We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cordial Mogan Valle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cordial Mogan Valle to your Saves list
Cordial Mogan Valle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda los Marrero 4, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our (husband & I) first trip to Gran Canaria and we were very pleased with Puerto Mogan and this aparthotel. Our flat was a good size for the two of us with a generous sized bath and big balcony that was full of sun from early afternoon til evening (the sun was warm enough to sunbathe until about 18.30!) We spent the morning til early afternoon and one of the two quiet smaller pools; the third and largest pool is best for families with children.

Our the private transportation that was included in our package took 40 minutes to the quiet Puerto Mogan. We're not party people so the quietness suited us and we felt very safe there. Almost every night we strolled down the pedestrian street to eat at a restaurant (we recommend La Taberna del Puerto at the port, not the beach) for about 40 euro, including alcohol. Otherwise we shopped at HyperDino (open Sundays as well), the grocery store directly across from the hotel which was very reasonably priced (keeping in mind we are from Norway) and carries everything one might need. The flat's kitchen is well equipped for 4 persons.

We read about others difficulty with cockroaches, but we saw none. We had a brief problem with tiny ants in the bathroom that was solved by locating the tiny crack in the grout where they came from and stopping it with toothpaste. Oh, bring your own handsoap for the sink. Others are right -- the hairdryer is HOPELESS. Bring your own. Water presser in the shower was wonderful, but the pane of glass was too narrow to keep the floor dry.

The employees were all very friendly. Since we didn't know what to expect, our package included breakfast. The breakfast selection was wide and varied to make everyone happy. Maria at the omelette/fried egg station was very pleasant and taught me how to place my order in Spanish (even though she had it memorized by day 3).

Yes, there is no air conditioning, but for May, we were ok with the fans in the bedroom and living area. If it were any warmer, we would have had to rent one. It was a little disappointing to have to rent the room safe (14 euro/wk).

Two evenings were affected by noise from the British pub across the way showing a televised football game. It was so loud we could understand the announcer word-for-word from our balcony. The front desk said this was frequently a problem and could not be solved by them complaining to the pub.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    546
    105
    22
    14
See reviews for
553
561
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We arrived at the hotel and were immediately offered a wonderful glass of cool Champagne. Check in was easy and the staff member, 'Marcelo' was so helpful and informative it was a pleasure to speak with him. Our apartment was not quite ready so we were given another glass of Champagne and invited to sit and relax. When the apartment was ready we made our way to it and found it easily. I was so pleased when we entered, the apartment was bright, well furnished and VERY clean. One of the best we have ever stayed in. Later that evening a complementary bottle of Champagne was delivered to us as an apology for the slight delay when we arrived. What a super customer related service. The whole stay was superb, the staff wonderfully helpful and the location and accommodation, PERFECT.

Room Tip: Be polite and don't demand things
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a week in Puerto de Mogan staying at the Cordial Mogan Valle. Puerto de Mogan is all we were looking for and more! If you're looking for loud bars and late night clubs it's not for you. If you want a pretty little fishing village with a decent size beach and a good selection of restaurants then you will not be disappointed.

We chose to go self catering as we like to rise late and enjoy a relaxed breakfast before heading down to the pool and then heading down to the harbour to choose a nice restaurant to spend the evening. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of apartment/location. Our apartment was very spacious with more than enough room to relax. The kitchen was well appointed with two rings, microwave, fridge (with freezer compartment), kettle, toaster and coffee machine - although we didn't cook any meals so can't comment on the oven. The balcony was gloriously huge with more than enough room to fit a table with 4 chairs and 2 sun beds. There's even a shower on the balcony so you can cool off after too much sun.

If I am being really picky (and I'm forcing myself here) I might comment on the lack of english speaking TV channels (CNN and BBC World Service get's a bit boring after a while) but then we weren't there to watch TV.

My one recommendation would be to book a private transfer. We didn't and after crawling round all the tiny, twisty streets in Playa des Ingles the total transfer time from airport to hotel was 2 hours! Having said that I believe it helped us appreciate Puerto de Mogan all the more, having seen all the other places we dropped off/picked up at I can honestly say I would not have swapped for any of them.

I can't think of any other negative, the only reason I haven't given this place 5 stars is that I've stayed at 5 star resorts and there is a difference. But I would happily recommend this apartment complex/location to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

The apartment was clean and spacious and served well as a base. The complex is large and seems a little impersonal although we were there out of season. The apartment we had did not get much sun until very late in the afternoon. The town itself is quiet with some good quality restaurants. We did find that wine was a little costly and the food was not cheap.
A good place for a quiet, relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed in the cordial mogan valle for one week at the start of May 2011.

This hotel is in one of the furthest resorts from the airport, however we booked an aiport transfer independently on alpha rooms and it worked out pretty reasonable at €60 return for two adults and took about an hour.

Upon arrival we were greated with a glass of champagne/juice which was a nice touch. The reception area was large and basic enough.
We were then given a map which showed us how to get to our apartment which was on the 9th floor (top floor of the complex). I can kind of understand why some people, particularly elderly people or those with young children, might find getting to their apartments but we had no trouble locating ours, and although it took three lifts and two sets of stairs in order to get back to the reception or the nearest pool this did not bother us as we spent the whole week on the balcony.

The apartments are large and spacious, the rooms are basic and there is also a nice size living room and kitchen which came complete with all essential except no oven. The piece de resitance of the place was the large private balcony!! I have been on many sun holidays and stayed in many different quality hotels and apartments but I have never seen anything like the size of the balconies in the cordial mogan valle. They fit two sunlounger, a table and four chairs and also an outdoor shower. As we were on the top floor we got a good bit of sun for the week so we didnt need to go to the pool but if you are on a lower floor then you might be shadowed a bit by the balconies above you.
The only slight criticism that i had of the room was that for two days i noticed a large number of ants in our bathroom, they disappeared after two days and we did not find them anywhere else in the apartment.

The facilities of the complex appeared adequate but basic, we ate takeaway lunch in the bar twice and it was not of a good quality. The chicken was burnt to a crisp, was tough and chewy and the chips were soggy. The complex has three pools, it has a nice adults only pool which appeared nice and relaxed and quiet for the week we were there with no children running around. The complex has wi-fi in the bar and in the reception but not in the apartments. DONT waste your money weighing your bags on the facility that they have in the hotel reception it doesnt work and charges you a euro per bag when you can just weigh them for free in the airport.

The location of the hotel was very good, it was a ten-twelve minute walk to the beach and port area where all the restaurants are located. The cordial mogan playa (the hotel) was located just two minute walk from the apartment complex (slightly closer to the beach/port area). We did not go in to the hotel but it looked really nice and was lower rise than the aparment blocks. The pool areas as well looked nice and clean and well kept.

The beach was lovely, small but clean but the nicest beach which we didnt visit was the amadores beach located just below the Gloria Palace Royal.

The best restaurant that we enjoyed on the beach front was La Bruschetta which had wonderful homemade pizza and pasta dishes and also other european dishes as well. Oh and make sure you order the white chocolate profiteroles for desert they are UNREAL!! With regard the harbour/port area we enjoyed clipper, i had steak which was nice but had a few bits of fat in it which you normally wouldnt expect in a fillet, my boyfriend has lasagne which looked nice but the portion size was very small.
But our favourite restaurant of all had to be Oscars in Puerto Rico, we ate there twice in 6 nights,the smoked fillet steak is out of this world and the flambeed strawberries were one of the nicest deserts that i have ever had. We took the number one bus from the bus station area which is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel, this was €1.50 to puerto rico and the bus time tables were very reasonable however they buses coming home were late by over half an hour on both occasions but this didnt really bother us. Think its about 16 euro in a taxi each way.

Oscars is probably the only thing that we liked about the resort of puerto rico, it was brassy and over comercialised, full of annoying men trying to sell you knock off goods. The resort is also too built up with hotels squeezed in to every spare piece of land. It wouldnt be an area that i would ever want to stay in, Mogan was much nicer, quieter and relaxed resort. The resort is very quiet though so if you are looking for any bit of nightlife then this place is not for you. It suited us perfectly as all we wanted was to sunbathe, read, eat, relax and sleep!

Overall this was our first visit to Mogan and I would definitely go back. But i might try the club de mar if i go back as this was located on the beach/in the port within everything on your door step and also the pool area had private steps down into the sea!!
However in saying that the cordial mogan valle are still in a good location and convenient in all aspects!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Had such a lovely time in February that I have re-booked for next year! I normally book every detail of our holiday through the internet and stay well clear of any 'package' deal etc!! I must say Thompson were fab and cant fault them along with the resort! All the staff were fantastic, appartments were lovely and clean as well as the pool areas! If your looking for somewhere to go in Feb for some sunshine and just that feeling of being abroad then this is it!! Looking forward to some more winter sunshine!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Our first visit and stay to Puerto Mogan. We arrived very early sunday morning and were greeted by a smile.
Two bedroom appartments are only on floors 7-9 and there are only 36 of them.
We found our room on the 8th floor with relative ease as to start the place is a little like a maze. Upon opening the door we were met with a very clean spacious 2 bed appartment.
The main bedroom has an ensuite bathroom with corner bath with shower, twin sinks, toilet, hairdryer and towels provided.
The main bathroom has bath with shower, sink, hairdryer, toilet and towels provided. The Kitchenette has twin electric rings, microwave, fridge with freezer compartment, coffee maker, diner set,cutlery, tea set everything you could need to self cater right down to broom, tea towel and washing up liquid. Dining table seats 6 although 4 chairs are provided.
The sofa bed folds out into a very comfortable bed but is also a comfortable sofa to sit on.
The balcony is massive with its 4 sun loungers, table and 4 chairs, retractable canapys to suit your need for the sun and a well thought out outdoor shower for those days of sunbathing on the balcony but getting a little hot and the need to cool down.
Master bedroom is very spacious with not only a very large bed (two singles put together but they dont part on you in the night), but plenty of room to put a travel cot. Theres a dressing table, suitcase stand and 2 very large wardrobes.
Twin bedroom is much the same as the master room just a little smaller.

As if thats not enough there is a spa and gym on site, 3 pools plus childrens pool, snack bar, pool bar, evening entertainment and buffet restaurant which caters for all tastes and has a different varieties each night. If you like cocktails this is te place to be. Enrique the Matre wizzed us up some fantastic cocktails and is such a lovely gentleman in himself, as are all the staff.

The staff themselves are not only efficient but friendly and will do anything they can to make your stay even more special. Any maintenence work that may need doing to your appartment ie the lock didnt work on our door and there was a loose light fitting that needed to be fixed, someone was there within 10 minutes to get the jobs done from the time we reported it.

If you have a late flight you can possibly have a late check out on your room but you need to find that out on the morning of departure. We were unable to keep our room, but were given a late check out on another room on the ground floor which was a disabled room. This was a one bedroomed appartment exactly the same as what we had moved from but with adaptions. Walk in shower with seat and aid bars, lowered sink and hairdryer, tilted bathroom mirror with sliding bathroom door and all sockets and switches lower.

I was travelling with my husband, 2 daughters (12 & 11) and 3yr old son. This was the first time the children had been abroad and they all enjoyed themselves and cant wait to go back next year.

Before we booked our holiday i read the reviews and i dont remember finding a bad one. This made me wonder a little if all these people giving these 3yr old appartments glowing reports could actually be true.......well they are!!!

The only downside that we found was there was some childrens entertainment but it was very little. After speaking with the manager himself - who likes you to know he is there and has a special evening for new guests to come and have a drink with him and tell him of any problems- i found out that in 3weeks time the childrens club will be open and there is a new anti slip floor being put down around the pools.

Most certainly we will be returning next year.

Some pictures are obscured a little with our belongings. I also have more pictures but can only put so many on here.

Room Tip: Pool area appartments could be noisy by day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cordial Mogan Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Valle

Address: Avda los Marrero 4, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Valle 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Puerto de Mogán, a fishermen area known as “Little Venice” by its visitors, just a few metres from the beach and from the colourful fishing quay and the marina, all surrounded by the beautiful and exuberant Mogán Valley. 303 luxurious and broad apartments of one or two bedrooms covering a total surface of 35.000 squared metres with subtropical garden adjacent to Hotel Cordial Mogán Playa.All the apartments have a living-room with kitchenette (microwave, coffee-machine, fridge, toaster, kettle), safe (for rent), satellite TV, direct telephone, bathroom and furnished terrace with private shower. There are ceiling fans in living- and bedroom.Half board including buffet breakfast and dinner with the possibility of having lunch instead of dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cordial Mogan Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Valle Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Cordial Mogan Valle Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cordial Mogan Valle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.