We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captains Apartment+Studio

This property has multiple rentals:
View down the beach to old village - The Captain's Apartment is next to palm tree in the villag
View down the beach to old village - The Captain's Apartment is next to palm tree in the villag
View down the beach to old village - The Captain's Apartment is next to palm tree in the villag
Aerial view of Mogan. The Captain's Apartment - just in the old village - minutes from port and
Puerto de Mogan beach & marina from top of old village - The Captains apartment is at the bottom
The Old Village square with restaurants and path leading up to the apartment (behind palm tree)
The Captains Apartment patio, studio on right & path leading up to gate - just moments to the be
Puerto de Mogan
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon V
Billingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great location in a lovely little resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Captain's Apartment and Studio is ideally placed for the beach, marina, shops and restaurants. It’s authenticity and character makes for accommodation which feels different to the usual holiday apartment.
We have stayed in the accommodation twice now and have found the booking process comprehensive with lots of information sent by the owner to ensure a safe arrival and greeting. The local agents could not be more helpful and went above and beyond what you would usually expect.
The accommodation is well equipped and the courtyard is a lovely respite when it’s hot.
Puerto de Mogan is so pretty and the accommodation is ideal for anyone who doesn’t want to trek up the hills to get home!
Have booked up again!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JulieChur...
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the result”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The Good:
Kitchen - very spacious and well equipped
Wardrobe space - plenty for two people
Spacious in general
Well equipped in general

The Bad:
Basement apartment
Outside area dark
Only window is at ground level with somebody else's patio floor at window level, nice view of other people's feet and assorted chair and table legs
Drain in bathroom stinks
Cockroaches
Patio furniture well used and covered in bird droppings
Socket hanging off wall in kitchen, flagged to agent.
BBQ dirty - not that we would have used it -although it was cleaned when we pointed it out to the agent
There was a request that water be used sparingly, somewhat difficult without a plug for the washbasin , again we had to flag to the agent
There was also a request that the towels not be taken to the beach. Frankly I have never seen anything like them. They were varying shades of very badly washed grey and the replacement towels issued on the Friday of the first week included one with a huge hole in it. Disgusting.

Although we had booked and paid for two weeks we moved out at the end of the first week and had a very enjoyable second week in PUerto de Mogan.

I have waited some time to writ this review, thinking that time might have healed, but it hasn't. Perhaps our standards are higher than others but for us it felt like being incarcerated.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: It's proximity to the Marina
Liked least: The fact it was a basement.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2013
We were very disappointed that this visitor says she had such a bad time with problems, which as you can see from our other Trip Adviser reviews is not typical. We ask everyone who stays for their comments upon their return and act on them immediately. This review - some 4 months later after the visit - is the first we have heard from this visitor.

There are reviews from visitors before and after her stay giving a 4*/5* rating and this is before our refurbishment which started in June 2013. See for example TA reviews 21/03/13 & 22/04/13 and 01/06/13, so this one is not only untypical but some of the more basic issues identified (but not mentioned in other reviews) have been dealt with anyway – see below.

The information we send to our enquirers and on our websites is quite clear. It sits amongst a jumble of village houses as it is in the bottom of the old village and for that reason does not have a view and is shaded.

We have just finished (June/ July 2013) a full refurbishment and upgrade of the property including a new bathroom, new lighting in the bedroom and a new patio, as well as cutting back the tree shading it.

Cockroaches are endemic in hot climates and Puerto de Mogan is no exception. Our apartment and patio area, like other village houses, are sprayed regularly. Anyone used to visiting hot climates will realise they will be around and be seen from time to time. It can depend on whether food is left out.

We have a local agent and maintenance team (see other reviews that praise them) and they react immediately to any reported problems such as missing plugs. Barbecues in our experience are unfortunately always an issue as people using them rarely clean them afterwards. It was dealt with immediately. The agent mentioned to us the complaint about the towels and they were subsequently replaced. The drain can be sorted easily by bleach as can any external furniture cleaning – was it reported? We do not know.

The kitchen and sitting area are very well lit by two very large skylights which makes the small window mentioned unnecessary (see photographs), and whilst the bedroom was darker it is now better lit.

The reason for asking visitors at that time to be careful with water was because of a broken water main up in the village, even though we have large storage tanks for the apartment.

So disappointed that this visitor did not bother to contact us to make a complaint on their return and has decided to post a review such as this, after such a delay, without contacting us first.

If there are issues we want to deal with them immediately so they do not affect other peoples holidays – which given the subsequent reviews do not have seem to have done – and make any redress necessary to the complainant.
Hamilton Holiday Houses 29 July 2013
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jan W
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful little apartment with everything you could need for a great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The Captain's apartment is a lovely little home from home with everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. It was tastefully furnished and had lots of special touches, right down to the wooden outside furniture, bbq and candles on the cool and most welcomed terrace.
We loved staying in the old town.
The beach is great and very clean and the locals are so, so friendly. There are so many good places to eat. If you stay here, make sure you try the tiny Italian restaurant 50 yards from your gate! Great Italian home cooked food at very reasonable prices. No chips or burgers here!
All in all, a wonderfully relaxing week spent in this lovely accommodation. We can't fault the El Sirocco staff. They were on call at all hours if there was a problem and resolved the issue of our broken barbeque instantly by taking us to the shops and supplying another one.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Staying in the old town in a traditional building.
Liked least: The bathroom was rather tiny but that is to be refurbished this year.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jhagan8
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Incredibly central for everything, bed two (singles) very comfortable we slept so well, no noise at all. Has everything you need . My Husband has difficulty in walking so the fact there were only a few steps from bedroom to kitchen was great. To actually walk down a gentle slope to the property was great.
I did not cook, so many great restaurants and reasonable prices. My Husband would nip down to but freshly baked bread each morning.
Only downside it was on the dark side, but due to the heat this was a blessing. It is an old property, there is air conditioning, but it was not required, apartment was always at a comfortable temperature. Once again I would say this is good value.
Pauline Baker

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Shelagh93
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment, full of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

For those who dislike soulless, box-type apartments, we thoroughly recommend the Captain's Apartment and Studio. In the heart of the town (just a few steps from the beach and harbour), we loved the originality of the apartment and it provided everything we needed. The owner provided lots of useful information and the agents were very helpful. We fell in love with Puerto Mogan as it's still very much a fishing village with a relaxed, charming and unspoilt atmosphere. There are many first class restaurants, most at very reasonable prices. We hired a car which enabled us to see some of the breathtaking inland scenery . All in all, a very enjoyable week, in a lovely apartment in the prettiest part of Gran Canaria.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the character of the property and the beautiful town of Puerto Mogan
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
susannaj...
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Lovely village. Lovely location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We travelled with a 5month old baby and ended up in the captains apt. in Puerto de Mogan by chance (since we never visited Gran can before). And it was a very lucky choice. Great apt with all the things you need including a grill and a nice shaded patio. Extremly close to the beach. Great location in the old part of the village. And the village itself had a fine mix of friendly locals and tourists. Good beach. Friendly staff at most resturants. Very good experince, and we will be back :)

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
2 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The village and the location of the apartment
Liked least: the not so clean and slightly smelly bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jayne630
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

The apartment was in a great location which meant we could easily access all the shops, bars, beach really easily without a car or transport. The apartment was clean with all necessary facilities, one or two glitches but the rental company sorted them out. Mogan is a great spot and not loud and noisy like Playa de Ingles, bus service runs to other resorts, but make sure the Spanish are not on strike when you try to go!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: could have hab bigger towels in the bathroom as they were small
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2012
We always welcome comments from our guests as it helps us to improve our offering to future holiday makers. One of the advantages of having the back up of a local agent whose office is only a couple of hundred yards away and with a local maintenance team, is that if there are any problems (there were a couple of unreported minor problems from previous visitors on this occasion),they can be sorted out immediately.So we always ask our guests not to delay reporting a problem - or to try and fix it themselves, after all they are on holiday and holiday time is precious.

Nick Hamilton
Hamilton Holiday Houses
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$79
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Nick H
44 0207 4047281
Speaks English, French
Listed since : May 2010
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 11 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing