We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cordial Mogan Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cordial Mogan Playa to your Saves list
Cordial Mogan Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Lincoln
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is stunning, from the atrium style reception with glass lifts to the magnificent tropical gardens. The rooms are comfortable and very clean and of a reasonable size. As far as the food is concerned......Breakfast has an enormous choice of cooked food as well a an excellent selection of breads and pastries. Lunch is served in the Blue building and is adequate especially the fresh cooked fish. Dinner is also very good with something for everyone, especially the roasts, grills and fresh fish. We were on full board plus which meant wine, beer or soft drinks with lunch and dinner a good choice. We also had a meal in the Guayres and even though had a surcharge it was well worth it. To end the day the evening entertainment and the bars were first class. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Not many sea views, but the higher the better perhaps overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,876
    462
    89
    19
    9
See reviews for
638
1,453
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

After two years of illness my husband and I wanted a holiday in a peaceful, picturesque resort, a first class hotel and guaranteed sun! We were certainly not disappointed.

We chose the hotel mainly through reading the many reviews on TripAdvisor. It is well worth reading as many of these as you can if you are considering the hotel. I found out a great deal of useful information and it prepared me well for our two week holiday.

I e-mailed the hotel with a room request and received a prompt reply stating that they would do their utmost to fulfil the request. We were delighted when shown to our room that it was exactly what we had hoped for. We found that the staff, from being greeted by a porter as our taxi arrived right up to the receptionist who checked us out, were friendly, helpful and professional.

The hotel is beautifully designed both inside and out. We were more than happy with our large, comfortable room.The fridge provided was very welcome and well-used, but it certainly didn't stop us using the bars in the hotel. We loved the well-cared for gardens and all the amenities the hotel has to offer and its location in Puerto de Mogan is ideal.

We went on the hotel tour on the first Friday of our holiday. It was very informative and Jens was enthusiastic and entertaining. We had booked half board and chose the second sitting for dinner. We enjoyed the entertainment pre-dinner in the Fula bar, especially the amazing singer David Searle who performs each Tuesday and Sunday. He has a repertoire of hundreds of songs and sings in a number of languages. We made a point of going to hear him each time he was there.

We loved the breakfasts and for this meal you choose where you want to sit. This was never a problem at whatever time we arrived. In the evening we were allocated a table in a beautiful area just outside the main dining room.This wouldn't suit everyone as it was a long way to go to the varoius buffet stations for our food, but we loved it. We had intended to eat out much more than we did, but because of the table we had we only ate out on two evenings. We are not lovers of hotel buffets but sometimes to get everything else we want we have to put up with it. However, there is plenty of choice and it was never too crowded. On the evenings we ate out we exchanged our dinner for lunch which is taken in the Tamaragua restaurant by the larger pool. This was a lovely experience - very relaxing - and there are tables inside or outside in either the sun or the shade.

The only thing we didn't enjoy about the holiday was having to pack up go home, but we are planning to return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The rooms by smaller pool are closer to reception and the dining room, but those by the larger pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We've stayed at the Cordial 6 or 7 times and it just gets better and better!
We were greeted like old friends by so many of the people in reception and in the restaurant, which is as good as ever, with a great variety of food. The gardens and pools are delightful. The only minor problem was that the air-conditioning in our room was unable to cope with daytime temperatures between 28º & 32ºC and the high residual temperatures at night. Also we had to phone twice for our room to be serviced.

Cannot recommend the Cordial too highly.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 7222, 7223 or 7224 as they are our favourite rooms looking south with shady balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from two weeks at this lovely and unique hotel. Its uniqueness is seen in the fabulous gardens and water features that make this hotel into a semi-tropical paradise.
If you are looking for a place to chill out you will find it here.
Two tips.
1.
Visit the last but one restaurant on the Playa Magna beech. I believe it's called in English "THE LANTERN" Food is superb and the friendly atmosphere made it our regular evening venue.
2. If you want to book a trip to travel around the island, avoid the Thomson trip which we found to be ridiculously expensive and the food that was put before us at the lunch stop was awful.

Great holiday, lovely staff, spacious and clean rooms, food, in the main very good. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire, UK
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel with my wife, we had a great time. The staff were all really friendly and helpfull, right from when we checked in we were offered a glass of champagne or juice. This was the first time we have stayed half board at a hotel, and the food was of the best quality and there was so much to choose from, we had breakfast and evening meal. The room we had over looked the swiming pool and was a good size room, we did request a double bed and room over looking the pool, the room had twin beds but no big deal.
The only bad point with the hotel would be that it has a shopping complex just outside the main entrance, which is somewhat run down with places empty.
The hotel is set out over a large area which has wonderfull tropical gardens all well maintained, you can walk down thru the gardens and out to the beach and harbour area, takes about 5 mins.
The swimming pools are kept very clean and plenty of sun beds, so all was very good and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: request a room over looking the pool that is nearest to the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunshaughlin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We used the appartments attached to the Hotel.The food in the buffet was very good with lots of choices,however we only ate there one evening and for the remainder of the holiday we ate in various resteraunts.The appartments were clean and spacious and were cleaned every other day.Although we visited in September it was still quite hot and we could have used air conditioning,which was not available.One of the best appartments we have ever used and in an area that has no loutish behaviour,I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband & I have just spent an excellent 2 weeks at the Cordial Mogan Playa. Having read the reviews before booking, we were confident that we were in for a treat & we were not disappointed. All the staff were so friendly & helpful ensuring that we had a perfect holiday from beginning to end. The grounds were really beautiful & both pools were great, no problems finding sun loungers & the aqua aerobics with Sarah was great fun. We e-mailed a week before arrival requesting a top floor room overlooking the pool & our request was granted. Puerto de Mogan is a delightful resort & hopefully won't get any bigger. We can highly recommend this hotel & look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Block 2, top floor, overlooking pool & close to Reception & Dining Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort – the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 m2, includes about 10.300 m2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (squash, bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cordial Mogan Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.