We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like grabbing a curry back home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Tandoori

Taj Tandoori
Plaza Mogan Shopping Centre, Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
+34-928-566-995
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restuarant is referred to on several websites if you Google Taj Tandooori Puerto de Mogan
Hever, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Like grabbing a curry back home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My group fancied a relaxed evening playing poker round the pool so we decided to grab a takeaway curry for dinner.

Its a pretty standard Indian menu, they sat us down while we waited and gave us some free beers/poppadum's as we had placed a quite large order.

Well packaged and quite nice.

Great if you are feeling lazy one night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    48
    16
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Curry in the Canaries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Taj tandoori is situated in the Plaza Mogan, an unfinished shopping center, this is a little unfortunate as it detracts from the curb appeal of the restaurant. Once you get past that, you will come across a lovely little Indian restaurant.

The service was excellent, the food was flavourful, the red wine was not! As veggies there was plenty to choose from and they were willing to make veggie versions of other dishes (jalfrezi).

We had popadoms and onion bhaji to start, a main each, shared a rice and a dessert with a few drinks and still had change from €50.

They also provide a take away service which isn't bad if your in the cordial apartments. I'd suggest grabbing a bottle from the supermarket and eat your takeaway on the balcony.

A delicious meal which makes a real change from the Tapas, Pizza, Pasta and Fish from in the town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“traditional indian cuisine at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

As curry enthusiasts from the midlands ( dining out at some of the finest and studying the art of indian cooking/spices) I can strongly recommend this restaurant. The service is good the food is fresh , well prepared and very traditional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were staying opposite the shopping center in which this restaurant is situated.

I've only ever had one Indian abroad and that was somewhere in mainland Spain and it was rubbish. So I wasn't holding out much hope. However, I was pleasantly surprised.

The service was great, and the waiters were lovely and friendly. We ordered a fair bit of food and it all came promptly and was obviously freshly cooked.

The curry was delicious, we had a chicken bhuna and it was the tastiest I've ever eaten. It was very flavorful and not overpoweringly hot. We meant to go for another visit before we left but sadly we didn't have time.

Personally, we really enjoyed our meal here. I agree with other reviews that say there's not much atmosphere in the restaurant as the shopping center it's within is very sparse. But if you're wanting some tasty Indian food I would definitely recommend a trip here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

'Hidden gem' - is someone having a laugh?? It's situated in a half finished bleak shopping centre with zero atmosphere. The service is fine, the food is ok - it makes a change, but by all means do not go here expecting the same quality as we get in the UK.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Tandoori also viewed

 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to Taj Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.