We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant chill out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan to your Saves list
THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Puerto de Mogan, s/n, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Girvan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant chill out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had previously stayed in the apartments but were delighted to stay in the hotel this time. Balacony was a Juliette so quite small but adequate and the views more than made up for it. We faced the Marina, some of the rooms faced the pool/sea. We stayed on half board basis (first time we've done that) and found it really good. Great selection at meals with some food being prepared to order while you watch.
Puerto de Mogan is not for those looking to be entertained but is for those looking for peace and tranquility. Best place ever to do absolutely nothing.

Room Tip: We liked the Marina side for the late afternoon sun, first floor has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Guest Relations Manager at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Our whole Hotel team would like to say thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations and thank you of course as well for sharing your memories and experiences with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

Your opinion means a lot to us and we are happy you enjoyed our half board offer. It is a great way to start the day with our breakfast with sea view and to enjoy the dinner with some nice music, a nice buffet and a glass of wine,right at the sea. We are proud we've could improve our meals year by year to offer the service and cuisine we have right now.
Puerto the Mogan is the perfect place to relax, within a beautiful fisher village, without stressing and worrying, everything is quite tranquilito, just a perfect place to spend a week or two.

It makes us happy and proud that we could be part of your holiday memories.

We wish you all the best and it will be a real pleasure to welcome you back, here in Puerto de Mogan.

Sunny regards from Mogán.
THe Hotel Puerto de Mogán Management

Manfred Marquard
Guest Relation Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    141
    36
    9
    4
See reviews for
63
267
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in one of the apartments with a superb sun roof terrace. The hotel food and the quality of the apartment were excellent, Renate in reception and all the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. You get the best of both worlds with Thomas Cook half-board, staying in an apartment. The views from the roof terraces were incredible with an abundance of flowers everywhere. A truly memorable holiday, we have already booked to come back in 2015.

Room Tip: If you want a roof terrace, choose a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Guest Relations Manager at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to say thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with other travelers here on Tripadvisor.

It´s a real pleasure to read your opinion, which is so important for us to keep our servicelevel high and letting people know, what they can expect when they arrive in our hotel.

Thank you also for your nice words about our staff, especially about Renate. We know how important she is for us, and even more for the guests. We have already sent her your nice greetings. Your opinion about the terrace and all the flowers makes our whole hotelteam smile.

It makes us happy and proud that we could be part of your holiday memories.

We wish you all the best and it would be a real pleasure to welcome you back in THe Hotel Puerto de Mogán. So when the time comes, please let us know about your reservations in the future.

Sunny regards from Mogán.

THe Hotel Puerto de Mogán Guest Relation Management
Manfred Marquard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Having read that some reviewers feel that there are too many pensioners in this hotel, I feel vindicated in having something of a moan.

First of all, I think it's a shame that the hotel and the apartments are not reviewed separately as they could be very different experiences.

We stayed in one of the superior apartments, which the lovely Renate on reception told us are all in the same area - i.e. just about as far away from the hotel as possible within the marina development.
Yes, it is a pleasant walk to the hotel for breakfast but it was a long way from pleasant when we arrived.
It may be as well for others of pensionable age to know that on arrival you will be dropped outside the marina car park as there is no access for vehicles.
We then had to drag our suitcases about 100 m. to the hotel, check in, then retrace our steps and find our apartment, which was about another 300 m. or so from the hotel.
Whilst I realise that this doesn't sound very far, it was hard work at the end of our day's travel.
Our apartment was on the first floor but, unfortunately, we had to lug our bags up a set of narrow, tiled steps before we reached the ground floor and then up another set to our apartment, which resulted in some aching muscles the following day.
It may be as well to be aware that there is absolutely no disabled access of any kind.

It is also worth being aware that unless you are in a superior apartment, for some reason, you are not allowed access to the hotel pool.
Reception will tell you that you are allowed to use the Marina pool and bar, but so is everyone else in Puerto de Mogan as it is open to the general public and, so far as I can make out, nothing to do with the hotel.

Our apartment was fine with everything you might expect. Ground floor apartments have bigger balconies and many open, as ours did, onto small courtyards, so don't expect any privacy at all.
The sun decks on the roof are a lovely idea, especially if you are a sun-lover, but no use at all if you want to sit in the shade.
One thing I did have an issue with was the lack of light in the apartment.
We found very few opportunities to actually open the curtains and let day light in as to do so meant we had no privacy for dressing etc.
The lighting in the apartment was very low level and I honestly don't know when I've previously showered in semi-darkness!

Now having had my moan I will say that, after our morning stroll, we enjoyed the hotel breakfast and, when we were able to find available sunbeds, the pool as well.

Pureto de Mogan is a very pleasant, laid-back resort and one we would recommend for a peaceful late-winter break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Guest Relations Manager at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the THe Hotel Puerto de Mogán in march, here on Trip Advisor . That is the way we can constantly improve our services to meet your wishes and needs.

I will share your comments with the director and our team at the next staffmeeting, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. The Hotel continuously goes out of his way to meet your needs and expectations.
It was a real pleasure to meet you and it´s our main goal to improve the way we work, day by day. For this reason your opinion means a lot to us.
Once more, thank you for your feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Puerto Mogán and Gran Canaria, and give you a “ Total Hotel Experience”.

Our best wishes and some sunny regards,

Manfred Marquard
Guest Relation Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We only stayed for one week, more's the pity. We had apartments rather than the hotel, (booked with Thomas Cook) they are about 5 mins away from the hotel, lovely stroll out for breakfast / Dinner and nice to feed the fish in the (very clean & clear) harbour on the way. The place itself is lovely, more upmarket than others places in Gran C (low rise apartments all the way is what sets it apart from other resorts). Puerto Rico seemed a bit of a concrete jungle in comparison. Loads of flowers, everywhere and they make a lot of effort with the planting, spectacular. The apartment are lovely, loads of room, safe in the wardrobe (20 euros per week but 6 euros back when you hand in the key at the end of your stay) air con is included. the pool looked lovely but we didn't join the dawn patrol of sunbed stealing, we stuck to our own roof top terrace instead! very peaceful...strictly speaking there is 1 rooftop terrace per 2 apartments but most days we had it to ouirselves. bliss...(the hotel could really do with providing mats for the sunbeds though) You could actually self cater easily in the rooms, they have everything you need.

You have the use nof the marina pool and bar and also their rooftop jacuzzis which is a nice touch. Not really anything to add about the food as it echos other people view, loads of it, great quality and huge choice.

The Friday markets was good too, loads of stalls, differing quality though so worth a good browse. (Handmade leather belts etc v good quality non of your polyurethane rubbish and reasonable 15 euros)

We felt the same as Doug below thou, lots of seemingly well to do pensioners at the hotel, but all very pleasant so no issues. Not much going on after 11, but if you like a bit of latin influence music then 'cuba libre' is excellent, great music, nice atmosphere and stays open later than most. (Near the blue bridges over the river on a side street) 2 nice red wines for 6 euros. there are some expensive places in mogan, we paid 11 euros for 2 glasses in one place, so it pays to check the price.

Anyway, having received a comment re Tolstoy from my other half i think that's quite enough from me....yes dear...

Room Tip: The odd apartment, only has a juliette balcony....but then you have the roof terrace (fab sunsets)so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Director General at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the THe Hotel Puerto de Mogán on Trip Advisor ! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. The Hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Puerto Mogán and Gran Canaria, and give you a “ Total Hotel Experience”.

Our best wishes and some sunny regards,
The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury,england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I'm not really a big fan of this type of hotel and wouldn't normally choose it but if they were all like this then I may have to change my mind.

From the friendly informative welcome at reception to the immediate relaxing of the check out times to allow us to use the hotel facilities to freshen up before our late flight home there was simply nothing to fault.

The staff were universally helpful, fun (when appropriate) and friendly; our room, I think we may have been upgraded but I don't know why, had a great sea view and was large, clean and comfortable.

One small point: the truculent reservation (blocking) of deck chairs by the pool by other guests - and then not using them for hours - is mindlessly rude to other guests who could be relied upon to behave reasonably. I think the hotel is trying to do something about it but without much success unfortunately.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - it is a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Director General at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to say thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy your holidays.

Thank you so much for your nice words; it was a pleasure for us to make your holiday a little bit more special.

It´s lovely to know that you had a nice time during your staying with us.

Thank you for your nice comments and to let us about future reservations in THE Hotel Puerto de Mogán, it´ll be our pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel.

We wish you all the best and send you some sunny regards from Grand Canary.

The Hotel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, the hotel staff were very efficient and welcoming. Our room was on the ground floor leading on to the pool area and was clean and tidy but there was a faint smell from the drains on the second day. The buffet breakfast was very good and plentiful, just being overrun with a huge number of pensioners did make us feel a little out of place. The pool was heated but closed at 5pm for some reason but there was access to the sea which some hardy souls took to. Overall, it is well placed, friendly and idea for older clientele. Poerto Mogan does seem to close at 11:00pm lol.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Director General at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your holidays and for sharing your opinions in TripAdvisor.

The satisfaction of our guests is our main goal and opinions like yours are our base tools in order to improve day by day the services we offer.

We would like to confirm that we will analyze your comments with detail and we would like to guarantee that we will do our best to satisfy these things in the future. Anyway, we would like to remark that our pool is open until 18:00 h every day.

Also we would like to say thank you about your nice comments about our staff.

Let us know about reservations in the future - it will be a pleasure for us to help you with anything you might need.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I'm just home after a two week dream. 24 Feb to 10 March Puerto De Morgan is a feast for the eyes.We had a apartment and were half board so breakfast & evening meal were sorted.The groundfloor apartment has a terrace which has sun from 1st thing in the morning till mid afternoon,also the use of the roof terrace.The sunbeds were starting to show their age.
The apartment serviceable & clean.The beds comfortable.TV Rubbish if you don't speak the language
The Hotel, set on the habour is a delight with views over the habour & bay.The diningroom is well run all the staff are friendly and helpful.There is plenty of choice of food and is as good or better than most i've had,I put on 5 pounds in 2 weeks.I have some small niggles,the toasters took forever.The plates for warm food were hot only once in 2 weeks and there was only one urn for tea and often not hot.
That being said I would be back again tomorrow.This is the most picturesque holiday location i,ve been to.

Room Tip: Apartment 169 is great for the sun but don't pick it when i'm going
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Director General at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the THe Hotel Puerto de Mogán on Trip Advisor ! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. The Hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
It was a real pleasure to meet you and it´s our main goal to improve day by day in our work. For this reason your opinion is so much important and constructive.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Hotel Puerto Mogán.

Our best wishes and some sunny regards,
The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto de Mogan, s/n, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan offers the perfect combination of tradition, modernity and rest, a fact evident in its 56 rooms. If something catches the attention of the hotel is its location directly above the sea, in privileged surroundings of the village of Mogan, resulting in sweeping vistas, sea and marina. The proximity to the beach is a plus with this intimate club that counts. Staying in THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan means to become a member of a family who, after years, shares the same ideas about entertainment. Besides the tranquility and beauty of the place, hotel guests enjoy a warm and personal attention at all times. Our Apartments Puerto de Mogan is located in the exclusive area of Puerto Mogan, with a maximum height of two floors and two apartments on each floor, so that makes them a special complex. Every two apartments have a sunroom with own shower and deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Mar
Mar Club
Club De Mar Hotel
THe Hotel Puerto De Mogan Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.