 50% onto the cost of the holiday – needless to say, we made several trips to the local supermarket (there’s one situated opposite the main entrance to the hotel and the Spar is a right turn out of the cunningly hidden and not well signposted bottom gate, then keep walking for a few minutes).

The balcony light has no switch in the room – this is because they are all on until 11pm, when they are all switched off automatically. So if you want to sit on the balcony after 11pm, you have to do so in the dark !

Every day, the unsmiling pool man began clearing the mattresses and tidying the sunbeds around 4pm. The sun was out until 7pm. That meant that for the last three hours of “relaxation” by the pool, there was continual scraping of furniture across the tiles and mattresses being shunted around on a large trolley. We didn’t find that very relaxing !

Check out time is 12 noon and our flight home meant leaving the hotel at 22.15 that evening. There is a lovely courtesy room with showers, towels, a fridge and so on – very nice facility, situated near the pool but not very well signposted, so do ask. We went to reception to check out and asked about dinner for the evening. As we had not arrived until 02.30, that meal was included as we had not had dinner on our first evening. There followed a long lecture (nicely delivered, obviously done it before) from the receptionist about how the hotel provide this “extra” meal as a courtesy to guests, First Choice were at fault because we arrived too late to have dinner on the first evening, First Choice should be reimbursing us for this last dinner, the hotel had no obligation to provide it (even though we’ve paid for 7 nights half board) and so on. Again, not an attitude we’ve ever come across before.

All this sounds quite negative – we did have a lovely week and maybe would return. But what could have been a fantastic week was tempered by the points above, and there are plenty of excellent hotels at similar prices which don’t have these strange ideas about how best to treat their guests.

  • Liked — Amazing grounds
  • Disliked — Some strange ideas on customer service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

hotel cordial mogan playa
puerto mogan , gran canaria,
stay 16th june 2008 -23 june 2008.
hotel and grounds lovely , we had a top floor room 3502
which was very quiet,
sand around the pools are tiny stones which are very painful
to walk on.

l would go back to hotel again if l could have room only.
long queues for fryed eggs and omelettes in the morning
long queues for if you want steak or chicken grilled in the
evening .

we eat out four nights and had lovely meals in harbour area.

  • Liked — pool and garden area
  • Disliked — queuing for breakfast and evening meals
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Absolutely amazing...
The hotel is amazing, as someone said, the reception hall is breath taking...
The food is great and can satisfy even the most fussier eater, plenty for everybody... and the waiters nice and friendly...
The room was spotless, cleaned daily, nice balcony, the only problem will be if you want to watch the tv... except Euronews, CNN and a couple of other news channels, there's no channel in english.
The gardens are amazing... take a couple of hours to wander around them, it's well worthed.

If you want a quiet and cool place for a lovely coffee, then just cross the road from the recetion to the Shopping Centre, go towards the supermarket Dine and just before it are some stairs going down, there is the EL ENCUENTRO Bar... Manolo and his family will more then welcome you... every evening from 9pm is karaoke night, and if you want to have a good laugh, ask Manolo to do the monkey song :o) You can also have a lovely Pepito and the spirits are not served by measure, but by eye and usual are pretty generous quantities.

If you want to go for a nice meal, we recommend the restaurant "COFRADIA PESCADORES"... it's in the harbor on the way to the light house... you can't miss it, during the day is packed with locals and quiet in the evening... top quality food and without any exagaration, we had the best fish dish in ages...

Next year we will return...

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort – the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 m2, includes about 10.300 m2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (squash, bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cordial Mogan Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.