We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan to your Saves list
THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Puerto de Mogan, s/n, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Torquay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the apartments to this hotel. The apartments were spacious for just the two of us and they were cleaned regularly. We opted for half board and the food was plentiful, varied and tasty. Yes it was a buffet but we really enjoyed the Chef's specials which were cooked in front of you most evenings. The breakfasts were delicious with every nationality catered for. A little disappointed that coffee was from a machine though. The dining room could get particularly busy in the evening and the tables were close together but it did not spoil our experience. The sea views from the dining room were gorgeous - a wonderful start to the day. The swimming pool area with the fantastic views out to sea was absolutely stunning and the swimming pool was just the right temperature to swim in. Unfortunately, the towel brigade (all nationalities) were out in force and 'reserved' their sun beds with the best views every day we were there. Fortunately there were usually enough sun loungers still available for later arrivals. Many guests staying at this hotel have been returning for years as Its location is without a doubt the best in the area. Immediately by the sea, the harbour and good selection of restaurants. The perfect place to totally unwind and relax. Which is exactly what we did. Bliss!!

Room Tip: The motorway is now open. We pre-booked a taxi. Was met at the airport and at the hotel within 40 mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Director General at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your holidays.

The satisfaction of our guests is our main objective and opinions like yours are our base tools in order to improve day by day the services we offer.

Thank you for your nice comments and for sharing your opinion with other travelers also on Trip Advisor, thank you very much!

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our Hotel.
We wish you all the best and some sunny regards from Grand Canary,
The Hotel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    141
    36
    9
    4
See reviews for
63
267
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just back from a week in this beautiful area of Gran Canaria. Hotel was ok. We had a Second floor room overlooking the Marina, which was a good size; the bathroom is in need of attention as it is all very worn and tired looking. The food is passable, the dining area looks out over the sea, but the tables are so close together you have to continually move to allow other guest to pass, which was very off-putting. The pool area is lovely, The water was so warm.There is a roof top area for those who wish to sun bath nude. Although there are many notices saying not to reserve sun beds, many people did. The blind in our room fell down although this was reported it was not fixed, which was disappointing as it looked unsightly from both within and outside of the hotel. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. Would we return? To this area yes. To this hotel no!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Director General at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your holidays, and for having completed our quality questionnaire.

The satisfaction of our guests is our main objective and opinions like yours are very important for us in order to improve day by day the services we offer. We have already taken good notes about your staying and your problems during the holidays to solve them as soon as possible.

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your opinion with other travelers also on Trip Advisor!

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our Hotel.

We wish you all the best and some sunny regards from Grand Canary,
The Hotel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have just returned home after another two weeks in this fab hotel.My wife Isobel and myself were greeted like old friends and were given a great room facing the pool....like many reviewers,you can only fault little things,But what you cannot fault is the way all the staff too many to name]treat you in a special way.....Always a smile and a friendly word....nothing is too much trouble......THANK YOU ALL....MUCHOS GRACIAS.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Director General at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Alan D,

we would like to thank you and your wife for choosing our hotel for your holidays and also for your nice comments!

The guest satisfaction is our main goal and we work every day trying our best to get it.

We will let our staff know your excellent words about them and, of course, we are looking forward to see you back in the Hotel Puerto de Mogán next year.

Best regards.

The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our third holiday in this small and relaxing hotel in such a beautiful location. As usual we received a great welcome from the very friendly staff. We had a room on the ground floor and really enjoyed being able to swim in the sea from the steps beside the pool. The location is fantastic, next to the marina, sea and a very short distance to the shops, restaurants and a pretty blue flag small sandy
beach. We were half-board and enjoyed the large variety of foods for breakfast and dinner, freshly prepared and cooked by the chefs on request. Tea or coffee was available after dinner if wanted at no extra cost.
Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed with air conditioning. There is also a tray with cups, saucers and a kettle, sugar, coffee etc in the room and a small fridge with a bottle of water which is a great bonus. The bathrooms need to be updated but are kept spotless by the excellent room attendants. We enjoyed meeting the management by the pool for cocktails which happened when we were there.
Puerto de Mogan is a lovely area, with a large market on Fridays. The hotel has music on the roof and by the pool two evenings and we found a few places where we could have refreshments and listen to some music around the little town.
Looking forward to our next holiday at Hotel Puerto De Mogan

Room Tip: We loved being on the sea and pool side while other people enjoy people-watching on the Marina side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Director General at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your holidays, and for having completed our quality questionnaire.

The satisfaction of our guests is our main objective and opinions like yours are our base tools in order to improve day by day the services we offer.

Thank you for your nice comments and for sharing your opinion with other travelers also on Trip Advisor, thank you very much!

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our Hotel.

We wish you all the best and some sunny regards from Grand Canary,
The Hotel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

on arrival at the hotel we were told they had overbooked and so we had an apartment for two nights which is what we wanted in the first place but couldnt book that??str ange but still it was nice but basic and the hotel did compensate by giving us various discounts,the hotel and pool is indeed lovely,food fantastic,plenty of choice,im an ex chef and everything seemed to be chilled correctly and stored ok,i would say this is deffo more an adult hotel but people with very young children would be suited here,lovely steps down to sea,ferry on the doorstep,lovely area and spot on location,not much to do at night but mogan mar bar right at the end of the beach is nice and friendly,and cheap for drinks,plus you get some entertainment from the local cats!couple of bars stay open late just over the bridge on the left at the end.ferrari its callled.pleasant stay for a chilled out hols

Room Tip: all good really,nice view both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Director General at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all we would like to say thank you for choosing our hotel and for share your experience with other travelers.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience of the arrival day.

Your opinion is very important for us to improve day by day and to offer the best service for our guests. It makes us happy and proud that we could be part of your holiday memories.

We wish you all the best and it will be a real pleasure to welcome you soon in our Hotel.
Please let us know about reservations in the future.

Best regards.
THe Hotel Puerto de Mogán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kedington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Booked in plenty of time so not the best deal to be had , however we did request a specific room and I am pleased to say we got the one next door, so close enough . Although there were some remedial works going on around the pool area this did not impact significantly on our stay, a minor inconvenience, and there were still sun beds to be had , albeit not in the prime locations , that being said I never subscribed to being up and out early enough to secure a bed in the sunshine all day .

Staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurants was above average, with a good mix of decent food cooked fresh daily.
The food was so good and plentiful it took several days to reign in our appetites
We did have some entertainment during the evening with something going on most nights
I would say this was a quiet hotel complex that satisfied our requirements for rest and relaxation
Get your water from the little shop on site it’s the cheapest you will find
Fridge in the room allowed us to fill it with drinks so nice to have during the night

Flight home was a tad early as we left the complex at about 5.30am still it was on time and worth the early start.

Room Tip: we stayed near the main reception room 1531 top floor perfect for sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Director General at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this comment, we really appreciated it.

We feel very glad that you have such a great time among us in THe Hotel Puerto de Mogán.

We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further reservations. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back!

Best regards.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week in 2012, and loved it very much. We stayed in an apartment just a short distance from the hotel. Everything was close by. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would really live to come back. we have tried various dates in 2013 but there is never anything available. We would like something over new year - any chance?

Room Tip: We stayed in an apartment short distance from hotel it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0telpuert0dem0gan, Director General at THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Lovely Greetings from Gran Canaria !
Thank you for taking the time to write this comment, we really appreciated it.
We feel very glad that you have such a great time among us in THe Hotel Puerto de Mogán.

One of the best satisfactions is to read that the most notable asset we have is the kindness and attention of our staff and the best location, as this means that we have meet one of the most important principle of our company.
We consider the satisfaction of our clients our primary goal; your opinion is essential to the continuous improvement and maintenance of the quality of our service.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further reservations. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back!

Wish you all the best and some sunny regards!!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto de Mogan, s/n, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan offers the perfect combination of tradition, modernity and rest, a fact evident in its 56 rooms. If something catches the attention of the hotel is its location directly above the sea, in privileged surroundings of the village of Mogan, resulting in sweeping vistas, sea and marina. The proximity to the beach is a plus with this intimate club that counts. Staying in THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan means to become a member of a family who, after years, shares the same ideas about entertainment. Besides the tranquility and beauty of the place, hotel guests enjoy a warm and personal attention at all times. Our Apartments Puerto de Mogan is located in the exclusive area of Puerto Mogan, with a maximum height of two floors and two apartments on each floor, so that makes them a special complex. Every two apartments have a sunroom with own shower and deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Mar
Mar Club
Club De Mar Hotel
THe Hotel Puerto De Mogan Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THe Hotel Puerto de Mogan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.