We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst holiday ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gaia Village Hotel to your Saves list
Gaia Village Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Tingaki, Tigaki 85300 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst holiday ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from Gaia the food was terrible same thing every night meat not cooked properly.. Flys all over puddings. All inc drinks was limited lemonade cola beer and wine and ouzo. NO WATER FREE! The rooms where full of mozzies on the walls. Shower head was not attached to wall water was cold everyday. Cleaners where extremely rood if you was not out of your room on time to clean. The block we was in across the road was run down reception was not in use. Would never go back to kos this has put us off completely. The childrens play area was unkept. The 'snacks' in the afternoon was dry 1/2 sandwiches that had been on the bar all day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    86
    50
    28
    20
See reviews for
83
88
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

GOOD points; Happy friendly staff throughout especially girls on reception - very helpful and effecient * 10 mins walk to village/tavernas & beach * decent size rooms with beds made daily * lots of sunbeds and shades available * only 2 euros by bus to Kos town which is definately worth going to * Cold water available behind bar * two childrens park areas and indoor playroom * cups of icecream for kids * Ample shaded sitting areas close to bar * free table tennis * Just getting a kids club up and running * lovely fresh bread and rolls * pool zumba in sister hotel opposite * quiet location * showers available under reception (towels provided) for late departure * Transfer time only 30 mins * shop in centre of complex * BAD; Food very hit and miss - we tryed visting dining hall at all times and could not find a good time when food was actually hot & microwave didnt work * very restricted drinks for an all inclusive * bar snacks are either croissants or cheese and ham sandwiches which are left on the bar to get warm * Although the beds are made daily the sheets are not changed and the rooms do not appear to be cleaned * as expected - 1000s of mosquitos! beetles and tiny frogs too * all inclusive ends at 11pm * no entertainment * no themed dinner nights * no childrens buffet (but chips are available daily) * Beach has huge mound of seaweed to climb before getting to sea * We were a family of 8 and managed to have a lovely relaxing holiday at the Gaia village.

Room Tip: We had 423, ground floor family room opposite park area - ideal if you want to sit and watch your li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford le Hope, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very big, had 2 pools a bar with entertainment such as pool tables etc. Very family friendly buy also perfect for a couple. Very quite, 2 minute walk to the beach and the town, bus trips into kos town and to go karting and horse riding on the beach. Lots to do, lovely weather lovely town. The hamam traditional spa is just down the road. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was okay lots of choice not that great standard but you get what you pay. Restaurants in town offer traditional Greek food which was lovely. Lots to do, lovely place. Would go back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire England
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned from Gaia village and I think it will not be long before I return. Food is Greek but other options are available, the staff look after you very well and treat the children wonderfully. Rooms are cleaned on daily basis with nothing being too much trouble. Considering the amount of people who return there year after year they are obviously doing something right. Defo a place for families with small children and seniors but also cater for the youth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I can only say what a lovely suprise staying at this hotel was, in a lovely spot, with mountains,both on Kos, and the many islands, Turkish villages ie Bodram can be seen from the beach, salt lake(many birds). the beach was near just a short walk from hotel, lovely clear water.
We visited other beaches like the camel,paradise, and the suprising thermal springs just the other side of the town centre, be prepared for a walk, but its worth it, couldnt believe the water was so hot, and just on the sea edge.
Also a trip to watch the sunset at Zia is a must.
Back to the hotel,lovely and clean, super food, waiters cleaning staff, management and my friends the bar staff,( who enjoyed the same music as me) were all very friendly and helpfull.
Rooms were very good, not enormous, but fine for a 7/14 day stay.
The two pools were very clean and the hotel has nice gardens with many coloufull plants/trees.
EXCELLENT FOR FRIENDS/COUPLES/FAMILIES WITH KIDS.

Room Tip: rooms 286-290 great views and balcony in sun all day/eve
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It did not seem to matter what meal or what time we had or attempted to have the meal it was cold, poor quality food. At night on the 2nd night we were there at around 9 p.m we asked the bar staff for some glasses as we were all inclusive and drinking from plastic cups he replied they are your a.i glasses. We also found the cleaning of our room very substandard the maids only made up the beds, very rarely mopped the balcony area, i accidently dropped a tablet wrapper one night down the side of the bedside cabinet, it was still there at the end of the holiday.It was a really good job that not long before we went abroad my wife read some reviews and warned me to make sure we had enough money just incase we were forced to eat out.The next time we go to greece it will be self catering, we love the different islands and the greek people. THIS HELL OF A HOTEL WILL NOT PUT US OFF OTHER PLACES. Be very careful about booking this place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Gaia Village Hotel for the last 10 days of September 2012. It was not the hotel I thought I had booked as the company I booked our trip to Kos through advertised the Gaia Garden Hotel located in Kos Town not Tigaki so beware if you book through Lowcostholidays.com. This hotel appears to be a poor cousin of the other Gaia hotels on Kos. We arrived quite late but check in was quick. The receptionist was pleasant and provided us with the room key and two remote controls for the TV and air con. We was also given take-away type cartons of food as the restaurant had closed for dinner. It was pretty bland salad with what I think was cold chicken. Not good but i guess its the thought that counts. We found our room which reasonably large but very basic. No fridge, safe or kettle just a lumpy double bed (two singles pushed together), a large wardrobe that gave plenty of space, a sofa bed(?) and a couple of drawer units. The room was somewhat shabby but had a balcony with some plastic garden chairs and table. The bathroom was shabby as well but it was clean. Bath with shower over although there was nowhere to fix the shower head so you had to hold it when showering which was pretty useless. Water pressure was good and plenty of hot water. The aircon worked and was pretty efficient although the power to the room was dependent on leaving the key in the wall slot. So when leaving the room for the day, taking the key turned the aircon off so you came back to sauna conditions if you was out of the room for more than a couple of hours. Pretty useless again. The way to get around this is to rent a fridge which is what we did on our first full day although why you need to do this says a lot about this hotel. A fridge costs 3 euros a day and you get a second key to keep the power on all day which also keep the aircon on all day. What a scam! The TV is just about useless. Around 8 channels available all in Greek, German or Italian. The one English speaking channel (you guessed it) of BBC World News has no sound!! I guess you don't go on holiday to watch TV though. Facility wise, the hotel has a couple of pools which are pretty good and some relatively nice garden areas. It wasn't too crowded when we was there so no issues with getting a sunbed although in high season it will definately be a 5am towel run to beat the pesky Germans as there's nowhere near enough beds for a full hotel. Food was ok, plenty of choice with the usual hot and cold choices. Standard All Inclusive fare and no dodgy tummy. Beer, wine and soft drinks on tap in the dining room so you can help yourself to as much drink as you like. Entertainment during the evenings or a childrens club was non-existant. Not that we was bothered, but lots of guest will be especially with no facility for getting some respite from their little leg-biters. I don't know if we stayed too late in the season but there was no animation team whatsoever. The hotel location is good for both beach (sandy but 2 sunbeds 5 euro's per day) and the town which has plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. Probably the hotel's location is the best thing about it. Tigaki is about 9K from Kos Town. There is a local bus service but if you want to get to Kos Town without melting, you probably need to sit on the roof of the bus. Hire a car (28 Euro's for an i10 for a day) like we did and do Kos Town in the morning and the rest of Kos in the afternoon and evening. Kos itself is really nice, well worth going if you like the Greek Island experience. Stay at a better hotel though if you can afford a bit more.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a pool facing room unless you need loud music to fall asleep to
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Village Hotel

Address: Tingaki, Tigaki 85300 , Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaia Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaia Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Village Hotel Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.