We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous gardens & views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cordial Mogan Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cordial Mogan Playa to your Saves list
Cordial Mogan Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous gardens & views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for only 3 nights, so we didn't get to experience all the activities the hotel/resort offers. Seemed very family friendly. Lovely pool, gardens & even it's own archaeological site. Wander a little & see what you find. Very friendly & helpful multilingual reception staff. Lunch by the pool was very nice, however the dinner & breakfast buffets were hit or miss with both food & service. An easy walk to the beautiful port & beach area. The location was a great for taking drives along the sea & also into the mountains.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,872
    461
    89
    18
    9
See reviews for
636
1,450
55
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We returned to Cordial Mogan Playa this December based on a perfect stay during the same week last year. Everything about this hotel is first class with the most charming staff who go out of their way to ensure guests have the best holiday possible. All our special requests were dealt with which ensured a blissful week of relaxation - just what we were looking for. In addition this year, the TV/DVD has been replaced with the latest models.
Many thanks, again, for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Cordial Mogan Playa for a week on 15th December. We arrived just as the dining room was closing, but the reception staff quickly sorted things out enabling us to have our evening meal. Our room was fine except the view from the balcony was interrupted by the huge shrubs in the garden. The staff were all helpful and friendly and everywhere in the hotel was immaculate. Plenty of choice for both breakfast and dinner although the veg was a little overcooked, but then that's the result of a buffet ! The overall facilities are excellent, and the position of the hotel is perfect, just a short walk to the harbour, or a climb up the mountain if you feel energetic. We would certainly go back again, possibly requesting a room with a better view.

Room Tip: Ask for an uninterupted view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time that we have stayed and on both occasions we have had an excellent time; great service, food and amenities.
The gardens are worth a visit on their own; highly recommended.
Puerto Mogan is a quiet place where you can enjoy a relaxing holiday away from the crowds.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have just returned from spending Christmas in this hotel, it was fab and will definitely return the staff at the hotel were outstanding could not do enough for you, We spend 5 night in Gloria Palace in Porto Rico and 5 nights in Morgan the only way I could describe the difference in the hotels is it was going from hell to haven the Gloria Palace which is suppose to be a 4 star was awful the staff were the most rudest people I ever came across the rooms are big an outdated with old carpet in the room, the smell from the room turned my stomach every time I entered the room the T.V. was a old big outdated telly I would not recommend the Gloria Palace to anyone the only thing it have going for it was the view of the sea which was beautiful. On the other hand the Cordial Hotel was out on it own the staff were unbelievable each and every one of them. The Hotel was beautiful from the rooms to the gardens and the reception area to the pools it was a beautiful relaxing break, the port was beautiful picture est with beautiful flowers everywhere and lovely restaurants it is only a small area and would not be suitable for young people looking for night life, we have stayed in 7 different hotels in Gran Canaria area over the past few years and I would rate the Cordial Hotel as the best experience of the all and will return again for a winter break in 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days in early December - nice sunny warm weather during the hours of 11am and 4pm - you need a jumper in the evenings though as the restaurant can be chilly. But a good short haul destination for winter sun. Also, the village of Puerto de Mogan is a very pretty low rise resort with a marina and fishing port. The village is perfect if you want a little resort with all the amenities of restaurants and bars but no discos or clubs and it is only a short walk from the hotel. The Cordial Mogan Playa is impressive, especially the main reception building. The rooms are in separate buildings - our room was spacious, well maintained and quiet, but a bit gloomy. If you want a sunny balcony go for a high floor, and hope - because the hotel is in the shadow of the cliff it is built next to for a lot of the day at this time of year. Food in the hotel was good (rather than great) generally but the breakfast was excellent. Service throughout was good. We were half board, which did not include any drinks - which are very expensive. Add to this you can not order a glass of tap water with your evening meal - you have to buy very expensive bottled water. Weird, given that at breakfast you can have wonderful fresh orange juice on tap and cava unrationed. So, you might want to go to a local supermarket and buy extra drinks at a fraction of the price to help your hotel bill! The front-of-house staff were helpful but a little condescending, patronising and in denial when we complained about the cost of the drinks. There are two nice swimming pools but they were not heated and there are too many sunbeds crammed in round the pools - totally unappealing for us so we found much better alternatives outside the hotel. Pools in December in this part of the world are very chilly if not heated. We felt very comfortable otherwise in this hotel - when we were there there were few children, mostly adults - in fact most guests seemed quite old - relates to the time we were there perhaps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

First visited this hotel in January and decided to return for a warm winter break.

This time I booked a taxi each way and at 65 euros each way for a 40 minute journey in a plush BMW was worth every euro.

I emailed and phoned a few days before to ask for a sunny balcony facing south and was allocated room 2303 which was great. On entering the room it was the same size as earlier this year but I immediately noticed that there was no free bottle of wine or bowl of fruit awaiting, signs of cut backs?

I will only mention things not indicated in my earlier report. There appeared to be a cut back in evening waiters as the removal of empty plates was not up to the usual standard. There were far fewer guests for the period before Christmas, as one would expect, but they may have cut back to much.

The TV reception on BBC1 and BBC 2 was poor, all the other channels were fine. At breakfast, they only put out croissants with a sugar glaze on and you had to ask for them "sin sucre" which they were happy to provide.

There was a DVD player in the room, I do not think it had one last time. There was a set of scales to weigh suitcases, 1 euro to use and the airport has clamped down on overweigh suitcases as seen by travellers have to repack cases at the airport.

A tip, take a mug with you as the cups for coffee at breakfast are really small.

I would return, but they now have a "club card" which you can join after your first visit which entitles you to "seven nights for the cost of six", so may decide to book direct next time.

Room Tip: Contact before leaving to request a room facing the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort – the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 m2, includes about 10.300 m2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (squash, bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cordial Mogan Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.