We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good esp if you like swordfish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Caracola

La Caracola
Urb. Puerto de Mogan, Local X-12 2, Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
+34-928-565-486
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glasgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good esp if you like swordfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Lovely small restaurant in the port area of Puerto de Mogan. We were given a free dry sherry while we perused the menu. The restaurant specialises in fish, particularly swordfish and tuna, all of which are on display in a chiller cabinet in the restaurant. Chris talks you through the fish on offer and suggests dishes that might appeal given the diners' preferences. We had smoked prawns as a starter and they were fab! I would happily have them again if I went back. I then had sole with prawns which was good but not outstanding. My husband had swordfish and prawn foo young which he thoroughly enjoyed. There were no deserts at all but that suited us fine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    12
    5
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

What a delightful experience awaits at this intimate restaurant overlooking the marina at Puerto Mogan. An English couple with a very basic grasp of German language we were made to feel extremely welcome and were offered the most attentive service. The 'gift' from the kitchen - swordfish tartare was exquisite. As was the shellfish bisque and carpaccio de mare starters. We both chose swordfish mains with different sauces - they too were fabulous. Chris explained the 'source' of all their ingredients - was good to know my wild mushrooms came from a local Canarian island. A refreshing experience - felt like a Michelin star worthy experience..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quite strange”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had noticed this restaurant and it looked very intimate and different from the run of the mill places elsewhere in Puerto de Mogan. We were therefore keen to try it. We were made very welcome by Chris and offered a gift from the kitchen as an appetiser. Starters and the main course were ordered following her recommendations. The starters were very good, but the main courses disappointed. it was very odd though that we were left more and more alone and had to work hard to attract any attention to refill our drinks for example. We were not offered a dessert menu and felt ignored. We struggled to attract their attention even to pay the bill! It all seemed to go downhill from a very promising beginning. Quite expensive too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food but value for money?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had passed this place a few times on our holiday and being lovers of fish, thought it worth a visit. The first thing to note is that it is run by a German husband and wife who tried to make us welcome but with everyone else in the place Germans, it was easier for them to talk to them than us - as "normal" Brits, our German isn't great and we did feel slightly uneasy throughout the meal.

The menu is extensive and is largely fish - salmon, swordfish, sole, tuna etc all with a variety of sources available. However, you will also note that it's rather pricey - most main courses were a minimum of 25 euros and most well above. We plumped for a tuna chateubriand to share that was 55 euros and it was accompanied by potatoes and vegetables and was delicious. However, it was only one fillet of tuna that was no larger than other places we ate at and we're served similar individually

At the end of the main course, we weren't offered a desert menu or coffee so simply asked for the bill - 97 euros including wine.

Lovely food but we left hungry, felt overcharged for the food and didn't feel in a relaxed environment at all

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definetely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited this restaurant about ten years ago. We had really positive memories from the time we ate there. Most of the time, memories get romantized in your head and when you revisit a place after so many years, the reality appears to be less romantic than in your memory.

No so in this restaurant, La Caracola could still live up to our expectations. Quite an accomplishment!

We enjoyed the signature dish "Tuna tartare" as a starter, together with the salmon tartare. The owner (Dieter) smokes his salmon himself. The result is far better then smoked salmon that most restaurants serve.

We decided to share a couple of dishes as our main course:
- Swordfish Stroganoff, this time made from shark as a special
- Tuna Bourgignon
- Warm smoked Salmon

All were delicious. A special word about the swordfish stroganoff: we had this dish ten years ago. The taste of the stroganoff was so good that I tried to recreate it at home. After years of finetuning, I discovered that La Caracola's original is still better.

We were satesfied after the main course. The hostess (Chris) suggested to have one desert with the four of us, just to enjoy the taste. Dieter prepared a dish with fresh strawberries, ice cream and pepper, delicious.

It took us ten years to come back because our boys were born in the meantime. Now they are 5 and 9 so we took them with us to this restaurant. Chris enlighted them with some books about sealife.

We will be back (much sooner than in ten years)...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caracola also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to La Caracola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Caracola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.