We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, shame about the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cordial Mogan Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cordial Mogan Playa to your Saves list
Cordial Mogan Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, shame about the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Loved the public areas, gardens, pools and room. On check-in, late at night, we had to decide whether we wanted the late or early sitting for dinner (and this would remain the same all week, unless you asked permission to change on the day). The sittings were either 6 - 7.30 or 8.30 - 10pm, totally unacceptable.
Although the quality and quantity of the food couldn't be faulted, the restaurant was busy and very noisy - people and staff constantly on the move.
Yes, you could have freshly grilled steak in the evening or omelettes for breakfast, but not without joining long queues. Guests at breakfast were obviously stocking up on food for the day, some making up rolls and one person walking out with a whole bunch of bananas. Just not my scene.
I would only stay here again on a bed-only basis. The town and port are beautiful and have a wealth of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,869
    459
    89
    18
    9
See reviews for
636
1,447
55
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel and its rooms are well appointed and the staff helpful and friendly. Check in is a little painful with a 10 min lecture on the do's and dont's. However with nearly 500 rooms (1000 people) the queues for breakfast and dinner buffets were unacceptable. We managed one dinner and two breakfasts. Also the dining room is at the bottom of the hotel with no views and frankly reminded me of an upmarket canteen. So if you don't mind buffet style and can handle the arrival lecture then you will enjoy the hotel and its facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed for a week at the Cordial Mogan Playa and start to finish it was one of my best hotel stays i have expereinced.

Lovely greeting on arrival with a warm welcome, glass of champagne and friendly staff who all spoke very good English.

Large bedroom with plenty of space, good sized balacony with a view of the Pool. Large bathroom with a separate Toilet. The only frustration i did have with the room is that the bed was two twins together rather than one double/king bed.

The hotel was very clean with amazing grounds and the place is huge but spread about. Two large pools one kept fairly child free so easy to relax. There is also a towel service FOC so clean pool towels everyday was nice. There are plenty of sunloungers so not an issue to turn up at any point in the day and get one.

The food was superb at breakfast and dinner. So much to choose from, i was in my element. On 4 of the nights i had fillet steak, so it was by no means basic grub. There were chefs cooking it fresh in front of you as well as all the salad bars etc. There was even a giant chcocoate fountain for dessert on a few of the nights.

The hotel was fantastic, i had a lovely and relaxing holiday and would come back to the Mogan Playa for sure. This is the best hotel on the Island and i wouldnt look at any other hotel after my experience here.

One thing i would change - the Spa has just been rebuilt after a fire and looks amazing. However the prices are ridiculous and cost prohibitive to most. The hotel should have offered more incentives to guests so people had better chance of affording to use the spa services.

The Puerto Mogan resort is also fantastic, with a nice marina and good restaurants around the edges. There are a couple of supermarkets and some shops so there is enough to keep you busy but it is not a huge resport if that is what you are after. It is definitly one of the most beautiful resports i have been to in all of the Canaries.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Absolutely beautiful hotel, the grounds are fantastic, staff do friendly and helpful. We upgraded to a junior suite which although lovely room spotlessly clean as was everything in the hotel the problem was we were in 9013 and it was quite dark, with only been there for a week we didn't say anything but if we had been staying for 2 weeks we would of asked to be changed and from speaking to a couple at the hotel they asked to be changed and they were given another room straight away. I cannot praise this hotel enough, in actual fact we had booked to go to Mexico for the 6 th time next year as we love it and didn't think we could find anywhere we would love as much, it we have that is why we have cancelled Mexico and transferred it to the cordial moganplaya for next September. We also love the area of puerto mogan it is lovely, there is no pressure when you are walking round to go into bars or restaurants, no time share reps coming up to you. We were half board in the hotel so we diidnt eat out it what we seen of the food that was served it looked lovely and really ample portions especially in a bar/restuarant called the Zoo, and the staff were lovely with 1 of the girls coming from my area which was nice. I could go on and on about the hotel and the area. But if you read all other reviews they all agree with me. If anyone does find anything well all I can say they must be very very hard to Please.

Room Tip: Junior suite 9116 to 9118, 1st floor and afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here from 13th - 20th September 2012, and from the moment we arrived the quality, service and hospitality were exceptional. Having arrived at 9.30pm, we expected a 'plated up' salad, however we were greeted with a glass of cava on checking in followed by our evening meal in the restaurant!

Our room in Block A Level 3 was perfect, overlooking the beautiful gardens and one of the pools - lovely to sit out in the evenings listening to the singer in the pool bar and watching the sun go down with a G & T!

We booked Full Board Plus, which was exceptional value. The quality and selection of food at all meal times was excellent. We were always able to have a lazy long lunch, out of the strong sun, with a bottle of wine sitting out on one of the restaurant terraces. At the evening meal you were allocated a table for the full stay of your holiday - this was really good as you got to know the people around you and the waiting staff always knew who to expect, what your drinks order would be, and had a chat about your day.

As other reviewers have said, the grounds at this hotel are outstanding - the gardens are so beautiful and very well maintained. Sunbed availability was never a problem, there was no need to get up early at this hotel - and the lovely thick mattresses made them so comfortable. Access to the resort of Puerto Mogan is only a five minute walk. The resort is lovely and uncommercialised, a lovely safe beach at one side and 'little Venice' at the other.

The only possible negatives here is that they have made 'beach' areas around the pools with very coarse grit like sand - this becomes very hot and is difficult to walk on and does end up being trailed into the pools! Also I would advise a taxi transfer rather than the bus that comes as part of your holiday package. The resort is not that far from the airport but on the transfer bus there are many drop offs in Puerto Rico, Taurito and Amadores which prolongs the journey on very narrow twisting roads!!

We will definitely be returning to this hotel and have recommended it to many others!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

What can I say , great place to stay food is fantastic room is clean and all you could ask for, all the staff are great and always helpful, it happened that it was my birthday today and when returning to my room the hotel had laid on a bottle of champagne. The resort is also great with some lovely places to eat, if your looking for a break you need look no more.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having read several of the other reviews, all can do is endorse their comments.It is a truly astounding setting beautiful, quiet and peaceful . The gardens are superbly laid out. Each plant whether bush , shrub, tree or cactus has an ID plaque with it's botanical name. Our room ,in block 7 of 9, was clean and spacious. The staff are brilliant. Every member of staff we met was helpful, friendly and efficient. I cannot think of a single negative comment. Ideal if you want a restful break in a superb setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort – the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 m2, includes about 10.300 m2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (squash, bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cordial Mogan Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.