We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant with wonderful ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Linterna

La Linterna
Avenida Varadero 29 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
606199186
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: La Linterna is situated on the Beach Front at Mogan with views out over the Atlantic Ocean. We serve a comprehensive menu, from local tapas to International favourites and our speciality is Tex Mex. We have tables indoors and out doors but you should note that smoking is not permitted inside.Whether you just want to relax with a quiet drink or celebrate a special occasion with family or friends, we look forward to serving you.
derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful restaurant with wonderful ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a wonderful holiday, coming many times to La Linterna, including their 2nd Birthday night, which felt special to be a part of. All the food was wonderful, the ambience is lovely and Karim and his staff of waiters and chefs deserve all the success that they are clearly receiving!
We had a lovely holiday which was made extra special by our visits to La Linterna.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    41
    22
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best restaurant in Puerto Mogan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I can't believe this restaurant is not ranked more highly! Have just returned from 2 weeks in Puerto Mogan and found this to be the friendliest, most comfortable restaurant in the resort. The food was amazing, we enjoyed the steaks, fish and lamb. Would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone and already looking forward to returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWGuide, Public Relations Manager at La Linterna, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We don't understand the Tripadvisor rating system either!!

Thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again - many times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our second visit here and we will certainly be back. the Tapas are the best on the island. The service is also very good although we had a bit of a wait for milk for our coffee. The waiters seem to speak three or more languages well enough. The restaurant is near the end of the beach but was one of the busiest there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Staff are EXCELLENT however expensive menu!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in Taurito All inclusive October 2013 and decided to have one night where we would venture out for evening tea as a family in Mogan. Much time was spent planning where to eat as you can imagine we had already paid to eat all inclusive at our hotel so to spend extra money meant eating somewhere special.
I had shortlisted where I wanted to eat as Mogan sea front restaurants as I really love that area and I was going to try the chinese buffet but at the last minute after researching on Trip Advisor I read some glowing reviews on La Linterna and decided to risk it.
When we first arrived it was a positive welcome and the young waiter at the front made us feel very welcome, we said we wanted a table near the front and he did what he could to provide two tables together for us and even better we had mock sheepskin covers to keep us warm.
Was a bit suprised at how expensive the menu looked so we opted for 4 x starters and then a mixture of tapas so we would experience a variety. The prawn cocktail starters were huge and quite impressive although I would have preferred smaller prawns rather than king prawns, the bread starters were just two small pieces which was disappointing.
The tapas was not much better than when I've eat elsewhere and very small portions. The one dish I would highly rate is the meatballs which has a hint of mint and was delicious. They also gave us two dishes which we hadn't ordered and not brought the two dishes we were really looking forward to, the management did apologise for this later.

All in all the staff were very pleasant and lots of interaction but what let this restaurant down for me was the expensive menu and small portions of tapas and bread. I couldn't help feel they were looking for more upmarket customers and that put me off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Identity crisis?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was out first visit, and this is one of the most difficult restaurants I have ever reviewed. The name, La Linterna means 'flashlight' in Spanish, but Tex Mex is displayed prominently, and the decor suggested more Mexican than anything else, and we went with nachos and two different fajita dishes. The nachos, with cheese and jalapeños, came without the cheese, and the jalapeños were the breaded supermarket type, sitting on top of a bed of dry nachos. When we pointed out that the cheese was missing, the dish was removed, and came back with the nachos, and a ramekin with cold, cheddar-style cheese, which had clearly just been expressed from a tube. The jalapeños were missing. When we mentioned this, the dish disappeared again, and came back with the original deep-fried chillies back on top of the dry nachos, and the cold cheese on the side.
The sizzling fajita beef and prawns were very well done, but the (2) tortillas were already folded (almost certainly out of a pack), and the sides were guacamole and a tomato-based spicy acrcomponent, and the by-now ubiquitous cheese squeeze. I doubt that the first two were house-made, and the cheese certainly wasn't.
I have read quite a few reviews of this restaurant, most of them very complimentary, but none mentioning the Mexican food. Being kind, we would reserve judgement and simply suggest that Mexican-food buffs avoid the place.
The very great positive is the friendliness of the staff. They all interact closely with the guests, and we were very impressed to hear the Maitre D' converse in Swedish and Norwegian with Scandinavian customers, of which there were many. Our son was playing a game on an iPad before the meal arrived, and one staff member, realising his keen interest in football, set him up to watch live Champions' League, which he greatly appreciated.
Our abiding memory will be of a group of close friends and colleagues, who have thought of most things guests will appreciate, including blankets and mock-sheepskin chair covers, but who may well have overlooked the most important part, which is the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Linterna also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to La Linterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Linterna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.