We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs two visits but fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cordial Mogan Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cordial Mogan Playa to your Saves list
Cordial Mogan Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Waterloo, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“needs two visits but fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our first stay at this wonderful hotel, it was amazing, and only 5 minutes walk from the beach and port, the hotel itself was magnificent, the service first class and very friendly, the rooms were spotless, the director even offers a drink to the guests every Friday, our only issue was that the dining room is so big and you have so much choice, is that in the evening it was not always easy to find what we wanted, it took us a few days to get used to, that's why we will be going back again, without doubt but in general amazing, plus we had the sunshine every day. Like to say here thank you to all the staff who helped give us a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: some rooms face the tennis court and are not very sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,037
    503
    101
    19
    9
See reviews for
676
1,597
62
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife, 6 month old daughter and I stayed here in a glad board basis for 1 week. The location is a short walk from the beach and harbour.

The rooms are of a nice standard and very well cleaned. They have free wifi but the reception was somewhat dodgy. There are two pools which are very nice and there's also a baby pool which we had good use of.

The restaurant buffets were hit and miss. There is a great selection for breakfast and dinner but many of the dishes are not labelled so you end up having a gamble. I like pretty much all food so it wasn't so bad but if you are a vegetarian or fussy eater it could be tricky.

They have lots of activities within the hotel including scuba and cycling. Unfortunately with our newborn I didn't have a chance to try them.

The staff were the best thing about the place. They were fantastic. Always ready to help and extremely friendly, especially towards our baby.

Overall a lovely stay so thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The architecture and grounds of the Cordial Mogan are interesting and attractive; the buildings are well maintained. The staff are helpful, pleasant and efficient, especially Jens who gave and interesting and informative hotel tour. We would certainly return to the hotel but agree with some of the issues highlighted by other reviewers. The claiming of sunbeds, by some guests before dawn had even broken, was very annoying, especially when they were not used for many hours during the day. Some of the food was also disappointing; the bacon was poor (no one in my group consumed any during our stay) and the vegetables were largely overcooked. Nevertheless, there was a wide selection of food on offer. On balance, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny, south facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the cordial Mogan Playa for the second time, arriving on January 5th and staying for one week.

We are a couple ages 43 and 50, having travelled all over the world, staying in many different hotels.

One of our absolute favorite experiences is when viviting Puerto Mogan and the
Cordial Mogan Playa.

The welcome greeting from staff is always excellent, you feel welcome and relaxed at once.
The rooms are cleaned so perfecktly every day, we often had to comment on how clean are roooms where every day.
Breakfast is enjoyable and there is absolutly nothing missing, just for you to enjoy all kind s of fruits, eggs, omlette, all kinds of breads, all kinds of cakes, champagne, coffe, tea....the staff is so help ful at all times.

We did not have lunch or dinner at the hotel so I can not comment on this.

Short way to walk to the harbour and enjoy the lovely Puerto Mogan.

We were suprised and really enjoyed the entertainment this time, we saw 4 shows during the week and especially liked - Frequencies (kind of IL-Divo music)and the group from Cape Town(Well know soul music from the sixties) high quality shows at night.

We will go back again - next January, it is a trip to pamper yourself! Make sure to bring a sweater as the nights can be quite cold. But sunshine all day long:) No worries, worth a visit if your going to Gran Canaria, you will not be dissappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for specified location of room and the are several buildings. Some surround gardens, others surr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Lincs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks in early January 2013 and booked a Junior Suite for the extra space and bigger outside area. We requested a ground floor Suite and our needs were met perfectly. Had a lovely little outside garden area with plenty of privacy and 2 sunbeds so we could lay out in seclusion.The bathroom was well equipped and had a seperate shower and bath, hairdryer and useful makeup mirror as well as two complimentary bathrobes. The bathroom was tiled throughout in a lovely style and supplied
with plenty of toilet rolls, face tissues and more than adequate towels.
The room was kept beautifully clean throughout our stay and it was lovely to have the beds turned down at night with a little bar of Chocolate left on the bed.
The hotel grounds were stunning, with beautiful plants throughout from all corners of the globe and most were labelled for added interest. There are also many impressive waterfall features and ponds dotted about. The hotel reception area has a magnificent Atrium that adds to the relaxed atmosphere.
The two pool areas were lovely and they were heated to 24.5 degrees and not cold. The hotel does however need to enforce its own rules on Sunbed reservation as towels are draped over the best ones from an early hour and this is unfair on the more honest guests. Throughout our stay we thought that the food quality and choice in the restaurants was excellent our only quibble would be the serving implements could be better as half you dinner would often end up on the hotplate. The restaurant could get a bit busy at times and we chose to sit outside on the veranda which was very peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle of the inside. Overall we had a fabulous experience thoughout our stay and would not hesitate to come back again in the future.


l

Room Tip: The Junior Suites have better facilities than standard rooms and also a seperate less hurried resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this beautiful Hotel after spending 7 nights in a different resort. Our only regret is that we weren't staying longer. It is without doubt the nicest Hotel we have ever stayed in. It's rating is 4* plus - cannot see why it's not a 5 star. We were greeted with a glass of champagne on arrival and a porter took our cases and showed us to our room. The room was lovely - tastefully decorated and equipped with fridge, HAIRDRYER, toiletries, etc... We had a beautiful view overlooking the stunning gardens and pool. The whole hotel is immaculately clean. The common areas are amazing and it was just a case of WOW everywhere we went. We found the food to be excellent with a wide choice and beautifully presented. Just a short stroll to the harbour of Mogan which is so pretty with its winding streets, beautiful flowers and choice of many restaurants and bars, the hotel is ideally situated. Could go on & on but can only conclude by saying this Hotel is extremely ' highly recommended' and that we hope to return there very soon. Just one more thing.......the staff all across the board were very professional, helpful and welcoming & went out of their way to be accommodating to all their guests. If there were to be any down sides ......there were certain times when there was a bit of a drain smell and also the beds could have been firmer.....but really only minor niggles and didn't spoil our holiday .....as previously said the only thing that did that was having to leave!

Room Tip: We had room 3129 and the view was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnby Dun
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

As opposed to most people I think, I'm doing this review whilst I'm actually resident at the Cordial. This is our first visit, so my views are unbiased I hope. The hotel looks and feels gorgeous. Considering the location, and type of island we are on (not huge), the hotel does very well to maintain its standards. Contrary to some reviews, we have found the food to be excellent. Staff are generally tip top, and those who tended to us, more often than not, tried their best to please. I cannot agree with the last review regarding lack of 'sun facing sunbeds' - there are two pools to go at, and loads of sunbeds to use during the day. As well as that, the relatively empty beach is five minutes away. We shall return next year and bring our daughter & her partner. This is a very good place to stay. Well done Cordial. Bravo.

Room Tip: Relax & enjoy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cordial Mogan Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.